We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Stockholm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Ranked #21 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wien
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

We booked a king room with sea view. Upon arrival we were told that the hotel was booked out and that we received an upgrade to a suite.
Unfortunately the "suite" did not have the nice sea view we were really looking forward to. On the positive site we received complimentary breakfast, which actually was great. If you like a central location, this hotel really is to be recommended.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zocordat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and open feedback on your stay with us in May 2010. It is good to hear that you in general had a great time, and appreciate the central location that our hotel has.

It is always nice to be able to offer an upgrade, however it is a shame that the suite you were assigned did not have the view that you were expecting. Our guests come to stay with us for many different reasons and expectations vary from time to time. From your comments I can see that you would have preferred the view rather than the space of the suite and I am so sorry we did not meet your requirements on this point, but glad that you, as a small comfort were able to enjoy a complimentary breakfast!

I hope you will have a chance to return to Stockholm and should you wish to stay with us again – you are more than welcome to do so. Please feel free to contact me directly prior to your arrival and I will make sure that your expectations are fully met next time.

Warm regards,
Paul Peters / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,480
    1,320
    376
    106
    52
See reviews for
597
1,183
190
802
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

The location of the Sheraton in Stockholm is excellent, close to the Central Station and to the Town Hall, you can even go walking to the main tourist attractions from there. The bar and the restaurant (360º) are quite valuable as well as the staff is nice and the food is quite ok, the price for the beverages is not quite expensive (considering Swedish standards).
However the room service was not enough good for a 5 star hotel, our room was badly cleaned and tidy, they didn´t change our towels and they didn´t replace the toilet stuff (shampoo, hair conditioner, etc). There were trays full with rests of food in front of the doors of the rooms for hours!.... not nice to see.
The staff at the reception and in general was quite formal, polite but not more than that, quite stressed the last day I would say.....not god organization with the luggages.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmaA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest and open feedback regarding your stay with us in July 2010.
It is so sad to hear that you were not completely satisfied during your visit and a pity you feel we do not live up to our 5 stars.
It is clear that you have brought back home an impression that we are not proud of and I want to let you know that I have together with the department heads from the housekeeping and food & beverage teams gone through the issues you describe, and also forwarded your comments to our front office team members.

Should you have any further comments and observations, please feel free to contact me directly – I apologize for the fact that you have not been offered the ultimate Sheraton experience this time.

Warm regards,
Paul Peters / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

I stayed here with family members (we had 2 rooms) both before and after a Baltic cruise and found the A/C system pretty much non-functional throughout the hotel.

We probably should have been tipped off by the sweltering lobby where guests were fanning themselves with whatever they could find, but we didn't take the hint.

In the 5 rooms we occupied on 3 different floors, the A/C system (when set on maximum) only had a very small amount of air flowing from the supply register. In addition, the air coming out of the unit was just a degree or two cooler than the air in the room instead of providing the expected 15 - 20 degree F (8.3 – 11.1 degree C) differential necessary for adequate cooling.

Inside temperatures with the A/C system set to maximum cooling were approximately 80 F (26.7 C) during the daytime and 75 F (23.9 C) during the evening.

After talking to various staff members it became clear that this property is having some building-wide air conditioning problems. A room change and visits by technical staff provided no improvement.

One staff member suggested that the problems were due to unexpectedly hot weather, but our rooms didn't cool down even at night when it was 73 F out so I don't believe that explanation. In addition, a review of the comments of other guests suggests our experience was not isolated to us or to the recent spell of hot weather.

We had some relief at night since the windows opened in all the rooms, but I think a property that advertises A/C should provide it instead of excuses!

It's a shame that an otherwise great hotel can't get its act together on this.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeGustaViajar10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulPeters, General Manager at Sheraton Stockholm Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent visit to our hotel.

I am truly sorry to read that you have experienced trouble with our air-conditioning system. I can assure you that we are working on to improve the A/C as it is in fact constructed for more Scandinavian temperatures and with the increasing hot summer in Stockholm this year we see that the A/C system needs to be upgraded to be able to meet an appropriate standard.

I do apologize for any inconvenience this matter has caused you but I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in all other aspects.

I hope that you would consider offering us a second chance and I will make sure to give you the best available rate and a nice upgraded room.
Regardless of if you decide to do so, please do not hesitate to contact me directly in any matter.

I look forward to hearing from you!.

Warm regards

Paul Peters / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville KY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

We recently spent three nights at the Sheraton, and once again, thanks to the tips on this forum, we had a great stay. Since we arrived and departed by train, the proximity of the Sheraton to Central Station was ideal. The room rates were surprisingly reasonable, so we upgraded to a room with a view, and enjoyed the view of Gamla Stan each day. The room was quite large by European standards, as well as the bathroom. The staff was very professional and accomodating.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjhend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

Service was very good, spacious room for four of us - larger than many other hotels at the same price, relaxing. More space in the double queen room for our kids to spread out and play. Very good location and great breakfasts to start your day. Shopping and tour starts are nearby as is Old Town.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moosebat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

A wonderful hotel in a great location with excellent views. Very close to central train
station. Within walking distance to main sites. Super comfy beds, nice bathroom, very
clean. Helpful staff.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dandy985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

Sometimes it needs a second chance to get a first impression ... Back at home I would like to thank you for the nice arrangement. It was a relaxing stay, we felt welcome and the hotel looks much better than during our first unsatisfied stay, the refurbishment and a fresh touch allover were good to note.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savoir_vivre74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#18 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#22 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#6 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Stockholm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Stockholm Hotel

Property: Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Address: Tegelbacken 6, Stockholm 111 52, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#12 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#13 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#17 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#17 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Stockholm Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connecting you to the Heart of Stockholm! Located right in the city center, only minutes away from the picturesque Old Town and the airport rail link, the Sheraton Stockholm Hotel is the ideal place to stay for anyone wishing to connect to the Swedish capital. The 465 rooms are among the most spacious in town, and each one has the renowned Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed, for a perfect night’s sleep. Many of the rooms offer breathtaking views of Lake Mälaren, Old Town or the City Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Stockholm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Stockholm
Stockholm Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing