We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from this place..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vanadis Hotell & Bad
Ranked #138 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay away from this place..”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This place is a total ripoff and It [...]..small,ugly and no in-room WC and shower. It's a small version of Alcatraz. There should be "keep out" bill boards in front of it and I'm not kidding

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    57
    90
    44
    63
See reviews for
27
89
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I believe that a place like this shouldn't have a permission to work. I don't know where to start... rooms are incredibly small,just enough for two beds and one desk.If you hope that there is also a place for your bag, you're very wrong. There's not. But this is only the beggining.The room where we stayed didnt have window,so to let air in,you must keep the door opened. Highlight of my stay in this hotel is that we got acariasis for the dirty sheets and bed. I dont even need to mention that everything in hotel is very old and very much resembles a jail. Unfriendly staff and too many rooms sharing a tolilette didn't improve my impression.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivonag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

This place advertises itself as a hostel but is really a hostel, with many young people evidently living here.
We were not expecting luxury at this price in Stockholm but neither were we expecting an unbearably hot prison cell with no ventilation. Fortunately we were only staying one night.
I'm not sure what I was sharing the bed with, but I'm still covered in bites a week later.
The facilities were less than appealing, having swimming pool type showers and the toilets felt like public toilets.
The whole place looks as though it might have been very popular in the 1950s and 60s, with its now disused swimming pool etc, but I don't think it's bee painted since then and the expectations of a "Hotel" are a little higher in the 21st century.
Stay here if you are desperate or on a VERY tight budget, otherwise keep looking!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MosaicSian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Clean hotel, clean beds, but tiny rooms. It was the cheapest we could get in Stockholm, but we were a bit suprised of the fact the we had to shower at the same showers that the visitors of the swimmingpool use. It's no problem to use a shared bathroom, but we didn't expect this...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravelBug2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Türkiye
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2011

This is the kind of hotel you would like to stay in if you are really on a budget, and you just want a clean place to put your head, close to the city center.

If you go by car, you might have problem for parking.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Habush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

The room was spotless - however the window we actually paid extra for was maybe 2.2 m up, so you have to stand on the bed to see out.

The room was excessively warm and could really do with (more/any) ventilation. It was probably 30°C after having been heated up in the sun all day - and there was only a table fan to combat it and the option of opening the door to the busy corridor. Probably nicer in cold weather.

Quit and reasonable central location

Nice playground in front if you happen to travel with kids.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoulAlberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

At least the rooms are clean, extremely small though. Plenty of rooms, so even without reservation you might get some place to sleep. On the other hand the hostel seems to be very popular. Popular even among people living temporarily in Stockholm! Very quiet location in a park, simple rooms, dull breakfast. You can't find much of competition in this price rank unfortunately.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grzegorz_krol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockholm
Hotell Dialog
#116 of 154 in Stockholm
155 reviews
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#95 of 154 in Stockholm
259 reviews
2Home Stockholm South
#136 of 154 in Stockholm
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Capital Hotel
#102 of 154 in Stockholm
230 reviews
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Scandic Prince Philip
#1 of 1 in Skarholmen
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanadis Hotell & Bad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanadis Hotell & Bad

Property: Vanadis Hotell & Bad
Address: 142 Sveavaegen, Stockholm 113 46, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vanadis Hotell & Bad 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In central Stockholm's Vanadislunden Park, this budget hotel is an 8-minute bus ride from shopping and entertainment at Drottninggatan and Hotorget Square. It has affordable accommodations with free Wi-Fi and a popular continental breakfast. At Vanadis Hotel, guests can choose rooms with either private or shared bathroom facilities. Each room has cable TV, and some include a writing desk. The hotel has a convenient 24-hour front desk. Guests computers with internet connection are found in the lobby area. Light snacks and non-alcoholic beverages can be bought at all times and staff is always willing to recommend restaurants and local attractions such as Stockholm Observatory. Hotel Vanadis is 215 yards from Frejgatan Bus Stop, which is a 15-minute trip from Stockholm Central Train Station. The shuttle bus for Arlanda Airport stops a 10-minute walk from the hotel. Vasastan is a great choice for travelers interested in coffee, promenade and nature walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Vanadis Hotell & Bad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanadis Hotell And Bath Hotel Stockholm
Vanadis Hotell And Bath Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing