We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but pricey”
Review of Nordic Light Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nordic Light Hotel
Ranked #34 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Came here on a business trip, and would not have stayed here unless it had been recommended. The rooms are nice and clean, the staff a bit snobby, the light is everywhere, with special installations, kind of nice. Posh reception area, with groups of Asians being guided into the lobby to see the special lamp they have...

All in all a nice experience at a vey high price - but then again, it is very central, in easy reach of the central station.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maritian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christinwikstrom, Hotel Influencer at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

Hi,

We would like to thank you for posting your review about our hotel.
You are welcome back at any time.

Regards
Christin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

480 - 486 of 1,487 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just completed my perhaps 6th or 7th time to this hotel and well, have to make one comment to previous posting...the beds are in a word the best....I mean complaining about Hastens beds that are the best in the world is tough comment...especially as hotel is not so old they have any wear...anyway, the hotel is simple, efficient and comfortable...and the front office staff extremely efficient at check in/out...never has taken more than 1 minute on any of my stays....and yes, will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The "light" rooms are at least from my experience nothing more than paying a premium for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christinwikstrom, Hotel Influencer at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

Hi,

We would like to thank you for posting your review about our hotel.
You are welcome back at any time.

Regards
Christin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The location of Nordic light hotel is perfect; in the city centre, 1 min from the Arlanda express train platform and close to most tourist attractions.
However we thought the room is basic with cheap furniture and simple bathroom. Biggest problem were the bed, poor lightning and the noisy air system. The travel guide mentioned comfortable Hastens beds, but it turned out it is only a Hastens sprung mattress base with a thin mattress protector and no mattress. Quite hard.
On the first floor there is a night club, so in the weekends it can get very noisy and the hotel party guests turn in late.
Location and service wise this hotel is good for a business trip, but if you want to spend a relax few days in Stockholm we can not recommend it.

Room Tip: Stay at the top floor, because of loud bar and night club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymous01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christinwikstrom, Hotel Influencer at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

Hi,

We would like to thank you for posting your review about our hotel.
You are welcome back at any time.

Regards
Christin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, nice atmosphere, but does not come cheap. Gym in the basement well enough equiped. Breakfast and lunch at hotel were super. Very lively atmosphere. Had a great stay!! Great hotel, nice atmosphere, but does not come cheap.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicafamilytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotta S, Guest Relations Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Very nice to read your review and that you took the opportunity to visit the gym during your stay.
The four star hotels with this location is a bit more expensive but it seems that you are satisfied with your stay anyway and that is the most important.

I hope to be able to welcome you back!

Kind regards,
Charlotta Svedberg
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent a week at Nordic Light on business. Great location and rooms, plus reasonable rates. This place is close to everything. It is close to everything, train station, bus stop, casino, restaurants. One minute train walk and 3 minute to bus stop. I took a cab from airport and paid 500, took a bus back to airport and paid 99. Could have taken a train for 259. Everything is super convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotta S, Guest Relations Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

I suppose you are happy with the location, so are we!
Nice to hear that you have spent one week with us and of course I hope to see you soon again.

With kind regards,

Charlotta Svedberg
Guest Relation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Nordic Light Hotel Stockholm is a modern, and pretty cool 4 start hotel directly at the Arlanda Express station in central Stockholm. It is well located, the rooms are bright and funky and the service and conference facilities excellent. And it has the fastest free WiFi I have ever encountered right throughout the hotel. So highly recommended.

But it has a quirk which needs to be flagged. The Nordic Light promotes itself as the "first hotel in the world to have meat free Monday". Yes on a Monday forget any chance of getting any food with meat in it. So forget the fact that you are spending big money on a vacation and all the treats that go along with spoiling yourself. If you want bacon and eggs for breakfast on Monday morning then you are out of luck. Interestingly when asked, the waitress in the restaurant said that she couldn't understand the hotels policy not to serve guests what they want and that she "hated working Monday" as a result. And the number of hotels guests walking out of the restaurant on Monday was a clear indication that paying hotel guests don't like nanny state hotels telling them what they can and can't eat.

If you are at the Nordic Light any other day expect a fantastic buffet breakfast with all the trimmings. A real selling point and very popular it would seem given the crowd.

But come on a Monday and it is faux meat, baked beans and fish whether you like it or not. But you can for sure get your pick of tables.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ringsau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotta S, Guest Relations Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am glad to read that you enjoyed our hotel, but less happy that you did not enjoy our Meat Free Mondays.

This is a way for us to inspire to new ways of working with sustainability in the field of hospitality. The Meat Free Monday-project encourages people all over the world to reduce their meat consumption. It’s a simple, yet effective way to help slow climate change which we are proud to be a part of - and we know that many of our guest appreciate this initiative.

You can read more about it on our website, if you are curious to know more about why we have chosen Meat Free Mondays.

We continuously strive to improve the service we provide towards our guests and also to stand behind the decisions that the hotel is working for, but obviously we have not managed this time.
The personal opinion is of course different many times.

I hope to see you with us soon again!

Kind regards,
Charlotta Svedberg
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed three nights on a recent weeklong swing through Scandinavia. We had picked this hotel through recommendations on tripadvisor and were very happy with our choice. It could not be more convenient to the train station, and we found the location to be within walking distance of Gamla Stan and many of Stockholm's sites. The breakfast buffet had a large variety of high quality foods (don't miss the little home made muffins with cinnamon on top), the room was fairly large by European standards and the hotel has a hip vibe without that self-concious "trying too hard to be cool" feel some places have. In the evening, the quite nice lobby bar area can be packed with business types (to the point where one night we really couldn't get in for a drink) but one can hardly fault the hotel for being popular. The staff was also quite friendly and helpful. One issue is the lighting in the rooms is for style and not for doing anything that requires, well, light. That minor point aside it's a great hotel and we plan to stay there again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Upper and lower floors may have different outdoor "nordic light" effects. Check with hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg3st3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotta S, Guest Relations Manager at Nordic Light Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review!

I am very pleased to read that we obviously reach your expectations during your stay here!
The location is really perfect in the city center with walking distance to almost everything.
We usually say that Nordic Light Hotel is Stockholm’s design hotel inspired by the northern light, with a sleek, stylish exterior that conceals a warm, welcoming interior and I am glad that you have got that feeling from your stay with us.

I hope to be able to welcome you back in the soon future!

Kind regards,
Charlotta Svedberg
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#18 of 154 in Stockholm
1,330 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#36 of 154 in Stockholm
2,643 reviews
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#19 of 154 in Stockholm
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#48 of 154 in Stockholm
1,911 reviews
Norrmalm
Elite Hotel Adlon
Elite Hotel Adlon
#38 of 154 in Stockholm
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordic Light Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Light Hotel

Address: 7 Vasaplan, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#34 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $163 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nordic Light Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nordic Light Hotel is Stockholm's design hotel, with an interior inspired by the northern light. The hotel is located in the city centre of Stockholm right next to the best shopping, nightlife and the express-train to Arlanda airport. All 175 rooms share the same well thought-out design and the atmosphere in our restaurant and bar is both cool and inviting. At the hotel, our friendly staff guides you to the best restaurants, clubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nordic Light Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordic Light Stockholm
Hotel Nordic Light

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing