We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,184)
Filter reviews
1,184 results
Traveler rating
407
524
168
65
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
524
168
65
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed quiet street interesting decor junior suite free tea and coffee modern bathroom metro station small room single room nice bar quirky hotel sister hotel minute walk lovely room city centre old town top floor
Filter
Updating list...
499 - 504 of 1,184 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I didn't stay in the hotel, but I met friends here for dinner. If you're into modern sort of explorative jazz, they have great shows in the bar. We opted to eat in the dining room because we wanted to chat. You can actually still hear the music pretty well from there. The meals were delicious! My friends ordered the reindeer stew (recommended) and I got the elk dish (not quite as tasty). Wine was very reasonable priced and the service was quirky and excellent--a nice departure from the touristy spots to a place that appeals to locals and savvy visitors alike.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for taking time and write about visit here at Hotel Hellsten.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the food that we serve in our bar. It’s also nice to hear that you liked our jazz evenings, we have live music with different bands every Thursday. And we have also started with African jazz every second Saturday that could be a recommendation for you next time.

Kind regards,

Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stockholm is a very beautiful city drenched in old, gothic themes. We went for the Ireland game in a very cold March but it was a great weekend. We stayed in a very Beautiful hotel in hotel Hellsten. Very modern and elegant with very friendly staff. The receptionist who looked after us was an absolutely stunning woman...which pretty much sums up all Swedish women lol. Very friendly people who greatly enjoyed having the rowdy, fun Irish invade their city for a weekend and good friends were made. Fair play to all the Swedes who came into all the Irish bars to enjoy our company and sing songs, was the funniest and drunkest weekend of my life. Back to the hotel... it is small, very well decorated and has a great atmosphere about it. The owner seems to take pride in it and rightly so. His/her work has paid off greatly. Location is excellent with bars and restaurants close by and the main subway around the corner. A 15 minute walk from the old town Galma stan passing through the city's shops is very pleasant even in -17 degress conditions. The river front is very nice and although Stockholm is a very expensive city it is also one of my favourite.

Room Tip: They are all different but equally beautiful and the under floor heating is great.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about Stockholm and your stay with us.

It seems like you had a great stay and we more than happy to hear that. You are very welcome back and we look forward to have you back as a guest on your next trip to Stockholm.

Best regards,

Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very nice and individual rooms and a modern bathroom, which was, unfortunately, extremely small. Very clean - exellend roommaids.
Rooms to the street are very noisy.
The breakfast room is very small and the alternative to have breakfast in the bar is not really attractive. Breakfast service is very efficient.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Very good located with a direct connection into the city center, aroumd the corner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Helga V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for sharing your reflections of your stay with us.

I’m Happy to hear that you liked our rooms and the design in our bathrooms. All of our bathrooms are decorated in cipher-stone specially shipped from an island in Greece called Evia. When it comes to the size, Hotel Hellsten is located in a rebuilt old family house which was formerly private flats, that is why all of our rooms vary a lot in size. Some of the bathrooms are smaller while others are bigger.



We hope that you will return and stay with us if you plan to visit Stockholm again.


Kind regards,

Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked into the Hellsten Hotel for our last night of a trip to Stockholm. Its in a very central location with lots of restaurants/pubs nearby.

We had booked a junior suite - it wasn't quite what we expected. Yes it was a nice room with a 4 poster bed, but normally when we book a suite we expect a separate seating area - still it was good value - just not what i was expecting.

All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, recommending eating places etc.

Breakfast in the morning was very good - no hot option other than porridge and make-your-own waffles - but then so few hotels do a good hot breakfast option. The selection of cold meats and breads, cheeses etc were excellent, so we enjoyed it.

Overall, yes i would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elscodobermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay with us.

We are sorry if the room you got did not fulfill your expectations. Our rooms are all unique and vary in size as well as in furniture and design. We have Junior Suites with a separate seating area so next time if you´re not satisfied with the room, please contact the reception and they will do their best to find another room for you.

I’m glad to hear that you were happy with our staff and service, that’s very nice to hear.

When it comes to the breakfast, we are happy to inform that we expanded our range and are now also serving both scrambled eggs and bacon.



You are more than welcome back to us and we looking forward for your stay on your next trip to Stockholm.


Kind Regards,

Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

In my last stay a year ago at the Hellsten Hotel in Stockholm, I noted that the shower leaked water over the entire floor. Well that has been rectified I must note. And the breakfast is back to normal with the waffle iron working. And the service at the front desk is as great as ever especially Phillip who provides service always with a smile and beyond expectations. The other receptionists are all equally great too. Would I stay here again? Yes. Thanks to management for making the changes. The only missing one is upgrading the furnishings which are tired and worn. Keep improving. See you soon again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcoPro2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

I’m happy that you returned to us and that you noticed our improvements. We appreciate when the guests shares their thoughts on their stay with us so that we can get better. I am also happy to hear that you like our staff and the service we providing, it’s very warming to hear.

When it comes to the rooms, some of them are meant to be mixed with modern and antique furniture, that’s part of the design and all of our rooms are unique so next time, please inform the reception and they will do their best to find another one for you that suits you better.

We are happy to have you back as a guest on your next trip to Stockholm.

Kind regards,
Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews