We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant resting place for coffee and a snack”
Review of Espresso House

Espresso House
Ranked #1 of 51 Coffee & Tea in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A pleasant resting place for coffee and a snack”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Excellent coffee, very good service and some delightful snacks including local sandwiches. Muffins that would sink a ship.

A great place to watch the word go by either outside or inside.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank StevieHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    108
    34
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Near Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“More than your average coffee shop”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Espresso House is your typical small city centre coffee shop with reasonably (for where it is) priced coffee and snacks. The staff are friendly, helpful, and happy to let a weary traveller unwind using their free wifi without glaring and demanding you buy something else. It does though lack space and the tables are cleared rather infrequently but that's the same in most of these types of outlet.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Nesster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious Drinks and a Warm Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

After a long day in Stockholm City, my Fiance and I needed a place to go where we could enjoy a small treat and veg out. What initially drew us in was definitely the great atmosphere of the place. It was certainly warm and inviting. Lots of places to sit, whether in large groups, small groups, or alone. There were people of all kinds- students, locals, tourists, lovers, friends... And everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves, and their Espresso House menu item.

We decided on a couple of ice blended drinks. Being from the States, this place had big shoes to fill. I am a huge fan of Starbucks and its very rare that any place would compare to the coffee I am used to enjoying daily. I ordered a ice blended caramel frappe-like drink, while my Fiance ordered the same, but Mocha flavored. The staff was friendly, and quick to prepare our order. Prices were decent given the size and location we were in. Our drinks looked delicious!

We grabbed our order and decided to head up to the second story of the Espresso House. Large windows frame the entire place, giving you a great view of the city no matter where you choose to sit The upstairs had several areas to sit. Large, comfy couches, benches, chairs, tables, etc. We settled in on a large couch in the middle of floor. There was definitely something about sitting there, listening to the relaxing music with the light chatter of those around us, watching the city lights and sipping on a lovely beverage, that made that moment in life feel pretty amazing.

Overall, the drink was good. More on the dessert side than the coffee side, but a treat nonetheless. I'd rate the drink a 4 out of 5, while I give the place a 5 out of 5 for location, staff friendliness, cleanliness, and overall atmosphere. We sat there for hourssssss and quite frankly, I would have been more than happy to stay a couple more. Definitely a great place to visit when in Stockholm!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SyriaGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larnaca, cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great caramel latte's”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Went to the espresso house a few times during our trip to Sweden. They made amazing caramel lattes and bagels. I had the cream cheese bagel and my partner had the chicken hickory bagel, just what we needed for our breakfast, we didn't need anything lunch as it was really filling.You are able to find espresso house all over Stockholm and they are really popular. Service was good and staff were all fluent in English.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wasn't what I expected it to be like -”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I visited Espresso House alone - making a simple order of a vanilla latte and a cream cheese bagel.

Unfortunately my food and drink wasn't up to a good standard, as the coffee was lukewarm and my cream chese bagel was half filled.

I'll probably never revisit this place and I certainly wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

(P.S. I visited Espresso House on Vasagatan, but they don't appear to have a page on trip advisor)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lelie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espresso House also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Espresso House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing