We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great budget, great staff”
Review of Colonial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colonial Hotel
Ranked #141 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Close to everything, this budget hotel has everything you need. Rooms spotless and cleaned very day. The htel is manned 24 hours and are always there to get coffee for you, if you ahve obscene starting times. Cost very reasonable for Sweden and breakfast wa simple but you could eat a much as you liked. Smiles every day from everyone- a alovely start to a graet tourist spot. The bike rental suggested was a gem- bike had awesome gears and was in perfect condition Close to all boat access for tours and GAMLA STAN. 3 minute walk to the Arlanta express, which is the fast 20 minute connection to Arlanta international 240 kn
Convenient + Would recommend to anyone who wants to be out all day, come home tired and sleep peacefully.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dempster_lisa_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for Colonial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 243 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2010

Ok we have tried their "budget accomodation" so my feedback can not be complete because I have no factors to compare it with the "normal accomodation". Stockholm is not cheap; for a "budget accomodation" (it means you don't have private bathroom in the room) we spent 70€ about per night per room.
Colonial hotel is sitatued in Normalm, position is ok is just 5-6 minutes to one of the main street Drottnigatan (about shopping) and 4-5minutes more to arrive at the nearest underground station.
Staff is fantastic, they really enjoy to speak with foreign people and explane about the city. Especially Peter that loves italian people) is a very god man!
Our room was very poor, linen and blankets were acceptable towels not (small and a pair of them were dirty)
Walls of the budget rooms are very thin so you can hear everything from the other rooms, on our floor pave was made by wood very old and very noisy when somebody walked on it.
A free internet pc in the hall is nice but you have to stay standed, no chairs, breakfast was not so rich but anyway ok with not sweet food (ham, cheese, etc...) and coffee.
Anyway I could advise this kind of accomodation for no more than 2 nights for group of friends and maybe not more tha 1 night for a couple. When you come back after your day in the city you don't have the possibnility to have good rest. Shower and bathroom are cleaned everyday sure, but only once a day and is not sufficient for bathroom "attended" from 4-5 double rooms. We spent there 4 nights and honestly it was too much.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlasPinwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights in Jan 2010 and i think for the price i paid and the location this hotel is fantastic. There are rooms with shared bathrooms and i think if you book one of those you must expect it will not be the best experience. However we booked an en-suite which was spotlessly clean. The room was quite small but was certainly warm and cosy-much needed in -10 temperatures outside. It is in a good location, within walking distance fromt he main bus station and it's about a 25 min walk to Gamla Stan. The lady receptionist was very friendly and helpful. The only downside i would say, which to me isn't a big deal, was the breakfast. It was very basic and was all cold food but the coffee was good. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dollyloulondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Stockholm is very expensive, and if you are after a basic room with en suite, in the middle of the city then i would recommend this one. Anythign closer to Gamla Stam and you are paying for it. big time. Hotel had everythign we wanted for a 2 night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Very valuable for the money. It is located close to the shopping street and the central station. The breakfast is small, but okay. I would recommend it

Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
Thank hons82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

whoever has recommeded this hotel must have stayed in a more expensive suite. i stayed in a basic triple room with a shared bathroom. the rooms were ridiculously small, and the bathrooms.. well now i know why they dont have any pictures up! dirty, mildew smelling shared bathrooms with 5 other rooms. NOT reccomending this hotel but one plus is the good location

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessika45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

- great value for money, we paid £90 per night which is cheap for stockholm if you wanted an ensuite!
- breakfast was fine, the usual coffee, tea, cereal, muesli, bread, cheese etc
- room was clean and comfortable, great shower!!
- nice flatscreen tv on wall which was a nice feature, aswell as a wall mounted cd player and radio.
- the hotel was very quiet at night when we stayed.
We would deffo stay here again if we came to stockholm again - its 5 minute walk from the centre of town and 8 mins to the train station.
Overall = great value!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjt79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
August Strindberg Hotell
August Strindberg Hotell
#137 of 154 in Stockholm
76 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel Bema
Hotel Bema
#100 of 154 in Stockholm
92 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Upplandsgatan
Scandic Upplandsgatan
#28 of 154 in Stockholm
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasastan
Wasa Park Hotell
Wasa Park Hotell
#114 of 154 in Stockholm
65 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#48 of 154 in Stockholm
1,857 reviews
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#18 of 154 in Stockholm
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Hotel

Address: 13 Vaestmannagatan, Stockholm 111 24, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial Hotel is located in the city center of Stockholm with easy access to old town, central station, restaurants and sights of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colonial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Colonial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing