We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, drinks and atmosphere”
Review of Ardbeg Embassy

Ardbeg Embassy
Reserve with
Ardbeg Embassy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 3,056 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Swedish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Description: The unique restaurant in Old Town, Stockholm. Classic Swedish food in combination with 300 whiskys and 28 Swedish microbrewery beers.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, drinks and atmosphere”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I was in Stockholm for the first time for business and a colleague and I decided to walk down to the Stockholm old town to find a good restaurant our last night in town. Walking by the Ardbeg, we noticed the menu and it looked quite good. Walking into the restaurant, the first thing I noticed was the long bar with the large number of taps. One of the things I wanted to try was various local beers as well as having some good food, so this seemed to be a good omen.
I had the elk and was very pleased. It was the best dinner I had while in Stockholm and the two beers that our waiter suggested after asking about our preferences were great as well. I ended up the evening by tasting the Ardbeg barrel aged scotch and was quite impressed. I would definitely go here again when visiting and would recommend it to anyone else visiting.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    274
    57
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“If you fancy Ardbeg it's a must”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I had passed by on a previous stay in Stockholm and this winter I made sure to stop in, it was a scotch lovers gold mine.

Not only am I fan of Ardbeg scotch but I also enjoy good craft beers and the Ardbeg Embassy has got all I could want of both.
I stopped in early in the evening before a dinner date and had a craft beer from Gotland and a taste of an Ardbeg batch I had not yet tasted. I went back after dinner for more Ardbeg tasting.

Not only do they have many different batches of Ardbeg, they stock a huge selection of fine whiskeys.

The Ardbeg Embassy is a must stop special spot for me when I'm in Stockholm from now on.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank soulprojector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good from top to bottom.”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

I went to Ardbeg Embassy with a visiting work colleague on a Saturday night. I have walked by the place dozens of times, but I never would have guessed it would be one of my very favorite places to eat in Stockholm. There is nothing to complain about from a service and quality standpoint, and the atmosphere is exceptional. I will be back many more times in the future.

Helpful?
Thank IALTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lappeenranta, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“a place for a true whisky lover”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I have never eaten anything from this place but i want to write about their nice whisky selection. They have a wide scale of whiskys from different parts of Scotland and of cource everything you can get from Ardbeg distillery. Atmosphere is nice and leisured. They also have some beers and some beer on tabs from local small breweries.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MokkaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Beer and Traditional Swedish Food”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stumbled upon this restaurant as I was walking through Gamla Stan (Old Town) and decided to stop in for a late lunch / early dinner. The bartender provided great recommendations on their extensive beer list (although they have a huge whisky selection).

In addition to a few beers, I had the pickled herring (three ways) and the Swedish meatballs - both of which were really good. A very stereotypical Swedish dinner but really worth it.

I would definitely pay this place another visit (and spend sometime exploring their whisky selections) next time I am in Stockholm.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TXN60613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ardbeg Embassy also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Ardbeg Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing