We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Karlaplan
Ranked #104 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was disappointed with my recent stay at the Karlaplan, although hotels in Stockholm are not cheap, and I guess you definately only get what you pay for. My room was tiny, the room itself being just a little larger than the ensuite. In fact the en-suite was quite plush in contrast to the room itself.

Quite a reasonable breakfast, and they put on a free dinner buffet every evening from 7 till 9.

Room Tip: Recommendation - get down at 7.00pm, if you want the free buffet in the evening, as the food is gone...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steerpikeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel Karlaplan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 393 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

The hotel is in a very nice residential part of town. Rooms are a bit small, but comfortable. The hotel does not have AC in the rooms, but windows open and it wasn't too warm when I stayed there in August 2012. Breakfast is excellent, staff friendly, and service is ok.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Plog60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The hotel is located in a fantasic area. Walking distance to Vasamuseet, Skansen, Gröna Lund, and many other museums. No restaurant onsite but plenty of options a few minutes away. Our room was basic but in good condition. Overall I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is planning to do sightseeing around Djurgården and is looking for a good value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helsinki123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

During the week when I needed to be in Stockholm, there were three major hi-tech conferences, and the whole city was booked up, so I considered myself lucky to find a room here. Needless to say, all hotel room prices were inflated. I had some reservations about the location of this hotel, but then, before I had seen it, my Swedish colleagues told me that Karlaplan is actually an upscale residential area.

It was a pretty and rather quiet neighborhood, and more central than I had expected. It is within 5 minutes waling distance of a metro stop. One can also walk from here to Djurgården, the island where the Vasa Museum, Nordic Museum, and Skansen are located.

The hotel had a very varied breakfast offering, it was lovely, though the room where it was served would get too busy at times. The rooms were actually large, but somewhat plain. It was a very clean establishment. Front desk staff were very helpful, and readily arranged for the right taxi to come, as in Stockholm there are a few varieties of taxis, and some charge much higher rates than others. In the end, I was very pleased with this hotel selection.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JasmineMarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Stayed at the Karlaplan Best Western on Business for 4 nights (Mon-Thurs).
Positives were: Friendly knowledgeable staff and good location .
Negatives were: No aircon and the breakfast was not very good. (Aircon was required on one night as it was very warm with the windows closed. Unfortunately, opening the windows did not help as it was very noisy between 11pm and 1am on my first night). Other evenings were ok with no noise.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derricksasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My stay in this hotel was fine, staff was very kind and always up for any help, single room was quite good, however bed was small but very confortable, pillows were amaizing, I enjoy the stay here. Breakfast was 4/5 not the GRAND BUFFET but enough things to have a great breakfast, fruit, eggs, juice, milk, coffee, charcuterie, cheeses, cereals, etc, good assortment. the location is 2 stations from Central station so quite handy considering that Stockholm is a expensive city hotel prize was quite good for night, I would recommend to stay here and obviously get the Stockholm tourist card beause is a great option to enjoy the city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alseanvittor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We were fortunate to get a large by Swedish standards room for our four night visit. There was the main sleeping room, a dressing room off to one side with a writing desk,and a bathroom off of the dressing room. The complimentary buffet was large and fresh each morning with an American style breakfast of eggs, and bacon and the traditional Swedish breakfast of pickled herring, cheeses, chopped veg, hard boiled eggs, and more. There was fresh yogurt and granola and an assortment of breads and pastries. There was certainly something for everyone. There were assorted teas and coffees. I asked for a water kettle for my room one evening and one was provided for me. Staff were friendly and helpful. Everything was clean and neat. The rooms were very quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cakedeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Best Western Hotel Bentleys
Best Western Hotel Bentleys
#90 of 154 in Stockholm
538 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#45 of 154 in Stockholm
398 reviews
Best Western Capital Hotel
#105 of 154 in Stockholm
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Best Western Royal Star
#91 of 154 in Stockholm
156 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western Kom Hotel Stockholm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Karlaplan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Karlaplan

Address: 82 Skeppargatan, Stockholm 114 59, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $127 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Karlaplan 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Karlaplan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Hotel Karlaplan
Clarion Collection Stockholm
Clarion Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing