We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient way to get around town”

Stockholm Red Buses - Hop On Hop Off
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.10*
and up
Stockholm Red Bus 24h Hop-On Hop-Off Ticket
Ranked #62 of 100 Tours in Stockholm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the beautiful city of Stockholm with Red Buses. We offer Hop-on Hop-off sightseeing with buses and boats around the city. We also have the boat tour "The Royal Bridges and Canal Tour" that takes you through the city of Stockholm and around the Royal Island of Djurgarden.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was very convenient way to get from the cruise ship terminal to all the points of interest. The headsets for the audio guide were informative and provided a very basic overview. Be sure to ask about where to meet the buses.

Thank rsf4sail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Buses M, Manager at Stockholm Red Buses - Hop On Hop Off, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2016

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you very much for your great review of our Hop On Hop Off bus tour and apologies for the late response to your review. We are happy to hear our tour's route was convenient for you and you found the audio guide informative.

Yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 391 of 588 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a terrible experience today in Stockholm with the Stockholm Red Buses. It was a cold, windy day and we waited at stop 21 for 55 minutes before a bus arrived. The company advertises that a bus will come every 20 minutes but this was not true. Their two competitors each came by twice while my wife and I waited in vain. Our recommendation is to take the Green Hop On-Hop Off bus or the other red bus company. The staff on the bus was not interested in hearing our complaint and blamed "traffic" for the delay. They were more interested in further delaying the trip by standing around talking to each other instead of keeping to the schedule.

2  Thank BJHall01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Buses M, Manager at Stockholm Red Buses - Hop On Hop Off, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2016

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your feedback on our Hop On Hop Off bus tour and apologies for the delay in response to your review. Since your visit, we have expanded our fleet and adjusting our route to ensure the possible delays are kept to an absolute minimum, so thank you for your feedback!

Yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

It was easy to find the buses and they did provide audio guides in several different languages. There are two different Hop on bus tours and the other one did seem to be more frequent. The buses did however get you to the far attractions like the Vasa.

Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Buses M, Manager at Stockholm Red Buses - Hop On Hop Off, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2016

Dear Michelle

Thank you for your review of our Hop On Hop Off bus tour. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the audio guide and our buses were easy to find! Since your visit, we have adjusted our route slightly and expanded our fleet to ensure a better frequency, so thank you for your feedback!

Yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

There are 3 companies offering hop on hop off services. We chose the redbus for its free wifi. We also took the combined boat tour so the price was the same as the other red tourist bus operator - don't know the price for green. Redbus also offered more stops although, in hindsight, this probably didn't make any difference.

I would advise you not to bother doing the combined boat tour. We hadn't realised that it was essentially just crossing the water to several of the stops that the bus went to and although pleasant really wasn't worth doing. It would possibly have been better to look for a separate sightseeing boat trip (loads to choose from) that went somewhere else.

The busses seemed to get very packed early on with lots of visitors from cruise ships (not sure this happens every day) but lots get off at Gamla Stan (old town) and also the Royal Palace so they are good places to board. We got on at stop number 1 - Central Station and had to stand until the Royal Palace. The other firm's busses didn't seem as busy.

The crowding also seemed to ease off later in the day.

Like most things in Stockholm they aren't particularly cheap - 260 Kronar - about £26 and the combined boat trip 350 Kronar so two tickets are going to set you back around £50 to £70.

On the plus side, the tickets are valid for 24 hours and that, effectively, means you can use them for two days so bets value is to buy the ticket for the first bus around 10 o'clock and get two days use. Last bus is around 6pm.

1  Thank RayCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Buses M, Manager at Stockholm Red Buses - Hop On Hop Off, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2016

Dear Ray

Thank you for your great review of our Hop On Hop Off bus tour and apologies for the late response to your review. We are happy to hear you were able to use our ticket for the whole duration and we hope you enjoyed the sights in Stockholm!

Yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We bought our ticket at the Central Station, which is what I recommend as you can get great combo deals, then went out to get on the HOHO. There are guys/gals outside selling tickets to people as well, but without deals. A lady overheard us discussing our combo trip and asked where we obtained it from. She then went to the guys at the stop selling tickets who immediately got offended that we had a cheaper ticket that included a museum tour (Vasa). They stated, "well, I hope you get in, but that's not a ticket we sell..." Regardless, we got in and knew our ticket was good, as we received printed receipts w/ scan bars and purchase dates.

Also, the HOHO tour stops at 6 pm, and by 6 pm, they mean...regardless of what point you are at in your trip, they are off duty at 6. During one trip, the driver did not even attend the last 3 stops as her time was up. We asked how many buses they had, as we only ever seemed to see 2 and waited at least 40 minutes every time (they advertise 20 minute waits) and were told 6 in total. Meanwhile, many other companies seemed to be running frequently and w/ more buses.

The only positive was the one female, Parlina (spelling?) bus driver who was very social and thoughtful. She took the time to speak to all her guests and helped out others w/ directions and miscellaneous issues.

2  Thank MICHELLE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Buses M, Manager at Stockholm Red Buses - Hop On Hop Off, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2016

Dear Michelle

Thank you for your feedback on our Hop On Hop Off bus tour and apologies for the delay in response to your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed Pernilla's instructions and directions and have forwarded your compliments to her. We are unsure what you meant with a Hop On Hop Off combination ticket with Vasa Museum as we have never offered a ticket like this. We apologies with the issues you encountered with our frequency, and since your visit we have expanded our fleet to ensure frequency-problems stay at a minimum, so thank you for your feedback!

Yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stockholm Red Buses - Hop On Hop Off also viewed

 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Stockholm Red Buses - Hop On Hop Off? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing