We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning.”

Opera House (Operan)
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.75*
and up
Stockholm Grand Tour by Coach and Boat
Ranked #35 of 303 things to do in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Stunning.”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

A stunningly beautiful building, inside and outside. The ornate decoration was a joy to behold. Was allowed to look inside without actually having to see an opera.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sebbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    118
    20
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Opera”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I love the royal opera house in Stockholm. It takes you back in time & gives you a bit of luxury. I visit the opera abot 4 times a year. I love the atmosphere & it's nice to dress up for the occation.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrsKesseli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Opera tour - interesting view behind the scenes”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The tour can be booked via the box office (we did so only an hour before the tour started, but in busier times it might be better to buy the tickets a day in advance). I can't recall what it cost, but it wasn't much I think. It lasts about an hour and shows you the extra ball rooms, the royal back entrance, the area behind the stage and the balcony area. While we were there a play was rehearsed, so we could not go on stage. But this didn't matter as the tour guide (who spoke an excellent English!) was very entertaining and knowledgeable and told us a lot about the history and organizational issues of running an opera. Personally, I found the information about costume and wig makers, and the people needed to create the stage design, the most interesting.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank spusella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We saw Tosca- i loved the building and the atmosphere- Scarpia by Johan Edholm- one of the best I have ever heard- love to come back

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank travnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, WV
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great opera house, fine production”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We saw Die Fledermaus and had a great time. The singing, staging and orchestra were outstanding. The pit is almost entirely exposed, which I loved, since I could watch the musicians as well as the stage. It is a small house, with but 13 rows in the stalls. We sat stage left, first row, in the 2nd of the 3 tiers, for a price that would barely get you into Fenway Park. This was a bit of an issue, since one had to bend forward to see most of the stage, and that can affect the viewing of others nearby. So finding seats more toward the center would be a good idea.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank roundmidnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opera House (Operan) also viewed

 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Opera House (Operan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing