We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Hansson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hansson
Ranked #123 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a small hotel in the heart of Stockholm with a very comfortable and welcoming lobby. The metro is nearby. And the shopping district is a 15 minute walk at most, and from there you can continue on strolling down to the Old City. The staff helped me out all along the way, with support to get my Ipad on the wifi and suggestions for a jogging path and sighseeing on my day off of work. My room was small but quiet and clean, and the bathroom was new and had plenty of hot water. I did not opt for the least expensive room, and I would recommend the hotel as good value for the money in a major European city.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry F, Manager at Hotel Hansson, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your expereince. I hope you stay with us again when you are in town. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.
Sincerely,

Henry Freeland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hansson
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 297 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

Staff at this hotel were nothing but friendly and helpful. The lobby area, bar and breakfast area was very nicely done and comfortable. Although my girl friends and I had only booked a classic room and not one if the renovated rooms, we were very happy with Them. Clean and spacious the only minus was there were no tea or coffee facilities in the room. Very quiet apart from the sat night, may have been some sort of staff party in a room above us? Location was good, easy to catch the metro or buses. An enjoyable stay in Stockholm loved the snow!!

Room Tip: In our opinion the classic rooms were large, clean and comfortable, we had a room over looking the s...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ettym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry F, Manager at Hotel Hansson, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing yout kind review. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year:-)

Sincerely,
Henry Freeland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The lounge/entrance of the hotel was really nice, but the room we had booked was really horrible, cheap, and expensive for that quality. I saw they have better rooms but the prices more expensive.When we booked, it was writing "No renovated room" but we didnt expect to find something so creepy. The furniture was like from a cheap village from 40 years ago. I like vintage stuff, but this was old cheap, not vintage. The bathroom was disgusting, the hairdryer on the wall was broked, i had to buy my own, no towels or slippers in the room (which is a rule for 4 stars hotels)...The breakfast was poor but nice anyway... I just think they should never rent that room again...they should renovate it urgently!!!! Honestly, with those money i payed for that room, i took a room in Birger Jarl which is smaller but cleaner...
The location was great at least, and taking some drinks in the lounge of the hotel was pretty nice, its a nice atmosphere there.. Anyway, its a good chooice as a hotel, but not the "no renovated room"....

Room Tip: Dont take the unrenovated room!!! Its HORRIBLE!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loredanarusu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Hotel Hansson is located in a side street, but very centrally in Vasastan, although it's a few minutes' walk from the tube station Odenplan. The location is rather quiet (especially if your room faces the backyard), the hotel building is a typical Stockholm apartment building from the early 1900s. The lobby and the hotel bar/restaurant are furnished in an elegant-modern style which may not suit everyone's taste, but it all fits together. The service at reception, bar and for the breakfast were very nice and inconspicuous. Our room (in the renovated section of the house, apparently) had high ceilings, wooden floors, a comfortable double bed with matching bedside tables, a small desk and round table with two chairs, a closet and a flat screen TV. The en-suite bathroom was well-lit and spacious, but to get into the bathroom, you had to "climb up" a very high step, which may be difficult for certain guests with handicaps or the like. Actually, it's the bathroom that makes me write that the hotel is good but nothing extraordinary: The shower consisted of a see-through plastic wall to shield the toilet from being drowned in water from the shower, but there is no shower tray or tub or anything, just the plug hole in the somewhat sloping floor. This means that you have to be a bit careful when having a shower as you may otherwise inadvertently flood the major part of the bathroom. There are also no hangers or rails to hang your towel on when you're in the shower (but there is a bottle opener fixed to the wall right between shower and bathroom door - ?). Also, for a 4-star-hotel, the toilet seat (quite flimsy and worn plastic, probably due to a lot of scrubbing and cleaning) could have looked better, although it was clean. You do get all the other amenities of a 4-star-hotel, i.e. shampoo and shower gel as well as body lotion (even though the small bottles are practical, I prefer larger bottles and tubes fixed to the walls or so, simply because they're more eco-friendly), a hair dryer, a big mirror (a small make-up mirror was missing, though), a heated towel rail. The breakfast was also good: a buffet with warm and cold dishes (scrambled eggs, bacon, boiled eggs, cereals, bread rolls, toast, crisp bread, butter and margarine, cheese, ham, paté, pickled herring, fresh vegetables and fruit, dried fruit, cookies and pastries) plus hot drinks and juices. You can haveyour breakfast sitting at one of the windows overlooking Surbrunnsgatan, which is a rather quiet side street. The price is quite high (we paid nearly 150 Euro for one night for a double room), especially in relation to the equipment of the room (especially the bathroom), but then again, Stockholm hotels are known to be rather expensive. Nevertheless, we were not disappointed with our stay at the Hansson Hotel, although we were not "over the moon" with joy, either. All in all, it's recommendable if you don't expect too much.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mw-turi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry F, Manager at Hotel Hansson, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Thank you for taking so much time to write such a nice review.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Sincerely,

Henry Freeland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I supposed that I had something else in mind when I entered the hotel. The reception and restaurnat looked very stylish and nice and at first impresison the room looked aswell. However we had reserved a renovated room (or at least thats what I hoped that we got).
The bathroom was in very poor standard. There vere serveral things missing, broken or not working (the towel dryer, sink - which was in plastic it seemed like - and somewhere to put the toilet paper - which in it's turn only gave us about 1/8 of a toilet roll).
The brekfast was nothing special, very simple and plain brekfat that you can find at any mediocer hotel in Sweden.
If I should say anything nice the beds were ok... I'm just happy that we didin't choose the unrenovated room for 200 SEK less - that must have been in very poor condition.

Would definately not recommend this hotel, there are several other hotels in Stockholm with better standard and I would happily pay the extra money for that.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thsred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Good location within walkingdistance from the absolute city center. Nice and helpful staff. Really Nice breakfast. I had a Good night sleep in the comfortable beds. Reasonably quite area, no disturbing traffic. Short walk from nice pubs and subway.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Fredrik I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry F, Manager at Hotel Hansson, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Thank you very much for your posting. Welcome back next time you are in Stockholm:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The room was comfortable, although small and fairly worn. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet (included) had a nice selection. The advertised "wi-fi available" was for an additional fee. Fortunately, I booked through Hotwire and got a decent price, but I would not consider it a 4 star hotel or pay a 4 star price to stay here. It is located in a quiet neighborhood, close to several restaurants (the Thai restaurant next door is great) and grocery stores. It is about a 1 mile walk to the train station and city center. Public transportation is about 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AT184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Hotel Hellsten
Hotel Hellsten
#49 of 154 in Stockholm
1,033 reviews
Vasastan
Best Western Plus Time Hotel
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#87 of 154 in Stockholm
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kungsholmen
Hotel Aldoria
Hotel Aldoria
#129 of 154 in Stockholm
117 reviews
Vasastan
First Hotel Norrtull
First Hotel Norrtull
#119 of 154 in Stockholm
448 reviews
Vasastan
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
#40 of 154 in Stockholm
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hansson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hansson

Address: 38 Surbrunnsgatan, Stockholm 113 48, Sweden (Formerly Hotel Brunnen)
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $103 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hansson 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hansson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansson Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing