We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Rival

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Rival
Ranked #2 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nites here. One, before our cruise, and two after. Great welcoming staff who offered water much appreciated to two tired travelers. Retro red first impression in the lobby but neutral warm colors and tasteful decor elsewhere.

We got a huge room with a balcony ( by euro standards)overlooking a glorious park and beautiful buildings. An upgrade on a thursday. Awesome Perfect. Back end of trip very small room jn the back but would go back to Rival regardless great location easy walk to everywhere awesome breakfast. And super staff.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Bigsis1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

524 - 530 of 1,697 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2014

I have just returned from a mini Scandi trip (Stockholm, Malmo and Copenhagen) with 2 friends and accommodation wise, Hotel Rival was definitely the highlight!
A short walk past some lovely cafe's and bakery's from the nearest metro (only 2 stops from Gamla Stan) we were delighted to find the hotel sits on a beautiful garden square (Mariatorget).
Service was charming and friendly, plus we lucked out with the room it was very large and had climate control. We took great pleasure in all of the small touches; DVD selections, chocolates, the well equipped tea and coffee spot on the 4th floor, and the beautifully decorated macaroons at breakfast to name a few!
We really loved exploring the surrounding Sodermalm - it is a lovely area with bustling cafe's and quirky little shops. And it was easy to travel to surrounding areas and attractions whether it be by foot or metro. The nearby commuter train for the airport is also a plus!
Overall great location, great hotel with lots of colour and character and delicious breakfast, comfy rooms, and no complaints! I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bunnyshaped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

A return to this hotel and not disappointed. The location is great and the breakfast is plentiful and yummy! The service is friendly and helpful.
The rooms are a little on the small side (but maybe Stockholm hotels are all like this?) and also a little too dark so hard to see what you are doing sometimes. Also I personally find two single duvets on a double bed rather unconventional! But the other factors override these small imperfections to make it a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Good place to stay - rooms typical for Scandinavian hotels - small but comfortable. Very comfortable bed. Breakfast is great. Location is fine - 2 minute walk to metro, 2 stops from old town.
Staff very helpful.
Hotel could do with a touch up but everywhere was clean.
Good value for long weekend stay.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank IntrepidTraveller201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Yes, I'm afraid to admit it, but I often choose hotels by the reviews that I read. And, just as you're reading mine, I poured over the reviews here on this site. Perhaps you've noticed that the Hotel Rival has dropped now and is not in the top spot on TripAdvisor. While I certainly don't harbor any ill will towards this property, perhaps my review will likely help keep it on that trajectory. There comes a time when a hotel property just starts to milk the reviews and forgets about investing in the daily courtesies and the upkeep and maintenance that keeps a property at the top of a list.

Of course, there are good things and bad about the Hotel Rival, just like any. First, I'll give you the good. The Breakfast (I'm capitalizing it because it is THE best darn breakfast of any northern European hotel I've been in for the last couple of years). A delicious selection of items, everyone very unique. For example, I had a shot this morning of Fennel, Elderberry and Lemon juice with my meal. Where are you going to find THAT one! And you can order delicious omelet's, great Cappuccino's and so forth. I loved the cheese selection. Basically, this is a class breakfast.

But a breakfast doesn't make up for a small room. And let me tell you, the rooms here at the Hotel Rival are indeed SMALL. We paid about $300 a night, and to say that this is a $300 a night hotel room would be like saying that a Denny's is a place to go on your wedding anniversary. It's just overpriced by a significant percentage -- that's all a part of getting that #1 rating on a site like this one. Just by getting that rating (which has now evaporated based on recent reviews), they are able to jack up the rates significantly. It's a comfortable enough room, but it's not a $300 a night hotel room. We didn't get fresh towels or new shampoos and toiletries until about the third day. The bed is a big box spring with a three inch piece of foam on the top - perhaps that's "Swedish style," but I recall regular beds at other Swedish hotels from earlier trips. There is a safe, which is nice, and a DVD player and some CD's and DVD's in the room for the guest to enjoy. The little candy dish in the room which was a classy touch on the first day was never refilled.

The location is fifteen minutes from anywhere. I say that with tongue-in-cheek, because no matter where you want to go, the front desk staff will tell you that it is a 15 minute walk. Want to go to the center of Old Town (Gamla Stan)? It's a 15 minute walk (in actuality, 20-25). Want to get to a restaurant nearby that's only a 15 minute walk? It's actually up a huge hill and a long, long distance away. The one time they called us a taxi the driver gouged us and started the meter up with about 80 kroner already on the meter.

We were in an upgraded hotel room, a "Superior" double and it looked out over an apartment complex instead of the lovely park they have in the front of the hotel. Very strange for a more expensive room. The pictures of the hotel make it look like there are little balconies on the Superior rooms, but that was not the case for us.

In the lobby and other parts of the hotel, the modern high-gloss black and orange furniture is starting to get nicked and marked up, and the carpets in the hallways are filthy, stained and discolored, having gone far past their prime without a cleaning. I was pleasantly surprised by the Wi-Fi working as good as it did, however. Because it was a business trip for me, that was important.

So -- my review is 2 star not because I think the Hotel Rival is a terrible choice, but because it's overpriced by two stars and really, really is not the top of the line property that some of these reviews make it out to be. There are better places out there, and I'll bet you can find one with a modicum of effort.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lindaj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Just finished staying in the hotel post-cruise for two nights. Great location. Staff excellent. Concierge very helpful. Easy walk to old city. Train station one block away. Would highly recommend this hotel for anybody staying in Stockholm. And a very quiet neighborhood on a par. Away from the commotion of the main city. Yet very easy to get into the city. The rooms were not spectacular, but very comfortable.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Davef1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Sodermalm, so they say, is where the cool cats hang out. When the cats get a little long in the tooth and want doe comfort, they come to Hotel Rival. The staff here couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome. Breakfasts were a feast. Directions and suggestions were accurate and helpful, always friendly.

The location of this gem on a beautiful square complete with gorgeous fountain, lent great charm to this arty, fabulous pub.

Room Tip: all seemed good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Johnomob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,328 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,150 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
337 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rival

Address: Mariatorget 3, Box 17525, Stockholm 118 91, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Mariatorget , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $204 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rival 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rival is Stockholm's first boutique hotel, located on Sodermalms heights in classic premises in Stockholm. The Rival is a small, modern, individual hotel with unique top-level service. The 99 rooms have high technical standards with an unique interior decorations as well as Internet access. The seventh floor, with its magnificent view, is reserved for suites. The classic cinema Rival has been meticulously renovated and equipped with the latest in multi-media technology. The movie theatre will accommodate 700 conference guests, and the premises are well suited for events and meetings. There are 5 more conference rooms and a generous foyer outside the theatre for exhibits and mingling. The cocktail bar (original art deco), the bar, the bistro and the cafe will serve both hotel guests and local inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rival reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rival Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing