We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
M/S Birger Jarl Hostel & Hotel
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Staying at Anedin Hostel was a really cool experience for us!
The boat itself is really nice and it really has an atmosphere of the "old ship".
The staff was really nice and helpful.
The room was comfortable with a great view (!). I read someone complained about the size, but don't forget you're on a ship! :) So for a ship cabin our room was really good and had everything we needed!
And of course the location! It's just amazing! 5 min walk to almost everything you'd like to see in Stockholm!
We've stayed there for a 3 days and we didn't use the subway/buses at all! Because there is no need!
So Anedin Hostel is highly recommended for everyone who wants to stay in a beautiful city of Stockholm, get a cool experience of living on a ship and save some time/money!
I would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 483 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

Plus: The location was very good, close to the main square with many restaurants and stores and also close to many cruise opportunities. Another plus is that you don't feel it shaking on the waves, as I expected. We had a superior double cabin with two original ship windows that open, we had a really awesome view over the water and the island. More than that, you can climb on the last floor(/deck) and have a great view, especially at night even if I'm not really sure that it was allowed (we got there really late and there was nobody to stop us, otherwise maybe somebody would since the deck was really wet and slippery and accidents could have happened if some kid or someone less responsible would've got there).

Minus: -The room was really small, you just ~30-40cm between the bed and the walls on both sides. There was a wall between the room with the bed and the small "balcony" with a small table and two dirty chairs and the windows, so we couldn't see the sky from the bed as we expected. It was really difficult to close the windows and at night it was very cold. Also the ventilation couldn't be completely stopped, and was very loud all the time and very cold in the room even if it was summer. In the first night I woke up at 5am because I couldn't stand the cold and the noise anymore.
- All the cabins had problems locking. First time we leaved the room we lost half an hour trying to lock it and waiting for somebody to help us - he also tried a lot until he managed but then we had the same problem every time we went out and we saw and heard other people trying hard to lock their cabins as well. So don't leave anything valuable in the room.
- At night there was no way to buy something to eat/drink.
- The bathroom was really small and the shower directly on the floor caused an accumulation of water of about 10cm every time we showered. The lack of a mop or something like that was really annoying.

All in all it might be a nice experience for a night or two but I couldn't stand more than that! Next time I will visit Stockholm I will stay at a hotel in the same area but not on a ship for sure!

Room Tip: If you care about your comfort even a little, the a superior cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alitzuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I've never stayed in a boat before and it was a super cool experience. The location was simply the best, centrally located in the old town, no doubt the most beautiful part of the city. The staff was super nice and our cabin was basic and comfy, exactly what you are looking for when traveling on budget right? You can wander around the boat and enjoy the kitsch decoration, the old maps on the walls... it was charming. It is not the cleanest place I have ever been but to be honest it was not dirty either, just average, as said basic and simple perfect for when you are planning to explore the city and stop at the hotel to rest :)
The fact of sleeping in a boat gave it the extra romantic bit, I would recommend to anyone traveling with your partner or friends. Also it was sooooo cheap compared with the other alternatives, Stockholm is ridiculously expensive so I would definitely repeat in this place to save some crowns for other things :)

Room Tip: We went for the no-sharing cheapest option : cabin for two with no window. When we arrived there and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tatiana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Located on the water beside the old city
Cabins small but compact and quite and very clean.. use squeegee in bathroom to "dry" floor
Mattress firm but not rock hard
Plenty of hot water
Excellent wifi in upstairs lounge but not in cabin
Upstairs lounge comfortable with free (the only thing free in Stockholm !) hot water for coffee/tea
Breakfast available 90 kroner
About 15 minutes walk from Railway Station
There is a supermarket about 5 minutes walk
Would certainly stay again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank geoff96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The rooms are very small, but I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel service is very good, staff very polite. The bathroom facilities are on the average side, also struggled to find the bar, although there were renovations being carried out

If you are running the Stockholm Half marathon, it is the nearest hotel, and less than 600m from the start line. Yes would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h0nestjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Price compared to hotels in Stockholm was reasonable (I booked on a short notice).

The staff was ok.

The rooms weren't cleaned properly. I found a toenail in my bed and there was no soap left in the toilet.

The shower was a bit appalling so I decided to skip shower that day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkirjala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The location of the hostel could not be better - steps away from historic Gamla Stan (the old quarter). So if you just want to rest your head and explore the city then this is a suitable place to stay. However... we didn't shower for 2 days because the ensuite bathroom is tiny, without a shower curtain so water goes everywhere and on top of that the floor is flat so water doesn't go down the drain so you have to use a "squeegee" to push the water down the drain - too much hassle for my liking! (see pictures of other reviews to show this). The rooms are really dark, small and claustrophobic but adequate for putting your head down. 3 of us shared a private 4 berth cabin so this was the cheapest option for us. Check in starts at 3pm - if you want to leave your luggage you can, unattended and in an unlocked room near reception (I kept my backpack with me as there is still crime in Stockholm despite having a low crime rate). I rated this 3 stars due to the location and that it's a hoStel and not a hotel - as mentioned the location could not be better - so I would consider staying here again (just not more than 2 nights!)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cragyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#98 of 154 in Stockholm
268 reviews
Slussen
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
#75 of 154 in Stockholm
747 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Birger Jarl
Hotel Birger Jarl
#49 of 154 in Stockholm
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Slussen
Mosebacke Hostel
Mosebacke Hostel
#24 of 67 in Stockholm
145 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Skanstulls Hostel
Skanstulls Hostel
#7 of 67 in Stockholm
456 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
NOFO Loft
NOFO Loft
#3 of 35 in Stockholm
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M/S Birger Jarl Hostel & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M/S Birger Jarl Hostel & Hotel

Address: Stadsgardskajen 156, Stockholm 116 45, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range: $49 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — M/S Birger Jarl Hostel & Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
M/S Birger Jarl Hostel & Hotel in Stockholm is a ship hostel docked on Stadsgardskajen next to the metro station Slussen on Sodermalm. It is a perfect accommodation for visiting tourists. M/S Birger Jarl Hostel & Hotel is a suitable choice for short visits to Stockholm with all the basic facilities you require for a short trip. M/S Birger Jarl Hostel & Hotel, we have reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your M/S Birger Jarl Hostel & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing