We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel for a break in Stockholm”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rex Hotel
Ranked #53 of 157 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little hotel for a break in Stockholm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were welcomed with a smile at the Rex Hotel and given our room card. Upon seeing the lift, which is very similiar to a supply lift, with manual doors and the walls on show as you travel up, my husband chose to take the stairs.

We then proceeded to ask for a room with a double bed as the one we were given had two singles pushed together. They said of course, but that they had given us that particular room as it was large and we were staying for six days, so the thought had been there, which was nice.

The next room had a double bed but was very tiny, and still only had single sheets which was very odd, but we stuck with it. Also as it was on the top floor, the stairs became a bit of an issue for my husband! Other problems included broken glass in one of the windows where the inner glazed layer had been removed and the shower door didn't keep the water in (it was wet room style) and the water went everywhere.

The breakfast was good, and made our stay really good value, as it was included. Although it would have been nice to see a little variety each day rather than the same at each breakfast. Unfortunately there was no fruit which was a real shame and the juice was clearly from concentrate and very watered down.

Wi-fi was reliable throughout our stay and I thought it was nice that you could go and have hot drinks in reception.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManUniGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Owner at Rex Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Man UniGrad,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review.

Our rooms are all unique and vary in size as well as in furniture and design. Since the rooms are so different from each other we do wish for our guests to let us know if they are not happy with the room, so that we can change to another one whenever possible. This also happened in your case but unfortunately the second room was not perfect for your needs either.
I am sorry about the water running out from under the shower, we will put new lists in all bathrooms to prevent this from happening again.
Thank you for letting us know about the broken window, we will take action on this as well.

Even though you were not completely satisfied I am happy to hear that overall you had a great stay in Stockholm and with us.
You are welcome back to stay with us at any time, maybe the next time you can try our four-star sister hotel located just across the road, Hotel Hellsten.

Kind regards,
Per Hellsten
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    293
    83
    28
    11
See reviews for
61
259
61
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at Rex Hotel for 5 nights during early October. The hotel is roughly 1.5 km from central station (catch the Arlanda Express - 20 minutes, no stops, straight from the International Airport). It is about 35 minute walk to the Town Hall, Palace Buildings and Gamla Stan (Old Town).

The style of the hotel is 1900's and with good presentation. Tea and coffee facilities are available in the entrance for free (these facilities are not available in your room). There is also no mini bar. The breakfast room is on the ground floor in a observatory type room.

We booked 2 months in advance on-line. We were on the 4th (top) floor. Unfortunately we were on the side of the roof slope.This meant we lost a lot of room to the slope of the roof and us having to bend down to avoid it. We bumped our heads numerous times!! It was a light and airy room with windows that freely opened as well as a little belcony that would have been perfect in summer (although you will need to climb to get up to it!). It was located on a fairly quiet street with a very close Taxi stand and close to a metro stop although the city is very walk friendly.

The rooms were clean and serviced daily. They were a bit stingy with the products. We were there for 5 nights and had to still use our one scrap of soap to the very end.

The front desk were polite but not overly friendly or helpful. Breakfast was very simple - 3 choices of cereal, boiled eggs, cold meats and bread - but it was fine.

Stockholm is a very beautiful but expensive city. Most shops and attractions open late e.g. 10 - 12 pm. Beware of much shortened times on the weekend.

Overall we had a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask to not be on the top floor where the roof slopes down!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateandPaulPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Owner at Rex Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Kate and Paul,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us. Feedback from our guests is very important for us.

Our rooms are all different in style, shape and size. The rooms on the fourth floor are a bit smaller than many others due to the tilted roof. Since our rooms are all unique we do wish for our guests to let us know if for some reason they are not happy with their room, the front desk will do their best to change to another room when possible.
All products should be refilled as soon as they run out, I apologize that in your case this didn’t happened and will remind housekeeping.

I am happy to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed our beautiful city. You are always welcome to stay with us if you will visit Stockholm again.

Kind regards,
Per Hellsten
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larnaka
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile


From Arlanda Airport there are many options for you to get to the city centre and Rex hotel. There is an express train, an airport bus service taxis and you could rent a car. 
We took a taxi to the hotel. When hiring a taxi please be sure to look at the window for the asking price of the taxi and try to take a brand name taxi company. During the summer there are a lot of private taxis which charge you more. It will cost you between €45-€50 for a regular taxi and €70 - €90 for a mini van up to 7 people.
Airport bus will cost you €12 one way and Arlanda express costs €24. You can buy tickets at the airport.
If you are arriving late at the Arlanda Airport then the Arlanda Express which is the fast train (20min) has 3 departures after midnight. 00:05, 00:35, 01:05
With the Arlanda bus there will be more departures. 00:00, 00:15, 00:30, 00:45, 01:15, 01:15, 01:30, 01:45, 02:00,02:30, 03:30, 04:40.
You will arrive to the Central Station/ Bus Station with both Arlanda Express and the busses. 
There you either take the metro 2 stops from the central station or take a taxi. The Hotel is located not far away from the Central Station so the Taxi fee want be that high.
From Central Station take the GREEN LINE direction Hasselby and stop at the  Rådmansgatan stop. It is best to be in the end of the train and take the closest stairs and go to the left when you are exiting the metro station. Left on Sveavägen, first to the right, second left and Hotel Rex will be on the left side.
If you arrive late at the Rex Hotel you could check in at Hellsten Hotel which is a sister hotel to Rex Hotel and it is exactly at the opposite site and has a 24hour reception.
As for the hotel rooms there are medium to small size. There isnt enough space for a lot of suitcases 2 are just ok. There is a small wardrobe and a TV in the room. The sleeping quality is very good. Rooms are cleaned every single day and the towels are changed daily as well. There is a shower in the bathroom which is very clean and well functioned.
Reception is excellent. They are very very helpful and the speak english very well. There is free coffee and tea at the reception 24/7. The girls working at the reception are just fantastic. 
Breakfast is very simple but very well prepared and fresh. It has only the necessary such as eggs ham salami fresh bread marmelade butter crispy crackers (vasa) coffee tea water and juices. There is a small place outside where you could have your bf if you are a smoker as well. Breakfast area is communual with Rex Petit but there is enough space for everyone.
The elevator is small enough for four (4) people. 
The tube is just 100 meters from the hotel but the main advantage of the hotel is that it is in a walking distance from the city centre and Gamla Stan (old city) appx 15-20 min. 
There is a Coop super market very near as well as a Lidl store. There is a bank some restaurants , coffee shops bars and everything else you might need in a walking distance (100-300 meters).
You could bring your food from outside and use the place where the breakfast is served to eat it. You can use forks knives and plates from the hotel. 
There is free wifi at the hotel and the code is in the key-card holder. You can use the hotel's computer in the lobby or Hellsten's hotel computers opposite. 
If you check out very early the next day for example 5  in the morning or earlier you could kindly ask the reception to prepare you breakfast and have it from Hellsten's hotel reception in a bag for take away!!
The only problem that we faced at the hotel is that the sun rises very early in the morning  around 2:30 and it comes in the room. 
We enjoyed our stay at Rex Hotel a lot and we surely reccommend it to anyone that wants a very good hotel at a great price in the centre of Stockholm. 

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giannismaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

I was thrilled to see that Rex received 4 stars when I checked in. I trust tripadvisor for all my decisions when it comes to travel and lodging. But to achieve a 4 I do have some expectations, and I am not sure they reach that mark on everything..

First some good stuff.. Great rooms. They are clean, good quality sheets, well furnished rooms and beautifully designed with deconstructed concrete walls. Very well done. Absolutely a 4 star rating. Quite rooms, even when you are next to the elevator.

But the rooms are small. Smaller than average in my opinion. Prepare to have most left in the bags, because the closet can only hold 4-5 hangers or so. If you travel alone, it is no issues at all. If you travel as a couple, it's too small. Again i only slept in a single room and queen bed room. They may have bigger kings or suites. But this is not a 4 rating in my opinion.

But main problem, is the service in the check-in. Here Rex can do a lot better. The check in seems to be easily overwhelmed. Not meeting all challenges with a "can-do" attitude.

I do not want to hear "It has been a lot, so I have not got to that yet" as a response to me, when I follow up on my previous request to change room. It was not like it was the first time she heard about it. Because I called the hotel in advance to make sure I could switch rooms.

Or "you requested a double twin bed room, I will see if we have anything available, because we are really busy". Again, this was something I specifically requested when I called in advance. So it is not a question IF the lady in the reception feel like doing it. I was promised this by a lovely person i spoke to on the phone in advance.

Ok. i know this may be very picky.. But this hotel is so close to be successful so why not go all the way. Breakfast service is impeccable. Absolutely a 4.

BUT, please make sure the plates for the breakfast are not hot. Because the butter melts on it. Make sure the glasses for the cold water and the juice are not hot. Because then the water and the juice goes lukewarm. Or serve ice for my convenience.

Conclusion:
So Hotel Rex. great location, and great but small rooms. This is one of those hotels you can get a relation with. You want them to succeed! So yes if you travel alone and just want to sleep and do not care much about service. But Rex please put some focus on service. Add more of a "the customer is always right" and a "can-do" attitude. it is that simple!
Rex, thank you for this stay. I will be back.

Kristoffer Reiter
philadelphia

Room Tip: Be specific about what kind of room you need. For size reasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristofferreiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Owner at Rex Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Kristoffer,

Thank you for writing this review about your stay, and thanks for your appreciation on our hotel. I am very happy for constructive feedback since this is the way to be advised on how to improve my hotel and its services.

I am also very happy to hear that you found our rooms and breakfast to be of a four star standard, though actually, Rex Hotel is rated as a three star hotel. It is our sister hotel just across the road, Hotel Hellsten, that is rated as a four star hotel.

I am very sorry to hear that you had some complaints. I have investigated what happened during your check in and your stay. If I understood it right, your friend, with whom you would share the room, arrived a few days earlier and was already staying in a double bedded room. Before your arrival you had called to request a change to a twin-bedded room.
On the day of your arrival you arrived early in the morning and according to the receptionist, who by the way really appreciated the communication with you, there were no twin-bedded rooms available yet. Therefore she offered you some hours of sleep in the double-bed room, and as soon as the twin-bed room was ready you were informed and the room switch could be done. At the time you seemed fully satisfied with this arrangement, so I must say that I am sorry if we did not fulfill your expectations, but I am glad to hear that in the end you were satisfied with your room.

Again, thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future so that we can provide you with our best service.

Kind Regards,
Per Hellsten
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

excellent hotel in great neighborhood. convenient to metro. very reasonable rates in a very expensive city. 12 bucks for a hamburger. the day we checked out was before breakfast started and the staff offered to make us sandwiches to take on the train.

room was small but clean. hotel shares common areas with hostel in basement. staff sometimes not present but sister hotel across the street has desk manned always.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 226Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Polynesia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and i stayed at the Rex for 3 nights while in Stockholm. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They accomodated us as early arrivals and had a room waiting for us. The location was not very central. We are big walkers so were able to get around without public transportation.

Arriving using the metro its only 2 stations from the central station. The metro stop is located about 1 block away and very convenient.

The room was very clean.

The breakfast was very basic for Swedish standards. Bread, cheese, yogurt, etc. Coffee is available 24 hours in the lobby as well as the breakfast area.

Now the cons

The room was on the ground floor and so tiny that we could barely walk around the bed. It faced the small courtyard and when we opened the windows the smokers that hung out in the courtyard were within 5 feet of the window/room and their smoke came into the room. The bathroom didn't even have a shelf or sink extension so you had to set your items on the floor.

We understand that Stockholm is expensive but the cost of this hotel for what you received left alot to be desired.

Maybe providing a better breakfast might make things a bit better.
Add a small shelf in the bathrooms.
Restrict smoking in the tiny courtyard.

Safe travels

Chuck

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chouliha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Per H, Owner at Rex Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Chuck,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review. Feedback like yours are very important for us.

All of our rooms vary in size as well as furniture and colors. If you had told the front desk that you were unhappy with the size of the room they would have done their best to change you into a bigger one.

Thank you for pointing out the issue of smoke coming into your room from smokers in the courtyard. We will immediately restrict smoking in the area close by the rooms to prevent this from happening again.
Regarding the missing bathroom shelf, we take your opinion seriously and will go through the rooms to take action where needed.

Thank you for your kind words about my wonderful staff and our clean rooms.
We do hope that you would like to visit us again if you come to Stockholm!

Kind regards,
Per Hellsten
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I used to stay in this hotel during my business trips to Stockholm and I really loved the cosy and unique rooms in there.

I woudl agree with teh other revieer that the breakfast is limited, yet very filling. I loved the breakfast in this hotel much more than the huge one in Clarion Hotel - all teh food is very fresh and made in a home style. Pancackes, porrige, sandwiches and herring - this is more than enough for the breakfast!

I woudl not say there is something special in this hotel, it is just very small, sweet and cosy place which I recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Hotel Hellsten
Hotel Hellsten
#39 of 157 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#37 of 157 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Upplandsgatan
Scandic Upplandsgatan
#25 of 157 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasastan
Hotel Tegnerlunden
Hotel Tegnerlunden
#44 of 157 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#36 of 157 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#51 of 157 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Property: Rex Hotel
Address: 73 Luntmakargatan, Stockholm 113 51, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rex Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing