We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny Place with Atmosphere”
Review of Chez Betty

Chez Betty
Ranked #819 of 3,044 Restaurants in Stockholm
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Vasastan
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
172 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Tiny Place with Atmosphere”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This place has excellent food but the portions are TINY! You can see where they cook the food-in a open fireplace! We had beignets of cheese, vary good and small artichokes to start with. A Fish Cassoulet with scallops for main was also good but served without bread,rice or potatoes=still hungry. Dessert were either cheese or lemon tart so we had some more wine. The wine list is small and quite expensive but we had a good Alasce and the red was nice as well. The following day when we checked the bill (which one real should ALWAYS do!) the had overcharged us 150skr for the red wine. In any case, I would be happy to go back on a night without specific seating time since one is almost kicked out the second it is up!
Please note that reservations is a must.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sacw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trysil
Level Contributor
188 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Wonderful french cusine in rustique environment.”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Friends from Stockholm took us here after beeing here earlier. Great atmosphere and friendly waiters. The presentation don by the waiter of the apetizer makes You want have evereything on the menu. Gnochi and cheevre was stunning!!! Only seven wines but good choises to friendly prices. If You are in Stockholm do not miss Chez Betty.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TrysilKnutsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Out of the way, good food”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

You definitely have to want to come here, you'll not find it anywhere tourists are. The one room is small with 6+ tables depending on how many parties of 2 there are. The atmosphere is rustic. The menu changes daily depending on availability of ingredients. On weekends here are 2 seatings, 17.30 and 20.00. The menu is posted on 2 chalk boards on either side of the room. The night we were there, there were 5 appetizers, 4 main dishes and 2 desserts. The wine offerings are limited and pricey. ($100 Cab for example). Our party had the air dried spanish ham (very good), a warm artichoke heart dish and deep fried goat cheese salad. All were very good. The bread was fresh with a nice crust and served with French butter. We had Osso Buco with gnocchi and Rump Steak served on ratatouille. Both dishes were very tasty. Portions were good. The wait staff were enthusiastic. Total bill for 4 with wine but no dessert was $100/person. It was a nice dining experience, Im not sure whether worth the price.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JDL48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Below average”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were very much looking forward to eating here as some friends have recommended it. We love french food and coming from Quebec, I often yearn for good French food. We were left disappointed and wanting.
The food was EXTREMELY over-priced for what they were offering. We paid 1500 kronor (about 250$) for 2 very small starters, 2 main dishes and 4 SMALL glasses of wine and 3 cups of coffee. Oh yeah, and some extra bread. They charged us 35 kronor (6$) for extra bread.
And that's not the bad news. The bad news is, the food was not very good. My husband and my stepson ordered fried fish. It tasted like any run-of-the-mill fish'n chips place..not worth the 280 kronor price tag (roughly 47$). I ordered 2 starters. One was a tiny dish with two (literally) anchovies, and 3 slices of red peppers. All for 125 kronor (20$). I think these people have no clue what to charge...
I am looking for a great French place in Stockholm...I am open to your suggestions!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank stockholmharriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely evening - abrupt ending”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We booked a very early table, at the bar. Friendly welcome, great ambiance, cosy place, lovely food! Were worried about draft from the entrance door - but no problem: the huge oven kept the whole place warm! Delicious food cooked with attention and love, worth every penny. But the wine by glass is overpriced!
However, after about two hours, we got the feeling that the staff wanted us to make place for new guests, repeatedly asking if we wanted a dessert, or coffee. When we stuck to our wine, suddenly the bill was presented - without us having asked for it! An unexpected and sad finish to a great evening, leaving a negative shadow over a great night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ninen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Betty also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Chez Betty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing