We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,184)
Filter reviews
1,184 results
Traveler rating
407
524
168
65
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
524
168
65
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed quiet street interesting decor junior suite free tea and coffee modern bathroom metro station small room single room nice bar quirky hotel sister hotel minute walk lovely room city centre old town top floor
Filter
Updating list...
508 - 513 of 1,184 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and i stayed 2 nights in town for a concert. Location is great and hotwire gave us a deluxe room for 80euros/night including breakfast. I read that the rooms under ground werent popular, but we got an amazing one with princess bed and sauna! The free coffee in the lobby was a nice touch, but the girls behind the desk could have more than 1 day of hotel experience before starting... Maybe a coincidence but 2/3 were new!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trankkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Trankkis,
Thank you for taking you time to write a review and thanks for your kind words. We are so glad that you enjoyed your room and the atmosphere of the hotel. Our front desk staff is trained on duty for at least three weeks before working alone to ensure that the service is equally good for all guests. However you might have met one of our trainees during that period and we apologize for that.
Hope to see you back with us soon again!
Kind Regards,
Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Booked at Hotel Hellstens for three nights in July and very happy with the room, service and breakfast. The building has a dark cavernous entrance and eclectic furnishings in the bar and lounge areas, which give a great atmosphere, as well as narrow and windy corridors but don't let that put you off this hospitable hotel.

My friend and l shared a twin room that was small and the bathroom even smaller, but neat and clean, and we saw bigger rooms were available as well. Beds were on the soft side and blackout curtains didn't keep out all the late night light, but slept fine in this quiet residential street.

Breakfast was a quality collection of delicious (and warm) seeded breads and loaves, with a good selection of cold meats, cheese, vegetables, soft and hard boiled eggs, the inevitable picked herring and tasty Swedish meatballs. There was batter provided for two heated waffle irons as well as fruit and jam for toppings, as well as yoghurt, a range of cereals and juice, plus tea, coffee and biscuits.

Service was friendly, helpful and prompt. We received good directions to the hotel and advice about the correct amount to pay for short taxi fares in Stockholm's unregulated taxi industry.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonstar1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Sonstar,
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate it and we are so glad that you enjoyed you stay, the fresh bread for breakfast, our service and atmosphere.

Hope to see you back again!

kind Regards,

Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel is excellently located, only a very short walk from the metro in a quiet side street.
Staff is very friendly and helpful. Internet is free in the whole hotel. Breakfast is included with the rate; buffet style with a large variety of different breads, croissants, meat (even kött bullar, the famous Swedish meat balls).
The hotel rooms are furnished with mixture of antiques and not so old furnishings; cozy and very special. We comfortably stayed in the Junior-Suite with a four poster bed and a modern bath room.

Room Tip: Junior-Suite is definitively a good choice. Be careful: there are four rooms in this hotel, where the windows cannot be opened because they are facing the breakfast room in the court - you might not want to stay in such a room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anoushka90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Anoushka,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Hope to see you back with us sometime soon.

Kind Regards,
Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Overall a really good hotel with friendly, helpful staff. All facilities are very clean and the room size is OK. Nice to have the breakfast included, fish in the morning is great!

The only downside: you can't open a window in basement rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sebastian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellsten, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Sebastian.
Thank you for your sweet words and we are glad you enjoyed the swedish herring for breakfast. For those who need something more sweet the waffles are higly recommended.

Hope to see you back with us soon again.

Kind Regards,
Per Hellsten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I was on a 3-day business trip to Stockholm in May 2013. Ended up booking this hotel based on price and location and reviews. I booked my hotel through Expedia.

Positives:
(a) Nice boutique hotel with very friendly staff.
(b) Good spread at breakfast, especially for someone who is vegetarian traveling from India. There were variety of fruits, bread and jams, corn flakes, etc.
(c) Coffee and tea is available in the nice lobby room throughout the day and night. The lobby can also be used as a nice hangout area if you want to get away from your room for a short while. The lobby has a number of nice African artefacts with some stories around them.
(d) The location of the hotel is good, just one road parallel to the main road. So, it is quiet.
(e) Check in and check out were really quick.

Negatives:
(a) The room was really small, though with all the amenities. The photos on the hotel website show the larger rooms, so, when one goes with some expectation, one is disappointed. I was truly taken in by the small room I got. Don't rely just on the website photos.
(b) The bathroom was also really small. The shower cubicle had barely enough space to turn.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for specific rooms. Don't just go by the photos on the hotel website or travel sites.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanjayAhmedabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews