We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option in Stockholm”
Review of Parlan Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parlan Hotell
Ranked #115 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This is not a luxury or full-service hotel but it deserves proper consideration. Parlan has a great location in an upscale and central part of Ostermalm. The building is elegant, with a courtyard, balcony and large sitting room. Laundry facilities are available. The room was very clean. Breakfast was very generous. FYI, there is no staff on duty in the afternoons so it's almost like having your own apartment. For the price, this is a good option in Stockholm. The bed could be more comfortable and there is no A/C but Gustav will do whatever he can to make your time in Stockholm pleasant. I will probably be back.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
1  Thank shnook72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 85 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

Small hotel, with only nine rooms (all with shower).
The hotel was a girls school in the 1800's and this just makes it even cozier. Incredibly nice and helpful staff and a nice breakfast.

The hotel is located in a quiet street in the area of Östermalm, a fashionable district with exclusive shops and plenty of restaurants.

We will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anra41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed at Parlan for 3 nights, and we can recommend it. Obviously it is quite expensive and at the same time simple, but in Stockholm you cannot expect more. It is very central, we could walk everywhere. The bathroom was tiny, but quite new and clean. The room wasn't too small with some extra sofas etc. The breakfast was very nice. Also the place has a homey touch, which we liked a lot, and the staff was very friendly.
We had a room looking out on the road, but the hotel is on the second floor, so no people peeking inside. Also the room was right next to the breakfast room - nevertheless we were not bothered at all from noise from the street or the breakfast room. To be on the safe side though you might want to require a room facing the yard.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malaika1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

gustov the owner always had a smile he was pleasant and helpful the rooms clean and tidy continental breakfast was adequate good value for money as our flight was 2 hours late he arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the airport the taxi driver was supposed to give us the code to gain entrance having been given these details by gustov when booking the taxi .he let the hotel down .but was more than made up for by the hotel and the wonderful city we would not hesitate to recomend this hotel and would stay there again if we visit stockholm again

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mk773529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

A comfortable and well maintained hotel right in the centre of Stockholm and yet in a very quiet location. It has a distinct feeling of home away from home. The breaksfast options are excellent. Gustav, the owner (or manager), is very helpful and accommodating.

A couple of clues though:
1. If taking a taxi to the hotel, print out the address and give it to the taxi driver as the hotel is not well known.
2. Don't look for a big sigh, it's just a boutique hotel located on the 4th floor of a building.
3. Don't forget to ask for the access code to the building, which is also the access code to the hotel.
4. If flying out, ask Gustav to organise a taxi for you, especially if you are with a partner. You might end up paying less than getting to the airport by train.

So, overall impression is that it's really a good value for you money!

The hotel is just 5-10 minutes walk from all major Stockholm attractions and shopping. For those who find getting a decent and not overly expensive meal in Stockholm a challenge, can recommend a Thai restaurant/takeaway just across the street.

Wouldn't hesitate recommending it to anyone coming to Stockholm for a sightseeing or business trip.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asiljr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

I stayed at the Parlan Hotel for one night prior to joining a cruise ship in Stockholm. The owner, Gustav, was charming and helpful. I had flown overnight from Sydney with my elderly mother, who was very tired and in need of a rest. We arrived at the Parlan at 7 am. The hotel had been fully booked on the previous evening, but Gustav was most accommodating, arranging for our room to be cleaned as soon as possible, and offering us tea and coffee while we waited in the well appointed guest lounge room.
Our room was light and bright, spotlessly clean, and with comfortable beds. Although the room faced onto the street, it was very quiet. Breakfast in the lovely dining room was excellent.
The location was terrific – just two short blocks down to Strandvägen (Swedish for "Beach Road"), the beautiful waterfront boulevard on Östermalm, with plenty of bus and tram connections all over the city, as well as access to the HOHO boats.
Gustav was helpful with restaurant recommendations, organised a taxi for our departure, and assisted with our heavy luggage.
Just one very small gripe – the bath towels were very small and quite old.
Stockholm is not a cheap city. The Parlan is excellent value for money, and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glynis031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Lovely place, more like a large B&B than a hotel. Attention to detail by the owner, very clean and spacious rooms, fantastic breakfasts and very helpful owner and manager who went above and beyond for my husband and I.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spiffmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Ostermalm
Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western Hotel Esplanade
Ostermalm
ProfilHotels Hotel Riddargatan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City
Ostermalm
Scandic Anglais
Scandic Anglais
#77 of 154 in Stockholm
1,122 reviews
Ostermalm
Scandic Park
Scandic Park
#72 of 154 in Stockholm
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parlan Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parlan Hotell

Address: 27 Skeppargatan, Stockholm 114 52, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: $156 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parlan Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Parlan Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parlan Hotell Stockholm
Parlan Hotell Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing