We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay and Great Breakfast”
Review of Hotel Rival

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Rival
Ranked #2 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
375 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay and Great Breakfast”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the Rival and it was excellent. The bed was comfortable, the room was bright and clean and the bathroom was lovely.
Location is excellent, just a stones throw from the metro and across from a lovely park with restaurants and cafes close by.
Breakfast was excellent. Buffet style with fruit, pastries, breads , meats and cheese. With bacon and eggs as a hot option. You can also order from the breakfast menu at no extra charge, pancakes, mushrooms on toast etc.
The staff were lovely and always helpful. The room had a selection of CDs and a DVDs and you could order DVDs from the library, perfect after a long day looking at the sights.

My only small grumble would be the lack of storage space, the small wardrobe was just enough but there were no empty drawers. We removed the spare bedding and put it under the bed so that we could use the drawer for clothing.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,094
    414
    55
    20
    2
See reviews for
156
828
95
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We had the air conditioned room which was fantastic given the heat wave. There was nothing we didn't love about this hotel. The staff were great. Mattias at the front desk provided excellent restaurant suggestions (cool places that locals go and were very age appropriate for us). Best hair dryer I have ever had in a hotel room. Pillow menu so we all could pick what we liked. Umbrellas, iron, bathrobes and slippers. Room was spacious quiet and nice view of the park. Amazing breakfast and just an overall cool feel to the place. My only suggestion would be some speakers for iPods. But overall one of the best places I have stayed.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liketotraveltoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We spend two nights at this lovely hotel. Tastefully decorated, large,well appointed quiet rooms, ample breakfast and a friendly staff made our stay memorable. It is a short distance from the city center.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Urjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I recently spent four nights at Hotel Rival and from check-in to check-out it was perfect.

First the location. Literally a 2 minute walk away from Mariatorget which is three stops from Central station (Central Station is 20 mins away from the airport on the Arlanda express for 260SEK) so getting from the airport to the hotel on public transport is easy.

Within a 5 minute walk you had lots of restaurants/cafes, a few bars, a tattoo shop, some bakeries and an ACNE store was only a 15 min walk away. Heaven. And it was only a 20 min walk into the old town.

Secondly the hotel rooms. We opted for a superior room and this was worth the small cost increase for the extra space. The rooms have all the usual modern cons you'd expect and the shower was very powerful + we had free chocolates in the room. Delightful.

The hotel also offered a good selection of DVDs to rent free of charge, which we used on a couple of occasions. More hotels should do this.

Thirdly Breakfast. This was included in our room rate and was very nice. A good selection of hot and cold food. The restaurant balcony overlooks a small park and it a lovely place to have breakfast in a morning.

The next time i'm in Stockholm I will be staying at The Rival. Excellent all round.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenchenko8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel is in a lovely location in a quiet square away from down town bustle but just 10 minutes walk to Old Town. The rooms, restaurant and facilities are excellent. All the staff were cheerful and exceptionally helpful.

Room Tip: We were in a superior double, which was good, but the weather was exceedingly hot and there was no a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superdippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Hotel is based in a good area with plenty of good restaurants, we had two standard rooms which had enough room to be comfortable. The rooms were clean & had lots of nice touches such as chocolates ! Breakfast was great with a nice relaxed atmosphere would definitely recommend staying here .

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Simplicity4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

You won't find a better hotel in Sweden or anywhere else in Scandinavia! The hotel is in a great location (beautiful neighbourhood) across from a local park and close to restaurants and cafés. It's on a quiet street, so you can't go wrong with any rooms. The room we had faced into the homes around the area, it was just lovely . The room is clean, with a great shower and lovely thick towels. Only down side is the lack of lighting but who needs that when it's usually daylight anyway until about 10pm in the summer!

Now the breakfast - WOW!!!! Amazing selection of food and to top it all off, coffees are free as is freshly made pancakes and French toast - all FREE and made to order.

The staff are all very personable and friendly and extremely efficient with any requests. Speak to Sean (the Conceirge) for the latest things to do in Stockholm. He is very friendly and helpful...thanks for the advice on the islands Sean - very helpful!

My favourite hotel in Scandinavia!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great as the hotel is in a quiet neighbourhood and faces onto a park...it's si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitnat_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,277 reviews
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
517 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
1,921 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#8 of 154 in Stockholm
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rival

Property: Hotel Rival
Address: Mariatorget 3, Box 17525, Stockholm 118 91, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Mariatorget , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rival 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rival is Stockholm's first boutique hotel, located on Sodermalms heights in classic premises in Stockholm. The Rival is a small, modern, individual hotel with unique top-level service. The 99 rooms have high technical standards with an unique interior decorations as well as Internet access. The seventh floor, with its magnificent view, is reserved for suites. The classic cinema Rival has been meticulously renovated and equipped with the latest in multi-media technology. The movie theatre will accommodate 700 conference guests, and the premises are well suited for events and meetings. There are 5 more conference rooms and a generous foyer outside the theatre for exhibits and mingling. The cocktail bar (original art deco), the bar, the bistro and the cafe will serve both hotel guests and local inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Rival reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rival Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing