We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always pleasure to stay here”
Review of Nordic Light Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nordic Light Hotel
Ranked #24 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I regularly travel to Stockholm over he years and have finally settled on staying at the Nordic Light.. I ended up commenting here for most of a year. The Staff and the bar/reception are amazing and I always feel very welcome here. The rooms may not the to everyone's liking but the Nordic simplicity of the rooms is exactly what I like after staying in boring looking hotel rooms. The bar area is a great place to relax or work or meet people. Finally it's a god location on where to explore Stockholm, the staff have always been very easy about helping to make reservations at restaurants.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank Lak P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasCavallius, Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear guest, many thanks for your kind comments! Great to see you found a home away from home! We are proud of our hotel and its facilities and happy you enjoy it but even happier you find the service to be personal and attentive. Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 507 of 1,609 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Right next door to the station for the airport express, this hip and trendy hotel delivers on every aspect... Product, service and value for money. Great rooms, comfortable bed, good shower and friendly, helpful staff. Conference centre well equipped. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulyk1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasCavallius, Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest! Very happy to see you enjoyed your stay! We opened our new conference floor, Light Meetings, last autumn and it has been an appreciated addition to the hotel and our services. Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I've used this hotel several times. It's located right next to the train station, perfect. The staff at the reception are serviceminded and the rooms are clean and looks nice. There is also a nice gym located at the hotel - free for all guests to use. Unfortunatly the service and level of expertice in the restaurant and breakfast area is terrible. Not serviec minded, not any good food and I had serveral bad experiences there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thomasmoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasCavallius, Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback! Our organic breakfast and lunch is something we often get positive comments about and many times one of the reason guests return so it's unfortunate to see you did not experience it the same way. Please do contact me next time you stay so I can get your personal feedback and suggestions for improvements!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Convenient location, contemporary feel and nicely furnished rooms. Breakfast was good and overall no complaints at all. Staff were friendly and helpful - close to train station, shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadtonowhere68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasCavallius, Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you! A good breakfast gives a good start of the day so we always keep a majority of products organic. Happy you enjoyed it! Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Perfect central location not far from train station and 100 yards from the Arlanda Express terminal. Interesting contemporary design and a very vibrant bar/club in the lobby.

Rooms are a bit pricy and small but tidy and there are dozens of cheapish places to eat within a few hundred yards.

I've stayed there 3 times and had no problems whatsoever.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaunF7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasCavallius, Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your kind review! Feedback from returning guests are as always very important so happy to see you have enjoyed your stay. See you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel once, and would always stay here when I visit Stockholm if it wasn’t so expensive. I had a standard room booked and at check in was asked if I would like to upgrade to a deluxe mood room for an extra 200SEK (approx.) a night. I was advised that the standard rooms were quite small. As I was staying for 6 nights, I agreed to pay the extra, and was very glad that I did. My room had three separate rooms, a big enough bathroom by Swedish standards, I had a separate shower and bathtub, a living area with couch, table and work area and the bedroom. The bedroom had coloured lighting and a fancy light box that would play sounds and gradually light up in the morning to wake you up gently. The only downside was that there was no TV in the bedroom.
The reception area is very modern with lots of young and friendly reception staff and a modern bar with interesting wooden seats and lighting.
The location of the hotel is excellent, it’s right beside the main station, and if you’re coming from the airport on the Arlanda Express, you will see the hotel as soon as you walk out of the station. The sister hotel, the Nordic Sea Hotel is directly across the road and this is where you can find the original Icebar (expensive but worth it for the novelty, full of tourists of course!). The hotel is also beside the main Central train station and just 5 mins walk from Drottninggatan. Gamla Stan is a little further but you can walk there in about 10-15 mins.
I stayed in this hotel while on business, but I think it would be great for a holiday too as it has quite a modern and trendy Swedish feel to it. It’s just a pity that it’s so expensive. The B&B rate was too high, so I can’t comment on what breakfast is like, wifi wasn’t free either.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flossykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasCavallius, Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your feedback! Glad to see you appreciated our Mood Room, interior and design as well as service and location. The Icebar is definately worth a visit! Not every day you get to drink out of a glass made of ice! Breakfast is always included in the rate these days and wi-fi is free all over the hotel! Hope to see you back for your next business trip or holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Arrived the afternoon of Saturday 22 March 2013 to check in at about 17.00 (check in started at 14.00). Reception was in absolute chaos. Waited about half an hour, maybe more, before we finally got seen only to be told (after having supplied details, passports, etc.) that the hotel was overbooked and could we wait to see if they could sort a room out for us, but there was no guatantee this would be done. We said no, we needed the room we had booked now (we had a dinner reservation we had to get ready for). The story then changed, and we were told that there was a room but we had to wait for it to be cleaned, but they could not give us a time. They did suggest that perhaps we would like to take our bags up to an uncleaned room - which we declined as the thought of doing this was disgusting. We asked for the manager, and got the reception duty manager instead who could not help. We expressed how appalling this service was and said that it was the complete opposite to the service we had received at the Nordic Sea Hotel (just across the road) previously. We asked the duty manager to see if there was a room available at the Nordic Sea, which she did and we asked her to book us in there instead. She then informed us that we would now be getting a better rate which was unnecessary as we already knew what the rates were and had deliberately wanted to try both hotels for the experience. The duty manager then told us that all we had to do was present ourselves at the Nordic Sea reception and, as she had already checked us in there, all we had to do was pick up our keys. We went over to the Nordic Sea and they knew nothing about this, so we had to wait further while the hotels rang each other. It was finally sorted out and we got our room at the Nordic Sea - but because it was a last minute thing there were details missing in the room that we had had previously, but it was not worth making a fuss about for one night. We were looking forward to staying at the Nordic Light, but based on this experience, would never ever consider staying there, and other travellers should take this experience into consideration too.

Room Tip: Can't comment on this as we never actually got a room, despite our reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
5  Thank Jacky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreasCavallius, Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Jacky,
My sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your visit! We do guarantee our guests check-in from a certain time so I will most definately look into what could have happened in your case.
Regardless of what could have gone wrong, I do hope you will give us a chance to show the service and product that we are otherwise known for!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#33 of 154 in Stockholm
2,838 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#16 of 154 in Stockholm
1,464 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Comfort Hotel Xpress Stockholm Central
Norrmalm
Downtown Camper by Scandic
Downtown Camper by Scandic
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordic Light Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Light Hotel

Address: Vasaplan 7 | Entrance is located left of Vasagatan 11, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $153 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nordic Light Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nordic Light Hotel is Stockholm's design hotel, with an interior inspired by the northern light. The hotel is located in the city centre of Stockholm right next to the best shopping, nightlife and the express-train to Arlanda airport. All 169 rooms share the same well thought-out design and the atmosphere in our restaurant and bar is both cool and inviting. At the hotel, our friendly staff guides you to the best restaurants, clubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Nordic Choice Hotels, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Nordic Light Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordic Light Stockholm
Hotel Nordic Light

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing