We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, delightful and delicious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oxelblom - CLOSED

Oxelblom
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Swedish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Romantic, delightful and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was just a terrific experience! The restaurant looks and feels like a cosy lounge with an eclectic mix of furniture, lighting and decor, with one wall being a bookshelf ! Matthias, who served us could not have been more attentive or knowledgeable about the wine and food matching, we were lucky enough to be able to taste several wines before deciding which one we wanted. We started with Tribaut Champagne, not so well known but fantastic, it's definitely worth trying if you haven't had it before! We both chose the 5 course tasting menus, one from Gotland (helpful that it was all gluten free) and one from Halland. The dishes were well designed to combine flavour, texture and visual appeal. The menus enabled us to sample a wide variety of Swedish food but you can order each dish separately too. The atmosphere was warm with candlelight and the soft jazz in the background was great! I will be going back and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for something special.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Viohna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    31
    13
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Traditional Swedish Foods”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great service with excellent traditional Swedish foods. The decor is awesome, and you know its good when its fully of locals on a rainy sunday evening. Highly recommend this place if you want to try traditional Swedish cuisine.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Truongr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, CA
Level Contributor
173 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Lovely SoFo Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I had a very nice dinner A this Skanegatan restaurant that has been open for about 6 months.The restaurant is cozy and warm with pleasant jazz vocals playing in the background. Our waitress, Christina from Victoria, Australia, could not have been warmer and more personable and attentive. The food was excellent, as well, and this place will now rival the Urban Deli as one of our favorite SoFo eating spots. I had a delicious wild onion soup with roe and garlic, followed by a tasty homemade sill platter with boiled potatoes and then piggvar, a local turbot, topped with grated horseradish and surrounded by smoked razor (shrimp). My wife had a great lamb dish and a warm beet with cheese appetizer before. The meal was outstanding and it was matched by the ambience and service. Our wine, a French Grenache/Syrah blend, was perfect, as well. We will definitely be coming back here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ankiandlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

My daughter and I stumbled across Oxelblom while out walking. The waitress was very friendly and helpful as the menu was only in Swedish. I had chicken, which was moist and flavorful while my daughter had a large tasty hamburger with spiced fries and two dipping sauces. A nice heirloom tomato salad came with my meal which was wonderful. The price was very good for Stockholm at 353 SEK. The decor was cute and cozy. Centrally located close to Gamla Stan. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LMFMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
630 reviews
391 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“F a n t a s t i c !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Oxelblom is quite new. Friends took me there when i was on a visit to Stockholm and I was not disappointed. No way. Its a livingroom meets library meets someone with a sewing machine. Food is swedish. Half plates - so order many plates. At least 3 if you are hungry.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxelblom also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing