We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive surprise!!”
Review of Farang

Farang
Ranked #27 of 3,111 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, Malaysian, Thai, Vietnamese, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Vasastan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Positive surprise!!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Had a menu that was ordered in advance as we were 12 pax. Since it was orginized by someone else, I did not have the chance to look at the prices, the menu, and the wine list.
I am not found of fusion/concept food as I am a "traditional" type of eater, but I was amazed by the food quality and the tastes of the various dishes we were served. Good and efficient service but the small plates were not changed between the various courses!?!??... A shame as the tastes are king there!! Portions were generous too which I liked. The White wine from Alsace was very fade and even "watery" while the Red was excellent and more complexe without killing the amazing tastes. I would go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FooodLoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    174
    55
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“One of the best on Stockholm”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Surprisingly good Asian food in Stockholm. It is a fusion type of restaurant a la New York and we love it it.
We shared the starter and four main courses and it tasted very good. Soft Shell crab, Morning Glory with fried Tofu, Crispy Pork and a tasty curry. They also had real cocoanut ice cream, our favorite.
We shared a bottle of Rose wine and to the food Singha Beer.
We do recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fancy and expensive Asian”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Farang is built in what used to be electricity works on Thulegatan. Interior very modern, large open area, dark colors. Guests mainly young , trendy Stockholmers. We went for the a la carte menu, fantastic tastes very good food, but pricey if you are used to a regular Thai restaurant. Main courses around 250-350 kr, wine from 500 upwards, total dinner 2100 for 4. Dishes are not the traditional Thai/Malaysian/Vietnamese but more of a fusion between the minimalistic western type dishes and the Asian tradition. Service was quick and helpful, only negative was that we did not get new plates for each dish so they got pretty messy in the end. Would we recommend to a friend? Yes if you want a different Asian experience in an upmarket urban setting and don't mind to pay the price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray on Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Impressive place”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Unfortunately the restaurant was closed on the day we arrived, but one of the owners met us anyway and showed us around. A very big plus is the fact that one could see the kitchen and therefore could see what is going on - nothing is hidden. The restaurant area is huge with many tables - capacity of approx 200. There is also a smaller section at the back for private dining which I am sure will look very special especially with the candles lighting. The bar area at the front looks very inviting and quite impressive with the huge selection of drinks. One was even made up specially for me and given my name. I would definitely like to come back and taste the food which I believe has become very popular, so watch this space for a further review on the food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ELVDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect place october-april”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

A new restaurant in Stockholm with a nice asian fusion kitchen. Dishes to share in a trendy ambiance among the successful businesspeople of the city. One of the best restaurants right now! Don't expect good service, unfortunatly the service is at it's best "ok". :-(

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bana1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farang also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Farang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing