We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique boutique hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rival

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Rival
Ranked #3 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Kauniainen, Finland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Unique boutique hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Hotel Rival is a high quality hotel in Stockholm. The location of the hotel is excellent, the old town is pretty near. The breakfast buffet is very good and the reastaurant is chic & fashionable. On the other hand, the rooms are relatívely small.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mielikki68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    404
    52
    20
    2
See reviews for
149
805
91
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Of course we stayed in the hotel Rival in Stockholm. How could we not, knowing the visionary from Abba owns it! The staff are wonderful, the bar and bistro are delightful, and it is brilliantly located close to the metro ( straight to central) and across the road from a small park, great when you have kids. The rooms were spotless, a little small, the mini-bar stocked well, and a fab area on each floor to make tea and coffee. I would Stay there again.

Room Tip: Book the room up from the cheapest ( I think it is deluxe) it is far more spacious than the standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is a great boutique hotel in a top position in Stockholm. Being my first time in the city in winter I was unsure where to say but I certainly picked a top area. Within close walking distance even in winter to Gamla Stan and the city its right smack bang in the trendy area Sodermalm, which was filled with great cafes, restaurants, boutiques and vintage shops.

The room was great, I picked the basic one. It was on the small side as I couldnt keep my suitcase open without tripping over it to the bathroom, but the amenties are fantastic, great TV and DVD selection which is free. The bed and sheets were amazing the bathroom had heated floors.

The building and decor is amazing, the cafe and bar get very busy with locals though, so be prepared to wait for tables.

The only two reasons this got a very good was two things:
1. My room had no individual air con, it was on the building air con and very cold. I told front desk and they brought a heater up straight away, but it was difficult to get a constant temp
2. I didnt find the staff particularly friendly, I was offered not assistance with maps, what to do or anything. It was very basic you approach them and they will assist, but dont expect a smile.

Having said that I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KATSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
456 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Cold rooms, no floor heating in the bathroom pulled down a good impression. No Nespresso in room nor gym was also on the negative side. But still...had read all the good reviews, and location was right for work trip. Smooth check in to a very cool looking hotel, based in an old cinema building next to Mariatorget.Fantastic breakfast and also very popular bar and restaurant in the evening. Rooms very smartly set up, and many amenities. Might stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yef70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vitoria, ES
Level Contributor
247 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights at the Hotel Rival in January 2013. Spectacular, that sums up the experience we had at the hotel. The hotel's decor is inspired movie themes, very nice! The rooms are modern and welcoming . We had a superior room, and the size was excellent . The bathroom is quite large, the only part that bothered me was the fact that part of the shower is a bit open, and the water makes a mess in bathroom. In the rooms we have some movies and cds available but at reception we can find a large collection . The breakfast is very good with a varied buffet and also has a few more options à la carte ( but not charged) .
The Rival Bistro is very nice , the food and the wine selection is excellent, as the Rival Cafe which is very cozy. On Fridays they a kind of "party" in the bar. Cool!!!
The reception staff , as well as the concierge are very friendly and were always open to any requests.
The location is very good , maybe not the best of stockholm, but is a few minutes walk from the center , and has a metro station practically next door .
The price is a little higher , but everything is expensive in Scandinavia . HOTEL RIVAL - Super recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thanandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

great breakfast (also soya products for vegan), clean and quiet room with cd's and DVD's and a gourmet coffee machine in the hall for free. As well as computers, printers etc which helped check in in to the flight.

Room Tip: ask if you can get a room with adjustable A/C (all rooms don't have one...)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JussiM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICESTER
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 15th Dec for two nights - hotel is in great location, rooms are fab we loved the little touches : teddy ! Great pillows, bowl of choccy caramels , lovely toiletries, and cd collection . Cocktails expensive but it's central Stockholm ! We loved it .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRSLEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#2 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Motel L
#6 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#4 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rival

Property: Hotel Rival
Address: Mariatorget 3, Box 17525, Stockholm 118 91, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Mariatorget , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rival 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rival is Stockholm's first boutique hotel, located on Sodermalms heights in classic premises in Stockholm. The Rival is a small, modern, individual hotel with unique top-level service. The 99 rooms have high technical standards with an unique interior decorations as well as Internet access. The seventh floor, with its magnificent view, is reserved for suites. The classic cinema Rival has been meticulously renovated and equipped with the latest in multi-media technology. The movie theatre will accommodate 700 conference guests, and the premises are well suited for events and meetings. There are 5 more conference rooms and a generous foyer outside the theatre for exhibits and mingling. The cocktail bar (original art deco), the bar, the bistro and the cafe will serve both hotel guests and local inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rival reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rival Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing