We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy hotel, good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Ranked #46 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Trendy hotel, good value for money”
Reviewed November 23, 2009

We have just arrived from our 2 night stay at the Clarion Stockholm. Let’s begin with the good stuff.

The hotel location is very convenient to see other kind of Stockholm (Södermalm is a very hip area with plenty to do and see). Stanstull tunnelbana (metro) is right next to the hotel so it is easy to reach other areas as well. Exterior of the hotel looks very modern and the common areas of the hotel are trendy and clean. What we really liked were the corridors which were very broad and bright. Room was decorated nicely and especially the bed was very inviting. We didn’t use the restaurant or the bar but the breakfast was extremely good (I have quite high standard for breakfasts but this met all my needs). We had to queue for the check in (we did arrive during the rush hour so it is understandable) but the check out was handled in a second.

Even though the hotel is very modern, clean and a good quality for money (we paid 99 € per night for a room including breakfast and internet), there are couple of things that would easily make it even better. What annoyed me the most was the lack of amenities. I’m not a big fan of ”overall shampoo” and I hate to notice right after the shower that there is no body lotion available. When you have a weekend break, you try to survive with as little luggage as possible. There was a note that said “please call the room service for more amenities” but I would prefer to have those available right away (without asking).

The hotel states itself as an environmental friendly hotel which is a good thing. However we had to wait for minutes to get warm water from the shower (we will inform the hotel as well since there might be something wrong with the drainage and it can be expensive for the hotel). Although the room was modern and nice, the TV was way too old and didn’t fit the overall decoration. The bathroom was also ok, but the shower looked like from the 90s. Sunday breakfast was very very hectic and the breakfast room was crowded but I suppose it’s a very common problem. On Monday there was no problem and we were able to have a table with a nice view over to Gullmarsplan.

Clarion Stockholm was a good choice. I could stay there again and recommend it to my friends as well. The hotel is suitable for trendy younger (or young minded) folk who don’t mind a little noise from the streets and wants to see Stockholm from a less touristic angle.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saga_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,008
    1,047
    398
    126
    51
See reviews for
324
855
170
817
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

This hotel was fresh and modern, with a fantastic breakfast buffet - which was a pleasure to experience every day! The location was wonderful, 1 minute from the underground, and our room was awesome. Great views, modern and slick design and very comfortable. We had a wonderful stay here.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2009

1 min from subway exit - easy access location - clean - friendly staff - modern interior - nice room and great breakfast with many kinds of fresh breads and much more. I will return to this hotel and reccomend to all.

Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ciaoharuko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Whilst being an efficiently run hotel it lacks personality. It functions well in it's prime purpose servicing daily and residential conferences and business visitors. Breakfast offers a huge selection but at times you can't get a table amd it frustratingly closes at 9:30 even though there are many guests still arriving. Rooms are comfortable although our superior room had no bath tub and a small wardrobe and no drawerrs for storage and just two coat hangers!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayern
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2009

A great hotel in a great location at a reasonable price.

Breakfast was great too, though it was very "Ikea" and a "fight" due to the sheer size of the hotel and the amount of guests wanting to have breakfast at the same time.

Nevertheless, the hotel was great.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flojb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Having stayed at the Clarion Hotel Stockholm several times on business (company has a great rate at Choice Hotels) this was the time to write a review and share my thoughts on this cool, huge, hotel in the heart of friendly Södermalm, Stockholm.

Clarion Stockholm (not to be confused with Clarion Sign) is located on top of the main artery in Södermalm, heading into Stockholm from the south, with a great view towards the south (Globe Arena) and the west (park). It has a lobby bar as well as a bar on the second floor (conference level), and a very nice restaurant (Greta's) to complement the buffet restaurant. I strongly recommend the Wallenbergare at Greta's for dinner with mashed potatoes and lingonberries. Wonderful!

Getting here is easy. The subway (green line) stops at Skanstull (fourth stop from Central Station) and the subway in Stockholm is clean, on time and safe (for all foreign travellers this might be worth noting). From the Skanstull subway there are signs to the hotel. There are also bus lines going straight outside of the hotel that connects to other subway lines (Fridhemsplan, Gullmarsplan). For travellers with cars, they only have valet parking (SEK 375 per night).

The rooms are all modern and sleek in its design, but not as large as in the U.S. (and good lord, not as small as in the G.B).
The Moderate rooms are fine for the business travelers who only need accomodation and breakfast (bear in mind that the huge breakfast buffet is included in all prices, before you compare with Hilton and Sheraton who charge ridiculous prices for their breakfasts).
The Standard rooms are a bit bigger with a couch, and often with both a bath and a shower. This is the room I use the most, with a free upgrade (Choice Gold Card) from the Moderate rate.

This time, I got upgraded to the DeLuxe room which was very nice. Large room, ceiling-high windows (over 10 feet high), separate work area, lounge area and a huge comfortable bed - but oddly enough, only a shower and no bath. The room was on the second floor, which meant navigating through a big conference that used all available conference space. And this also meant that the upstairs bar was closed (no mojito this time...) due to the conference space.

The room was very quiet, despite having windows against the street (on second floor) no sounds from cars, sirens from ambulances (huge hospital nearby) or other sound disturbed the sleep. Also, the ac worked great as did the wireless internet (free with Choice Club membership).

For Stockholm travellers, I would recommend this hotel as it is situated in Södermalm, a very friendly area of Stockholm and only a 25-minute walk to Old Town. (Walking from Old Town also takes you through Götgatsbacken, where there are lots of pubs, restaurants and friendly places to take a beer or two while you rest the legs from the sightseeing).

All in all, Clarion Stockholm is a fine hotel whether for business or leisure, it caters for all travelers and as previously noted - the free breakfast buffet is huuuge with everything you need.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweTraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Our visit started off a little rocky as they were overbooked and when I arrived I was sent to a hotel outside of the city. When I came back the next day they had upgraded me to a suite and went out of their way to apologise for the overbooking which was very much appreciated. In the end it was a great stay. This hotel is very conveniently located and has a great bar and cafe. Room service is also quite good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Clarion Hotel Sign
Clarion Hotel Sign
#36 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,315 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#48 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#37 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
Kungsholmen
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
#63 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Scandic Malmen
Scandic Malmen
#80 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Stockholm

Property: Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Address: 98 Ringvaegen | Box 20025, Stockholm 118 60, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#11 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#24 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#28 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#34 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Stockholm 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Clarion Hotel Stockholm guests can enjoy a modern hotel with art and music and design as part of its integral character. Be inspired and enjoy the hotel's unique pulse and surroundings with our restaurant Eatery Social and our heavenly Ayurveda-inspired Elements Spa. It is not however just about fantastic food, spectacular art displays, great music or mingling. Our passion and focus is on providing you with a wonderful night's sleep and increasing your quality of life. Choose from our 532 rooms and luxurious suites that best suit your needs. We look forward to welcoming you and giving you a stay to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Clarion Hotel Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Stockholm
Stockholm Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing