We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,177)
Filter reviews
1,177 results
Traveler rating
406
521
166
65
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
406
521
166
65
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedquiet streetinteresting decorjunior suitefree tea and coffeemodern bathroommetro stationsmall roomsingle roomquirky hotelnice barsister hotelminute walklovely roomcity centreold towntop floor
Filter
Updating list...
498 - 503 of 1,177 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

In my last stay a year ago at the Hellsten Hotel in Stockholm, I noted that the shower leaked water over the entire floor. Well that has been rectified I must note. And the breakfast is back to normal with the waffle iron working. And the service at the front desk is as great as ever especially Phillip who provides service always with a smile and beyond expectations. The other receptionists are all equally great too. Would I stay here again? Yes. Thanks to management for making the changes. The only missing one is upgrading the furnishings which are tired and worn. Keep improving. See you soon again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcoPro2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

I’m happy that you returned to us and that you noticed our improvements. We appreciate when the guests shares their thoughts on their stay with us so that we can get better. I am also happy to hear that you like our staff and the service we providing, it’s very warming to hear.

When it comes to the rooms, some of them are meant to be mixed with modern and antique furniture, that’s part of the design and all of our rooms are unique so next time, please inform the reception and they will do their best to find another one for you that suits you better.

We are happy to have you back as a guest on your next trip to Stockholm.

Kind regards,
Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I just came back from a short trip to Stockholm. The Hellsten hotel was a very satisfactory place to stay, close to the subway, at walking distance from the old city (Gamla Stan). Buffet breakfast was plentiful and they have a free Espresso/Cappuccino machine in the lounge. They have Face Stockholm toiletries and change the towels every day. Our Junior Suite was beautiful, red and with a fireplace. The only little drawback was that the plaster shelves on the walls were full of dust, very visible, but never cleaned.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for taking time and sharing your thoughts about the Hotel.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the location and the room. Im sorry to hear that our maids missed the dust but next time, please inform us so we can send someone up to clean it up.

I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back as a guest next time if you planning to visit Stockholm again.

Kind Regards,
Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in August 2013 in a Junior Suite, the room was good - though perhaps not quite the "truly special experience" described on the website. We did get a look at the room next door which seemed to also be a Junior Suite and was significantly more of a "wow".

Upsides:
- Good price, as Stockholm is an expensive city
- Location is excellent - one block from the metro.
- Free wifi with good signal.
- Good breakfast, with lots of choice included.
- Friendly and helpful staff, fast check-in and check-out.
- Stylish decoration.
- Comfortable bed and pillows.

Downsides:
- Impossible to shower without bathroom floor getting soaked - shower is over the bath and the bath has unsealed edges against the stone tiles.
- A bit noisier than I would like - had to use earplugs. Noise from street and voices from either another room, or bar that was beneath the room.
- Room temperature was a little warm, even with thermostat all the way down. Tolerable, but not perfect. Hotel note asks not to open the window and likely be too noisy to sleep anyway.
- Breakfast room can get crowded, so sat out on terrace some days - however this is not no-smoking, so not pleasant for a non-smoker when a few light up.

I would stay again, but ask for a room either on a higher floor or at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel, on a high floor. Rooms facing front street will be noisier.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seven22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Booked this hotel after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and we were very pleased overall. Location ideal, short walk to all amenities and centre of Stockholm. We took advantage of the free walking tour (although we did tip the guide) and also the City Card - which is great as long as you plan ahead and use it for everything - we saved £100's of pounds. Hotel check in was smooth and our room was available immediately.

We had booked a family room, which was actually a double room with a put up bed, which was not very comfortable, but everything was clean and tidy. Bathroom was a great size and had included towels for our daughter (which doesn't always happen!).

Breakfast was plentiful, everything was unlimited and you could eat in the restaurant or the bar area, so no problem with finding a table. Everything is self-service, which suited us fine.

Only downside, was that there were roadworks, right outside our window for the whole week - and they did start early...!

Staff booked our return taxi to the airport without any problem and check out again went really smoothly.

Free wifi and coffee machine in lobby, which is great and there never seemed to be any queues for use.

All in all a great little boutique hotel, which is in a perfect location...!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Picked this hotel after looking at the rex petit hotel. Initially we were going to go for the cheap rex petit hotel but then realised that for about 15 pounds more a night we would get a bigger room with a window. Split between two for three nights it was a no brainer.

Location is great, right by radmansgatan metro stop which is only two stops from T-Centralen. The entrance is well done and looks classy. Check in was quick and easy. Double room on 4th floor was spacious with a really nice bathroom that looked 5 star. Comfy bed, though would have preferred a proper double rather than two singles pushed together.

Nice touches included free wifi that worked, free tea and coffee in the lounge by reception, free sauna which we used, free gym that looked fine for a small hotel. There was also a hot tub for 100 SEK for 1 hour which we didn't use.

Breakfast was substantial and had a good spread of stuff, mostly continental style with a waffle maker, cereals, hard/soft boiled eggs.

Best thing about the Hellsten was the staff which my girlfriend commented on. They were all really friendly, helpful and spoke perfect English. Their recommendations for things to do and places to eat were spot on. Cannot fault them at all. The fact that they were young, pretty, female and (as someone else has pointed out) fairly new, should not detract from the fact that they were professional and, to us, appeared knowledgeable.

Great place to stay and we thought it was good value for money in an expensive city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocMarkL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear DocMarkL,
Thank you so much for taking your time to write this lovely review. You seem to have had a great experience at our hotel and all the things you point out is what we do our utmost to deliver to all our guest.

Hope to see you back with us anytime soon.

Kind Regards,
Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews