We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service - bit fusion”
Review of Polpette

Polpette
Reserve with
Polpette is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #340 of 3,056 Restaurants in Stockholm
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Norrmalm
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Friendly service - bit fusion”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Enjoyed this experience - the waiter greeted us with some phrases of Italian, my husband is fluent so he responded only to find that the waiter had a very small vocab! It was very funny and we all saw the amusing side and it made the atmosphere quite friendly.
The food was quite good, my steak was lovely but certainly the creamed potatoes with lots of cream was not Italian. My husband had Swedish meatball which look and tasted fantastic. The deserts were very generous

Price wasn't bad - for Sweden 2 courses each and a cocktail for me and a beer for my husband came to £75, but Sweden is expensive . I'd definitely go again on my next visit - enjoyed the double bluff banter !!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E3388travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    161
    93
    20
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Randomly found, glad we did...”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This strangely advertised "Swedish/Italian" restaurant actually serves very good, of not dramatically exciting, meals. The menu contains the usual Swedish and Italian mainstream dishes, as well as some listed as "fusion", but don't let that put you off.

Well located and with a friendly welcome, it's a good place for tasty food and suitable for all types, including families.

The meatballs were delicious and large (thank goodness we only had four each) and miles away from the dreaded IKEA version.

Will revisit when back in Stockholm

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bearclyff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a lovely lunch here”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We went into this restaurant as we passed it on our walk from old town to the city centre. It looked inviting and the menu was good containing a mix of swedish and italian foods. The meal was wonderful and it was a good place to sit outside and watch the world go by. Also well priced.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank holidaykim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Walk in success”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were just walking past this restaurant and were a little bemused by the Swedish Italian admix. However, we returned later that day and had a most enjoyable dinner with excellent service. Everything in Stockholm seemed expensive, so thought this was good value and a friendly, attractive option.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petmar035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
368 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 506 helpful votes
“Good Place for Swedish Meatballs”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We read Polpette's menu as we walked along the main pedestrian street Drottningatan on our way to cross the bridge into Old Town. Since our Scandinavian bucket list included eating Swedish meatballs while on vacation, we decided Polpettes would be the perfect place to dine later on our way back to the hotel.

We lucked out and were immediately seated on their patio area at a street-side table great for people watching. A waiter brought over two menus and soon came back for our drink orders. We both decided to try their Swedish meat ball entrée. Four huge handmade meatballs were served with 3 large dollops of mashed potatoes, topped with a creamy brown gravy and a side of lingonberries. The meatballs were firm yet moist and tender. We both decided it was the best meal we'd had so far on vacation. A couple at a table next to us had ordered the pasta carbonara and the pasta arrabiata. Wondering how Polpettes Italian entrees were, we inquired. They said their sauces were flavorful and the pasta was cooked al dente. If we'd had one more day in Stockholm, I would have came back to also try their pasta.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OTR_Again_IM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polpette also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Polpette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing