We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,179)
Filter reviews
1,179 results
Traveler rating
407
522
166
65
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
522
166
65
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedquiet streetinteresting decorjunior suitefree tea and coffeemodern bathroommetro stationsmall roomsingle roomnice barquirky hotelsister hotelminute walklovely roomcity centreold towntop floor
Filter
Updating list...
497 - 502 of 1,179 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very nice and individual rooms and a modern bathroom, which was, unfortunately, extremely small. Very clean - exellend roommaids.
Rooms to the street are very noisy.
The breakfast room is very small and the alternative to have breakfast in the bar is not really attractive. Breakfast service is very efficient.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Very good located with a direct connection into the city center, aroumd the corner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Helga V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for sharing your reflections of your stay with us.

I’m Happy to hear that you liked our rooms and the design in our bathrooms. All of our bathrooms are decorated in cipher-stone specially shipped from an island in Greece called Evia. When it comes to the size, Hotel Hellsten is located in a rebuilt old family house which was formerly private flats, that is why all of our rooms vary a lot in size. Some of the bathrooms are smaller while others are bigger.



We hope that you will return and stay with us if you plan to visit Stockholm again.


Kind regards,

Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked into the Hellsten Hotel for our last night of a trip to Stockholm. Its in a very central location with lots of restaurants/pubs nearby.

We had booked a junior suite - it wasn't quite what we expected. Yes it was a nice room with a 4 poster bed, but normally when we book a suite we expect a separate seating area - still it was good value - just not what i was expecting.

All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, recommending eating places etc.

Breakfast in the morning was very good - no hot option other than porridge and make-your-own waffles - but then so few hotels do a good hot breakfast option. The selection of cold meats and breads, cheeses etc were excellent, so we enjoyed it.

Overall, yes i would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elscodobermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay with us.

We are sorry if the room you got did not fulfill your expectations. Our rooms are all unique and vary in size as well as in furniture and design. We have Junior Suites with a separate seating area so next time if you´re not satisfied with the room, please contact the reception and they will do their best to find another room for you.

I’m glad to hear that you were happy with our staff and service, that’s very nice to hear.

When it comes to the breakfast, we are happy to inform that we expanded our range and are now also serving both scrambled eggs and bacon.



You are more than welcome back to us and we looking forward for your stay on your next trip to Stockholm.


Kind Regards,

Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

In my last stay a year ago at the Hellsten Hotel in Stockholm, I noted that the shower leaked water over the entire floor. Well that has been rectified I must note. And the breakfast is back to normal with the waffle iron working. And the service at the front desk is as great as ever especially Phillip who provides service always with a smile and beyond expectations. The other receptionists are all equally great too. Would I stay here again? Yes. Thanks to management for making the changes. The only missing one is upgrading the furnishings which are tired and worn. Keep improving. See you soon again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcoPro2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

I’m happy that you returned to us and that you noticed our improvements. We appreciate when the guests shares their thoughts on their stay with us so that we can get better. I am also happy to hear that you like our staff and the service we providing, it’s very warming to hear.

When it comes to the rooms, some of them are meant to be mixed with modern and antique furniture, that’s part of the design and all of our rooms are unique so next time, please inform the reception and they will do their best to find another one for you that suits you better.

We are happy to have you back as a guest on your next trip to Stockholm.

Kind regards,
Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I just came back from a short trip to Stockholm. The Hellsten hotel was a very satisfactory place to stay, close to the subway, at walking distance from the old city (Gamla Stan). Buffet breakfast was plentiful and they have a free Espresso/Cappuccino machine in the lounge. They have Face Stockholm toiletries and change the towels every day. Our Junior Suite was beautiful, red and with a fireplace. The only little drawback was that the plaster shelves on the walls were full of dust, very visible, but never cleaned.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for taking time and sharing your thoughts about the Hotel.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the location and the room. Im sorry to hear that our maids missed the dust but next time, please inform us so we can send someone up to clean it up.

I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back as a guest next time if you planning to visit Stockholm again.

Kind Regards,
Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in August 2013 in a Junior Suite, the room was good - though perhaps not quite the "truly special experience" described on the website. We did get a look at the room next door which seemed to also be a Junior Suite and was significantly more of a "wow".

Upsides:
- Good price, as Stockholm is an expensive city
- Location is excellent - one block from the metro.
- Free wifi with good signal.
- Good breakfast, with lots of choice included.
- Friendly and helpful staff, fast check-in and check-out.
- Stylish decoration.
- Comfortable bed and pillows.

Downsides:
- Impossible to shower without bathroom floor getting soaked - shower is over the bath and the bath has unsealed edges against the stone tiles.
- A bit noisier than I would like - had to use earplugs. Noise from street and voices from either another room, or bar that was beneath the room.
- Room temperature was a little warm, even with thermostat all the way down. Tolerable, but not perfect. Hotel note asks not to open the window and likely be too noisy to sleep anyway.
- Breakfast room can get crowded, so sat out on terrace some days - however this is not no-smoking, so not pleasant for a non-smoker when a few light up.

I would stay again, but ask for a room either on a higher floor or at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel, on a high floor. Rooms facing front street will be noisier.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seven22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews