We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tourist Bus”

Stockholm Red Buses - Hop On Hop Off
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.69*
and up
Stockholm Red Bus 24h Hop-On Hop-Off Ticket
Ranked #41 of 84 Tours in Stockholm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the beautiful city of Stockholm with Red Sightseeing. We offer Hop-on Hop-off sightseeing with buses and boats around the city. We also have a longer boat tour "The Royal Bridges and Canal Tour" that takes you through the city of Stockholm and around the Royal Island of Djurgarden.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tourist Bus”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Overall the bus was really good. We felt like we saw most of Stockholm within the tour. However we were a hit disappointed with the amount of information given to us through the headphones. We thought at one point the headphones had broken.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Buses M, Manager at Stockholm Red Buses - Hop On Hop Off, responded to this review, February 8, 2016
Dear Kartina

Thank you for your great review of our Hop On Hop Off bus tour and apologies for the late reply to your review. We are happy to hear you found that the tour gave you a comprehensive overview of Stockholm. Regarding the audio guide, we are currently in the process of digitalising the guide and expand on it, so thank you for your feedback!

Yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    67
    55
    75
    132
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't Bother! Public transport is more reliable”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Don't use this company! We bought tickets so that we could get an idea of the layout of the city and distances as my husband had torn a ligament in his knee so didn't want to strain his leg too much. After buying the tickets from the tourist information booth in the shopping centre we then stood at a bus stop for an hour waiting for the bus to arrive! We saw many of the other companies buses go by. I even went back and checked at the tourist info office and was assured one was five minutes away. We eventually walked to our destination and consequently missed the changing of guard.

What we hadn't been told was that as the triathlon was on, the route had been changed drastically. There really was no point us buying the tickets.

We then unwittingly stood at a stop that the buses weren't using that day.

We went to the Tourist Information booth and asked for a refund as we hadn't seen any buses run by the RedBus company - we'd seen plenty of the others. I have never spoken to such a rude person in the customer services sector EVER! They had obviously had had many complaints that day and so she was frustrated but rather than accept there was an issue and offer a refund/ any sort of compensation she argued the fact that all was running well and that we were lying. As we were complaining another couple arrived to do the same so there was obviously an issue.

I appreciate that the triathlon is not going to be on every weekend but what was frustrating was that we were not warned when we bought the tickets and as a result we were late for getting to the Palace and when we eventually found a bus to get on, we were then on it for two hours before it went to the other side of the city to the Vasa Museum. We could indeed have walked but we hadn't realised how close it was. We wasted a lot of time waiting for buses/ walking to bus stops/ sat on the bus! And when we did complain we were effectively told we were liars. We were promised a refund and we should go to a particular bus stop to meet a rep but when we got there, there was no one there....we'd lost the will to carry on by this point.

I'd say get a public transport ticket and get the bus/ tram at least you get the service you are promised. Oh and because the route was changed there was no commentary - waste of time and money!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Helholidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Buses M, Manager at Stockholm Red Buses - Hop On Hop Off, responded to this review, February 22, 2016
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your feedback on our Hop On Hop Off bus tour and apologies for the delay in response to your review. We apologize for the issues you experienced with our frequency. Since your visit, we have adjusted our route thoroughly as well as expanded our fleet to ensure these delays stay at an absolute minimum, so thank you for your feedback!

Yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Absolute waste of time”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We paid $40 dollars and waited 40 minutes for this bus that we could have walked the distance in 20 minutes!!!
Dont waste your time or money on any of the hop on /off buses in Stockholm it is a small city and easily walked!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JJDNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Buses M, Manager at Stockholm Red Buses - Hop On Hop Off, responded to this review, February 12, 2016
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your feedback on our Hop On Hop Off bus tour and apologies for the delay in response to your review. We apologize for the delay you experienced and since your visit we have expanded our fleet to keep these potential delays to an absolute minimum, so thank you for your feedback!

Yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't bother with this one!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We travelled on this service twice yesterday (23rd Aug 2013). The bus was very crowded and the first bus driver was very rude to passengers, at one stage yelling at a lady to get out of the way for a wheelchair entry - she did not see the wheelchair trying to get on. Many of the passengers were disgusted with his behaviour. We completed the circuit back to stop 1 and most of the time the bus was packed - not exactly the sight seeing experience we had expected. The second trip was even more crowded and uncomfortable. We waited at stop 14 for over an hour and no bus came so we walked back to our city hotel. The brochure states that the service runs until 6pm, well we waited from 5-6pm and the bus did not turn up. Overall a waste of money. Try another service but not this one.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lormic1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Buses M, Manager at Stockholm Red Buses - Hop On Hop Off, responded to this review, February 12, 2016
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your feedback on our Hop On Hop Off bus tour and apologies for the delay in our response to your review. We apologize for the issues you encountered with our frequency and capacity. Since your visit, we have invested heavily in expanding our fleet to ensure these delays are kept to an absolute minimum, so thank you for your feedback!

Yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Under no circumstances use that company”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We are sitting at one bus stop already for over an hour and no bus arrived. In the meantime the green one came by and the other red one (CitySightseeing) twice. They advertise every 20 minutes which is totally a lie. As almost all other reviews say: Absolutely unreliable. Avoid it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Dog1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Buses M, Manager at Stockholm Red Buses - Hop On Hop Off, responded to this review, February 12, 2016
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your feedback on our Hop On Hop Off bus tour and apologies for the delay in response to your review. Since your visit, we have expanded our fleet and adjusted our route to ensure the delays that you experienced are kept to an absolute minimum, so thank you for your feedback!

Yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stockholm Red Buses - Hop On Hop Off also viewed

 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Stockholm Red Buses - Hop On Hop Off? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing