We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable central hotel”
Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rex Hotel
Ranked #57 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Reasonable central hotel”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

The building is quite beautiful with large stone steps circling up to the 3 floors of this hotel. The rooms have an understated quality and I love the wooden floor. Unfortunately the double bed I booked (and paid extra for) turns out to be a twin and my colleague had the same experience.
The room is quite small and includes a mini wardrobe and desk. There is no fridge or kettle, but fortunately there is a coop and 7-eleven around the corner so easy enough to get some water or other drinks. Worst about the small room is the mini bathroom with shower, loo and tiny sink. Haven't had such a small one since staying in central Paris.
Finally breakfast was nice with lovely warm bread, boiled eggs and a range of other items. It's all a continental breakfast though, there are no cooked breakfast items apart from the boiled eggs. And the coffee is a pot of filter coffee on a hot plate with a jug of milk. It's nice, but modest.

All in all I had a nice stay, but I would probably look around for alternatives next time in light of the cost.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Micbiel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    302
    89
    30
    11
See reviews for
65
267
63
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed at the Rex Hotel for three nights as part of a weekend break in Stockholm. Yes, the rooms are not large (but no rooms in Stockholm are) but the room was well furnished, and was very comfortable.

The breakfasts were varied, and we liked the good quality free wifi and complimentary coffee in reception.

We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazc459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Ägare at Rex Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for taking time and share your reflections of your stay.
I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our services.

We looking forward for your return on your next visit in Stockholm

Kind regards,
Per Hellsten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The rooms are very nice, spacious and comfortable with a good bed and a complete bathroom. The breakfast buffet is well assorted and fresh. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The hotel is situated in a quiet street. The old town and centre are within walking distance, about 15 min.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank stel888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Ägare at Rex Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for taking time and sharing your kind words.

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to us as a guest in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Per Hellsten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

you pick the right hotel if you're thinking about Rex Hotel. The hotel is right in the downtown area, and you only need to take several train stops. The Receptionist are very friendly and helpful. We visited in the winter, hence we love the complimentary hot beverages at the lobby. Breakfast is quite simple, a few coldcuts, bread and cereal. The room is a bit small, but oh well...can't complain if you pay a decent price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nregina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Great hotel and ideally located for exploring Stockholm. Perfectly heated for a winter visit. Rooms were quite small with not much storage for "holiday" sized baggage but otherwise spot on. Would stay again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013becca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located a 2 minute walk away from Rådmansgatan underground station, from which you can easily and quickly travel to central Stockholm and to Gamla Stan (Old Town). The accommodation itself is comfortable yet compact. Although there are no facilities to make hot drinks in the rooms there is free unlimited coffee available from reception. Breakfasts here, which were Continental in style, were also good. The reception staff here were friendly and helpful, allowing us to leave our bags free of charge on our first and last days. If you're looking for a good value Stockholm base then this one is for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thenewwales94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Great location near subway...can be in central Stockholm in less than 6 minutes. Price is very reasonable for Stockholm but rooms are on the smaller side. Will definitely stay here on my next trip to Stockholm.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Hotel Hellsten
Hotel Hellsten
#49 of 154 in Stockholm
996 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#38 of 154 in Stockholm
362 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Tegnerlunden
Hotel Tegnerlunden
#41 of 154 in Stockholm
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#26 of 154 in Stockholm
585 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Birger Jarl
Hotel Birger Jarl
#51 of 154 in Stockholm
1,541 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 154 in Stockholm
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Property: Rex Hotel
Address: 73 Luntmakargatan, Stockholm 113 51, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rex Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing