We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous well-located hotel”
Review of Hotel Rival

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Rival
Ranked #2 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous well-located hotel”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel overlooks Mariatorget, a lovely park, is only 2 blocks from the subway, and is about a 15-minute walk to Gamla Stan. The neighborhood has several good restaurants and other shops and allows easy access to the many attractions of Stockholm
the hotel itself was stylish and comfortable, and the staff extremely helpful on all manner of questions. We stayed in a Deluxe room, which had a beautiful view over the park. The room itself was large with a modern bathroom, ample closet space, multiple electrical outlets and many other conveniences.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marylandtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,084
    410
    54
    20
    2
See reviews for
154
820
93
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We have recently stayed for 4 nights in a deluxe room at this hotel.
This hotel is modern with wonderful knowledgeable staff. The concierge, reception staff, bar staff who mix excellent cocktails, delicious food, both at breakfast and evening, to a fresh clean room every afternoon was a delight.
Away from the centre, but an easy walk. The hotel looks over a small park with seats and a fountain. The locals play boules which is fun to watch.
Good selection of DVDs and toiletries, coffee and tea making facilities excellent.

If you are looking to stay somewhere with a happy atmosphere, this is for you.

Room Tip: 4th floor overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfgti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Located across from a park in a residential area, this boutique hotel is fabulous. Our room was bright, clean and tastefully decorated, and quite spacious by Scandanavian standards. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly- left us wanting to return. I'd recommend Blooms around the corner for a quick lunch ( goat cheese and roasted beets on the most delicious homemade fig, walnut, hazelnut and raisin bread) and the nearby Bistro Sud for dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Rival was a treat in many ways: location was wonderful - close to both metro and the commuter train stations (5-8 min walk even with luggage), 10-15 min walk to the bridge to the old part of town, bike share station right out front, next door to a gym (which was closed for repair but looked great) in front of a cute park, near so many shops and restaurants...
Comfortable rooms - was kind of hot as the temps were very high in late July. No AC but all windows opened.
Excellent service, delicious breakfast but as with everything in Stockholm - not cheap.
The hotel was reasonably priced but food and drink is expensive - not just at the hotel but everywhere.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CZinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed at the hotel Rival, prior to our recent Baltic cruise, the hotel is very close to mariatorget subway station which is a few stops from the central station, the hotel is in a nice area with quite a few bars and restaurants around it.

The hotel is boutique style with welcoming staff.

We had a deluxe room which overlooked the square. The hotel has been fitted out a few years back and I thought was looking a little tired in places. Scuffs scratches etc. The bed was hard, although some people may like this. The linens were lovely though.

This said, the room was still nice and the breakfast buffet was outstanding, particularly the fresh salmon.

Nice touch was a room where you could get fresh coffee and water 24 hours.

I would recommend the hotel, however they need to be a bit more careful about the maintenance.

Room Tip: The rooms over the square are nice, I didn't experience any of the noise others have mentioned
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grantn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
359 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the Rival and it was excellent. The bed was comfortable, the room was bright and clean and the bathroom was lovely.
Location is excellent, just a stones throw from the metro and across from a lovely park with restaurants and cafes close by.
Breakfast was excellent. Buffet style with fruit, pastries, breads , meats and cheese. With bacon and eggs as a hot option. You can also order from the breakfast menu at no extra charge, pancakes, mushrooms on toast etc.
The staff were lovely and always helpful. The room had a selection of CDs and a DVDs and you could order DVDs from the library, perfect after a long day looking at the sights.

My only small grumble would be the lack of storage space, the small wardrobe was just enough but there were no empty drawers. We removed the spare bedding and put it under the bed so that we could use the drawer for clothing.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We had the air conditioned room which was fantastic given the heat wave. There was nothing we didn't love about this hotel. The staff were great. Mattias at the front desk provided excellent restaurant suggestions (cool places that locals go and were very age appropriate for us). Best hair dryer I have ever had in a hotel room. Pillow menu so we all could pick what we liked. Umbrellas, iron, bathrobes and slippers. Room was spacious quiet and nice view of the park. Amazing breakfast and just an overall cool feel to the place. My only suggestion would be some speakers for iPods. But overall one of the best places I have stayed.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liketotraveltoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#8 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#7 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rival

Property: Hotel Rival
Address: Mariatorget 3, Box 17525, Stockholm 118 91, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Mariatorget , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rival 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rival is Stockholm's first boutique hotel, located on Sodermalms heights in classic premises in Stockholm. The Rival is a small, modern, individual hotel with unique top-level service. The 99 rooms have high technical standards with an unique interior decorations as well as Internet access. The seventh floor, with its magnificent view, is reserved for suites. The classic cinema Rival has been meticulously renovated and equipped with the latest in multi-media technology. The movie theatre will accommodate 700 conference guests, and the premises are well suited for events and meetings. There are 5 more conference rooms and a generous foyer outside the theatre for exhibits and mingling. The cocktail bar (original art deco), the bar, the bistro and the cafe will serve both hotel guests and local inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Rival reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rival Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing