We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loginn: great location, small room, great price, awful breakfast”
Review of Loginn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loginn Hotel
Ranked #84 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed September 18, 2007

I have just returned from a great 3 night stay in Stockholm. The Hotel is in a great location on Rygersfjord just opposite to Gamla Stan and the view from the boat is great. The room I stayed in was a small cabin with bunk beds and was very small and limited headroom; I am 6 foot 4 and my head touched the ceiling. Saying that though the bed was no problem and I fitted in OK. The room was cleaned every day, with fresh towels etc. I was by myself so used the top bunk for storing my suitcase. I wouldn't have liked to share the room as storage space was virtually non existent apart from a couple of drawers underneath the bed. the walk into Gamla Stan took about 10 minutes at a leisurely pace. There are 2 nearby Metro stations: Gamla Stan and Mariatorget both within 10 minutes walk in either direction. I felt very safe walking to and from the hotel even late at night. The biggest downer was the breakfast, the cold meats & cheese left out by the staff were not good quality and some of the food hygiene left a lot to be desired. I saw one member of staff regularly turning the meat as it dried out on the plate! He then kept stirring both the marmalade and margarine presumably to stop a crust forming.
All in all an enjoyable stay in a cosy room with friendly and helpful reception. Great location. Very reasonable price (for Stockholm). I would make other breakfast arrangements though.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrNog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 309 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2006

Don't mind what the others say about the LogInn Hotel!! We stayed here for 7 nights recently and it was great value for what we paid. If your young and like to live life outside of the hotel then then this is the place to stay!!

The hotel is NOT 15 minutes away from Gamla Stan but actually 5-8 minutes and you can easily and safely walk home in the early hours of the morning from the Gamla Stan/Sodermalm area.

Breakfast was great (selection of meats, bread, cheeses, cereals and drinks), room was clean and had a bar which served food and drink. The room was small but cosy and I can't understand why people need a TV in their room, especially when your on holidays!!

I'd definitely recommend it to young couples who need somewhere close to the main areas and dont mind having 5 star luxury!!!

10/10 for one of the best value hotels in Stockholm!!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank GerGilmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2006

This hotel is actually a hostel, with tiny rooms to match. The smallness of the room wasn't bad, but the fact that there was no air circulation due to the lack of air conditioning and a window that didn't open was bad. The room got very hot and stuffy and there was nothing we could do. The good thing was that the room was cleaned every day (even if you stay in your room until 1:00pm and the cleaners have already knocked and left!) There were also NO extras, not even a TV in the room!! The location was good, and the room was relatively cheap for Stockholm prices, but next time I will still stay somewhere else, even if I have to spend a bit more.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank jeknoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
217
Reviewed December 17, 2005

The Loginn is a nice boat hotel in Södermalm, right next to the very imposant München Bryggeriet (the Munich Brewery). The hotel has about 40 rooms, some with a view to the Old Town and to the famous Stockholm City Hall, which is located at the opposite shore.

When we were at the Loginn, we had a small double room. Actually, small is quite an exaggeration, the room was tiny. There are no bunk beds, which is often the case on boat hotels, but comfortable double beds. Unfortunately, those beds take a lot of the space within the room.

What I liked about the Loginn was the friendly staff, the beautiful view to Stockholm´s Old Town and the City Hall (nice panorama from the breakfast room), the fact that every room has its own bathroom with shower and the good location of the boat, close to the busy streets of Södermalm and only a 15 minute walk to the Old Town.

Quite a problem was the small size of the room. You will hardly find enough space to place your suitcase, without it blocking the way to the bathroom or to the floor. The interior decoration of the room was quite simple and looked pretty cheap. Nevertheless the bed was comfortable and everything was very clean. The same is true for the bathroom, although it had a strange smell when we arrived.

The small porthole was the only window in the bedroom, so it was quite dark. They do have bigger rooms, but they are more expensive and I have no idea how they look. The price for one night was about 75 € (695 kronors), which I felt to be too much. Of course you should always keep in mind that hotel rooms in Stockholm are generally much too expensive, and 75 € for one room with your own shower is actually at the lower level of the price scale, but more value for the money would be fine. Breakfast was ok, quite basic (cheese, meat, cereals, juice and coffee, bread).You can also eat at the hotel restaurant in the evening, but I would recommend to check out one of the many restaurants in Södermalm.

You can reach the hotel quite easy by metro, although the next station is about a 10 minute walk away. Car Parking is also possible, there is enough space right in front of the hotel.

If you choose a bigger room at the Loginn, it might be quite a recommendable place. But otherwise I would advise you to look for another place to stay. There are some more hotel boats quite close to the Loginn, also the Vandrarhemen (comfortable youth hostels) might be an alternative.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2005

We thought the LogInn Hotel would be a great experience because it was a boat in the city. However, we requested a small double room and it was the smallest hotel room we'd ever seen! There was just enough floor space for 2 people to stand up at the same time and that was it. The rest of the room was taken up by the bed. We ended up piling our clothes on a little corner shelf because there was no place to lay down our suitcases. As for amenities, there was no phone, no alarm clock, no TV, and only 3 hangers. The bed was pretty comfortable and just big enough for 2 people who don't mind cuddling. The room had a bathroom with nice fixtures but it too was tiny! I shaved my legs in the shower one day and hit my head on the sink twice when bending down. The room was a tad bit stuffy, too. One good thing about staying at this hotel is that we didn't waste any of our vacation time sitting in the hotel room. We left around 8am each day and didn't return until we wanted to go to bed. The breakfast at this hotel was not very appealing, if you're American. There was liver pate and some kind of extremely thick milk. My husband made little open-faced sandwiches with meat, cheese, and cucumber and tomato slices everyday but I just ate buttered toast. Another thing worth mentioning is that the hotel was not in the best of locations. When I looked at the map it looked like it was in the middle of everything but it turns out that there is a cliff on that side of Sodermalm and the boat was at the bottom while everything else was on the top. In order to get to the part of Sodermalm where there are lots of shops/restaurants/bars/etc., or to get to Gamla Stan where there's lots to do, you have to walk about 10-15 minutes. The thing that kept me going the whole week we stayed in this hotel is that it was very cheap compared to other hotels in the area. We only paid about $100/night but I expect we would have paid at least $200/night for a regular American-like hotel room.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CMarriott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank summy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank estmar51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#97 of 154 in Stockholm
275 reviews
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#88 of 154 in Stockholm
240 reviews
Hotell Dialog
#127 of 154 in Stockholm
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Södermalm
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
#8 of 154 in Stockholm
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loginn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loginn Hotel

Address: 16 Soeder Maelarstrands Kajplatser | Södermälarstrand, Stockholm 118 25, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $64 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Loginn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Loginn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loginn Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing