We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but stressful”
Review of EAT

EAT
Ranked #852 of 3,046 Restaurants in Stockholm
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Norrmalm
Description: New restaurant in Stockholm. Very trendy, very popular.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food but stressful”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Booked the table in good time. Already here a disappointment = max 2 hours at the table. I hate having a time limit especially when it's a nice restaurant with expensive food. We got the menues and our table after a while - table not ready though we booked 2 days ahead. Waited 30 minutes to order though it was not fully booked. After ordering a menue - the big duck menu - the waiters were suddenly in a hurry delivering the dishes at lightning speed although we asked them to slow down. Finally when our table was squashed with 4 different dishes our waiter understood and asked us to say when we wanted the next dish. The food was overall very good. I'd have liked to give a 4 but it's not OK having to rush through a meny in view of the price. One plus: When we didn't like the recommended wine we received new glasses and a new wine within minutes without any comments.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Svisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    49
    41
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
143 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great food in a stylish setting”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Having travelled in Asia, we most often get disappointed when eating chinese our thai food in Scandinavia - off course with some exceptions. This was our first time eating at Eat and eat was absolutely an experience much better than the average.

The interior is "stylish" and "warm" but do not give an asian feeling - but is inviting. The service went fast - we came here at late lunchtime in the middle off July, so it was quiet. Very good when coming with two very hungry boys...

The food was a really positive experience with very nice asian flavors. Very tasty and with nice fresh vegetables. Their choice of combinations of vegetables and herbs was very good.

Considering the big portions and the quality of food we thought we got value for money compared to other restaurants in the area - though it was not cheap.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Familyon2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I love the Dim Sum concept and very much looked forward to my first visit to EAT. Unfortunately, first and last time I go there. The only thing that was absolutely wonderful was the mushroom soup that was part of one of our menu sets. One of the best soups I've had in a long time. The rest of the food was unfortunately tasteless, poor quality and far from how certain dishes should be cooked and served.
One of the nice thing with a dimsum buffé is to get a few dishes in at the same time to share. Here, one dish came out first. Then another in 10-15 minutes. Then another. This meant that the rice came out about half an hour after the dishes that go with the rice. The coffee came in 15 minutes before the dessert...

This could have been a great restaurant and could still be if the owners change a couple of things, starting with the tables that are way too small for a concept like this. Go through each and every dish and adjust the flavours and make sure that the staff don´t send out dishes one-by-one with far too many minutes in between. EAT cooks and presents the food in a far too western way for this to be called a dim sum restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“I hate to tell you but, its the same problem as with BAR-LUX- EAT.”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I have no problem with visiting this groups restaurants, but its seams like the soul is somewhat missing and its alsp no fun when you eat lunch and it takes 40 minutes to get your food, and when it finally arrives, it's too little, too expensive, BUT GOOD: and with out any hint of sorry that it took them half a day to take the food from the kitchen to your table, a table which is to small for their serving principles. You cant fit all that plates and sauce stuff, and a hot pan? and water and more sauce and pins, and cottlery,,

it tasted ok tough, but had to go somewhere else for desert,

restaurants are not about gettin people in, feed them fast and get them out of there.
RESTAURANTS ARE ABOUT LOVE.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicklas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
539 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Eastern chunks”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This restaurant in Stockholm's newest shopping mall has a blend of eastern and western cuisines. It's popular at lunch time when we visited. The environment is typically busy city, i.e. noisy and crowded. You can sit at a number of places, outside on a terrace (with a roof) is probably nicest in summer. We chose the bar. Service was friendly and rather quick.
So far so good. Now to what I didn't like. Our beef wok with rice on the bottom was served in one big bowl. This is ok if the pieces are of a manageable size. They were not. There were two very big pieces of meat that you had to put on a separate plate to cut into smaller pieces with the knife and fork that you had to fetch for this purpose. It tasted all right though. Price is fairly high but this is to be expected in this part of town (120 sek). This includes a small salad, even smaller pieces of bread and coffee.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ugurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EAT also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to EAT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing