We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy and fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rival

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Rival
Ranked #2 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Trendy and fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent 5 nights in this trendy and lively hotel. Coming from the states, we felt the hotel was too pricey. That's the only reason for 4 point rating. Otherwise, service, location, comfort and style are rated 5!

I know others have stated the hotel is little out of the "center" but we felt the location was perfect. It is a nice walk to Gamla Stan but there's so much to see and do while walking. In fact we walked everywhere, even in the rain. There are so many cute little shops, konditoris, cafes and to enjoy while exploring. One of my husband's favorite for beers is Akkurat. We stopped in there more than once.

Our room was small but for European standards, not bad. We've been in much smaller. The bathroom, while tiny, was very efficient and inviting! The heated floors, walk in shower and some counter space above the toilet made up for such small space.

We were on the fourth floor which has the business center. We loved this! There's a coffee/cappuccino/espresso/hot water machine which we took advantage of daily through out the day.

Our breakfast was included only on weekends. Wished it was for the full 5 days we were there b/c having a nice hearty breakfast cut back on cost quite a bit.

There was always something going on here. We enjoyed the lively atmosphere. Friday and Saturday nights were quite a scene with the young and the beautiful in the lobby, cafe, and 2nd floor restaurants but when we retired to our room, couldn't hear anything! Slept wonderfully.

So to sum it up, would stay, recommend and when we return, it won't be as quite as expensive or our US dollar will have a higher value.

Room Tip: Read the 7th floor have the larger suites. 4th floor with business/refreshment center is convenient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,060
    404
    52
    20
    2
See reviews for
149
806
91
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
181 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and me spent this weekend in the suite 704, and we were really surprised by this hotel. The design was very tasteful, the room was clean and very pleasant, and the service was just top. We were welcomed by champagne, strawberries and chokolade (ok, I did preorder it!), but it was just perfect for a nice and romantic weekend. It is so great to experience a hotel that not is a part of those large hotel groups. The weather wasen't very nice, but we enjoyed every minute in this great hotel! The only downside is that the location in Södermalm is a bit away from the center. But then again you find a lott of nice shops and restaurants in this area too.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, book one of the suites. 704 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TottoV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Hotel rival is fabulous. Lovey place to stay, easy walk to all attractions and hop on hop off boats and bus.

Rooms with balconies overlooking the square are very comfortable.

Great breakfast and very very good restaurant and wines.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in August 2012. The location is very good - as it is not in the crowded bustling old town, but in a quieter adjacent area - just a short walk away. Staff are very friendly and helpful. We had booked superior and paid a little extra on arrival to upgrade to one of the top floor suites - ours was narrow but very nice with a long balcony along the back of the suite, large bathroom, comfortable bed. The woodwork and paintwork is a bit tired in the suite and it would benefit from an upgrade, particularly for the price. However, we loved the hotel and I would not let that put people off. The breakfast buffet is magnificent - a large array of foods, and a chef in the open kitchen ready to prepare extra dishes (e.g. poached eggs) with a smile. The style of the hotel is great - and we liked the local area.

Room Tip: Superior rooms on the square with balcony worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docinedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, Leics.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Probably one of the best hotel rooms I've stayed in, and we usually stay in 4/5star hotels in London and the continent. I think it was Superior (I left the booking to my husband). Roomy, good design, hugely comfortable bed, balcony (forgiving the plastic flowers) overlooking the square. Woke up each day thinking it was raining, but it was only the fountain in the square. Breakfast all that could be desired (well, by most people). Very helpful reception and concierge. Small but useful computer area next to a very good coffee machine (also with herb teas and biscuits). We ate in their bistro one night, and it was actually the best meal we had in four nights - we ate in some good restaurants too (seek the concierge's advice) and the food in Stockholm is pretty good everywhere, so that says something for the hotel!

Twenty minutes walk to the popular waterfront/restaurant area, but felt completely safe and that's how you get to know the place. The Rival would be the main reason we might return to Stockholm again.

Room Tip: Preferably a front room overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodie038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boras, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel feels modern and sophisticated but is fun. The staff were helpful and generous with maps and info and the rooms have nice little touches (the music, DVDs, candy, blankets for sitting on the balcony, the little shuttered window from the bathroom to the room, the umbrella, etc.) The breakfasts were AMAZING and had so much to choose from--the buffet and also they would make things (e.g. French toast) to order. We ended up having lunch and dinner there a few times, too. It wasn't cheap at all, but it's Stockholm, and everything was top-notch. Marietorget (the square it's on) is pretty and has a playground (which was great since we were traveling with a child) and the location was an easy walk from all the touristy stuff you'd want to see, or the subway station which could not have been closer. We could have found a cheaper hotel, sure, but choosing this hotel was supposed to make the trip a little nicer and more fun and interesting, and it certainly did.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 83EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I had an awesome 5 nights stay at the Rival.
When you arrive, you feel like entering an old movie theatre, and it was a theatre before.
The exciting decor of the bar, and the lobby reminded me a 1940's night club in New York.
I was upgraded to a suite, with a terrace and a great view on Stockholm's old buildings.
The room was very hollywood decor, with pictures of Ingrid Bergman.
The hotel is now owned by Benny Anderson from ABBA, and rock'n roll + swedish amenities together, make a great place to stay. Wifi, DVD's, CDs, all are free, and the breakfast very good and diverse. The staff was very helpful , good looking, and polite.
The location of the hotel is very good, wether you want to walk to the old town, the castle, or the Vasa Museum in the adjacent island Djurgarden.
Go....it's great, and Stockholm is a beautiful city.
I would definitively recommend this hotel to anyone, because it is different.

Room Tip: overlooking the garden in front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fpny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Motel L
#7 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#4 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rival

Property: Hotel Rival
Address: Mariatorget 3, Box 17525, Stockholm 118 91, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Mariatorget , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#3 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rival 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rival is Stockholm's first boutique hotel, located on Sodermalms heights in classic premises in Stockholm. The Rival is a small, modern, individual hotel with unique top-level service. The 99 rooms have high technical standards with an unique interior decorations as well as Internet access. The seventh floor, with its magnificent view, is reserved for suites. The classic cinema Rival has been meticulously renovated and equipped with the latest in multi-media technology. The movie theatre will accommodate 700 conference guests, and the premises are well suited for events and meetings. There are 5 more conference rooms and a generous foyer outside the theatre for exhibits and mingling. The cocktail bar (original art deco), the bar, the bistro and the cafe will serve both hotel guests and local inhabitants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rival reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rival Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing