We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss lunch here if youre in the old town”
Review of Cafe Schweizer

Cafe Schweizer
Ranked #24 of 3,046 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Swedish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't miss lunch here if youre in the old town”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great little place in the old town just round the corner from the palace. Its sumptuous, well presented food served with a smile. The moussaka and the lasagne are both to die for. Beware, the portions are quite large.

The weather was great and the few tables outside were full so I reluctantly agreed to sit inside but quickly warmed to the lively interiors. You'll like this place for sure! :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1mjanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    117
    14
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Don't walk by”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited last year and thought about trying this place but it looks drab and uninviting (in my opinion). This year we looked again and were very pleased we stopped, although the bill was high for two teas, two strudels, a cream cake and and two coffees about £35. That said the quality was great, the service very good and we will definitely be re visiting next time we come.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe!!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I had the spinach feta quiche and my friend had the chicken focaccia sandwich. We didn't expect the amount of food served with our main entrees. They came with a salad, fruit, and a big piece of crusty bread. One of the best cafe lunches I've ever had. Well worth a visit!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brindle214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic and friendly”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Many will walk past the charming Cafe in the old town - don't!

The Staff and very welcoming - seem to speak every language going - and the coffee and pastries are excellent.

Stockholm is expensive - bizarrely for the little things like lunch and coffee - but not for dinner!

So pick somewhere where they care about you and their goods - loved this place - well done!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cliff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location and expensive”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

The cafe is in a good location close to the castle in the old town. Thats probably the reason for the high prices. Otherwise, the coffee and the cakes have been fine. We also liked the cozy Interieur with writings all over the walls.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rolbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Schweizer also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Cafe Schweizer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing