We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, but a bit overpriced”

Rosendals Tradgardskafe
Ranked #99 of 3,027 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Soups, Swedish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Djurgarden & Djurgardsbrunn
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent location, but a bit overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Went to Rosendals Trädgården for Fika with friends.

The walk from the city through Djurgården is nice, but only if you have time. Otherwise, you are not missing too much if you get the tram from Nybroplan to Stockholms Bellmansro and take a short walk up Sirishovsvägen to the cafe.

If you are going to walk, I would recommend taking the waterside path starting from the Blue gate as you will get some lovely views of the water, Bjurgardens byrgge area and kaknästornet.

The cafe is in a lovely location with an orchard, lots of seating in "flowery surroundings" and areas of grass to laze on. Definitely somewhere to visit when the sun is shining.

A coffee and small biscuit cost 50 SEK with the biscuit being 25 SEK on it's own. It was small and dry so to be honest i would just go for a coffee. That said, friends have told me that lunch is nice if you "sit down" inside.

All in all a nice lazy "sunday afternoon" kind of activity.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BJCOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    80
    27
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
153 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful café”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Located in a very nice place in Djürgarden, the café is in the middle of a garden centre. They don't offer expresso, but filter coffee is acceptable. Cookies and cakes are great. But above all, the place is beautiful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cesar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Light lunching in the garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spent a Tuesday morning at the Vasa Museum and afterwards strolled along the waterfront and through the park to Rosendals Tradgard for a late lunch in this garden cafe. It proved to be a very popular place. We queued for over ten minutes to pay for our rolls and cake and then sat at a table in the garden enjoying our lunch and the sunshine. We enjoyed the gardens before strolling back to the ferry, A pleasant stop for a light lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsfuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best food stop on Djurdgården.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Smorgas or sandwich is going to be a constant food choice when you want to stop quickly during a day of exploration. This island can be reached by other means, but taking the ferry from Gamlastan is the most scenic way. From the stop at Grona Lund many places can easily be reached by foot, Nordiska museet, Skansen, and Thielska museum among them. Just a bit of extra walking near water, through a tree lined walking track brings you to Rosendals. They have a gift shop, wood fired bakery, kiosks with simple choices like sandwiches, cakes, beer, coffees. There is also seating all through the garden as well as in glass enclosed green houses where hot meals can also be had during lunch hours.

This is the most idyllic place in Stockholm to have a sandwich- (and beer!) and the Thielska museum is very interesting (and nearby).

I am not sure if I can post a link? http://www.rosendalstradgard.se
The website has all the information you need to plan your trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sajtia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
82 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent for summer lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

The restaurant is more like cafe with only few selected dishes like gaspacho soup and beef salad. We took the roast beef salad that was good for lunch. I think the price was far too high. We paid 155 SEK each, but I would see it to be more like 115 SEK or something like that. Anyway, the surroundings and the atmosphere was really nice here while you were eating in this beautiful garden.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Youni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosendals Tradgardskafe also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Rosendals Tradgardskafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing