We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great museum with kids”

National Museum of Science and Technology
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.10*
and up
Stockholm Pass
Ranked #60 of 303 things to do in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This museum offers exhibits that focus on the evolution of space-related technology, as well as some hands-on activities for kids.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great museum with kids”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a great museum to visit for both young kids and grown up kids like me. A lot of hands on experiments and unique exhibit items. The Junkers F13 in the ceiling is really amazing and unique. The museum is easy to reach with bus or bike. It also has a 4d cinema that the kids loved. It is nearby the Kaknäs Tower, Police museum, Naval Museum and other nice museums. The museum also has a very nice museum shop.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Flajjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    84
    48
    13
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Technology on display”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

On a day out with my 6yo grandson, we headed to the Tekniska Museet (National Museum of Science and Technology). We caught the 69 bus near T-Centralen and rode as far as the Museiparken stop near the magnificent Djurgarden. The museum was just past the Police Museum with its distinctive helicopter on a pole.
Once inside the museum, the 100 innovations exhibition offered a dazzling array of historic artifacts, many of them familiar to my generation, but not to my grandson. The exhibition had good explanations in English. I enjoyed this exhibition immensely, but the significance was lost on my grandson who was more interested in the interactive robots and shiny motorbikes.
My grandson was also disappointed that most of the display screens either weren’t working or didn’t have any video clips of the display items in action. Kids today need to see the objects in action and this was a serious omission or lack of maintenance. It certainly would have helped to make the exhibition more relevant to the younger generations.
End of school term was approaching, so there were lots of school children from tots to teenagers on excursions mostly having fun, with a few undertaking set assignments. There were play areas for kids (and adults) of all ages, some of them themed with links to the exhibition. Other areas were just general fun stuff for kids bored with the exhibitions.
The 100 innovations exhibition was well worth the visit for me, while my grandson really liked the downhill ski simulator. We both enjoyed the model railway demonstration although the commentary was in Swedish and I didn't understand a word.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank beyondmetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great exhibition and amenities”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Situated in a beautiful area and green surroundings is this museum. The title for head exhibition was "100 years of innovation" and the exhibition was greatly executed to suit all possible target groups. There are great possibilites to test stuff, play and learn through doing things yourself. A great place to visit with a geek friend or kids!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ninaboel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Scientific World”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Visited the Swedish National Museum of Science of Technology last spring when they had the NASA exhibit by John Nurminen. It was an absolute wow! It's almost like experiencing a part of NASA in Florida. It took us back to many space adventures in the past. It was fascinating to see the trivial articles they used while in space. Display was well organized. If it is still on at this time, we highly recommend! If not, generally the museum was a journey to the past. We were impressed with the technical developments in the IT world-- the evolution of computers, phones, healthcare equipments, etc. It's a place for everybody. Children can have fun too. Special mention: the area they had in tribute to women in the world of science. Make sure you have enough time to hang around and explore when you visit.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank vict0randr0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“NASA Exhibit Fabulous; Rest of Museum Pretty Weak”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

My husband and I went to the Tekniska Museet in Stockholm to see the NASA exhibit. We had seen NASA exhibits in the the US before, but this was quite unique because the first part of the exhibit compared the Russian and American space race of the late 50's and early 60's. The headsets were free in August, and they added immense pleasure and info to the displays. Not only were there pieces of space capsules, there were videos, models, flight suits, first issue postage stamps on envelopes signed by astronauts, info on the Hubble and Webber space telescopes, and more. I wasn't particularly keen to go (my husband wanted to see it), but I'm so glad I went. It was well worth the couple of hours we spent there. We walked through the rest of the museum and were not at all impressed. One section was for children and another was inventions by women. There is a coat room and lockers and strollers are available. Put a SEK 10 coin in the slot and it is returned when you put the key back in. The restaurant is currently closed for remodeling. Parking is about a 4-5 minute walk away.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Helen7115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Science and Technology also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to National Museum of Science and Technology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing