We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good from top to bottom.”
Review of Ardbeg Embassy

Ardbeg Embassy
Reserve with
Ardbeg Embassy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 3,111 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Swedish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Description: The unique restaurant in Old Town, Stockholm. Classic Swedish food in combination with 300 whiskys and 28 Swedish microbrewery beers.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good from top to bottom.”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

I went to Ardbeg Embassy with a visiting work colleague on a Saturday night. I have walked by the place dozens of times, but I never would have guessed it would be one of my very favorite places to eat in Stockholm. There is nothing to complain about from a service and quality standpoint, and the atmosphere is exceptional. I will be back many more times in the future.

Helpful?
Thank IALTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    291
    60
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lappeenranta, Southern Finland, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“a place for a true whisky lover”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I have never eaten anything from this place but i want to write about their nice whisky selection. They have a wide scale of whiskys from different parts of Scotland and of cource everything you can get from Ardbeg distillery. Atmosphere is nice and leisured. They also have some beers and some beer on tabs from local small breweries.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MokkaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Beer and Traditional Swedish Food”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stumbled upon this restaurant as I was walking through Gamla Stan (Old Town) and decided to stop in for a late lunch / early dinner. The bartender provided great recommendations on their extensive beer list (although they have a huge whisky selection).

In addition to a few beers, I had the pickled herring (three ways) and the Swedish meatballs - both of which were really good. A very stereotypical Swedish dinner but really worth it.

I would definitely pay this place another visit (and spend sometime exploring their whisky selections) next time I am in Stockholm.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TXN60613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice find in Gamla Stan”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Walking around the old town part of Stockholm on a cold Saturday afternoon, looking for a lunch spot, the posted menu caught our attention. One item was titled "Surkål" (sauerkraut), which was described as sauerkraut (of course), potato, mustard sauce, and oh yes, almost as afterthought, four different meats: two types of sausage, reindeer rump roast, and thin sliced smoked pork loin. Another entree was fillet of venison. Intrigued, we went in. A long bar, lined with dozens and dozens of bottles of spirits (mostly whiskys), greeted us. We were in the right place.

The restaurant seating is toward the rear. The decor is built around Ardbeg, a well-regarded Scotch whisky. Their marketing motto, "The Ultimate Single Islay Malt Scotch Whisky", is painted on one wall. A huge clock which rotates counter-clockwise adorns another wall.

The menu offers a whole page of mostly local and regional microbrew beers. We ordered the Skebo Old Town and Nils Oscar Winter Ale. They arrived in short order, presented in pilsener glasses, bearing thick creamy heads. Both were delicious. A bowl of hearty bread kept us busy until the food arrived. We both ordered the Surkål, which was definitely one of my favorite meals. For dessert, we had the Ardbeg (whisky-infused ice cream), and vanilla-lime pudding. While both were delicious and beautifully presented, in retrospect probably not the ideal desserts to follow a meat-heavy meal. Double espressos were more like quatro-sized, and up to the high Swedish coffee standard. The drink menu has an unending list of spirits, naturally emphasizing Ardbeg. Since we are not familiar with that label, we finished with Talisker 10 YO and Hennessey Fine de Cognac.

Service was friendly and attentive. Total for above was 1102 SEK - not cheap, but not outrageous for Stockholm. I would definitely go back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great beer selection and excellent food!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Ardbeg is primarily a whisky bar, from what I can tell, but it also has a great beer selection and a fairly high end menu for not a high end price. There were tons of Swedish beers to choose from, my husband and I stopped in for a quick drink but ended up staying for hours and tried most of the beers on the Swedish menu! The food was really tasty as well, the menu had a range of items from your average pub food to traditional Swedish dishes. The bartender was very knowledgeable and friendly as well.
It's in a great location, the Gamla Stan, close to a metro station and only a 15 minute walk from Sodermalm. Make sure to visit Ardbeg if you're in Stockholm!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ACuming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ardbeg Embassy also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Ardbeg Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing