We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Ranked #43 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here for business and chose the hotel due to it's proximity to Södermalm and to the subway which I needed to get to and from my client site. My room was small but efficient and the view was lovely. The bathroom however was MASSIVE! I had a shower, all sorts of space and a huge, deep bath, t was incredible and relaxing after long work days. I wanted to use the spa just for a quick swim and a spa, but it was far too pricey per visit, so I never went.

The breakfast daily was pretty good, my only complaints about it though were: the coffee sucked and the omelette lady is hopeless: every single day I asked for vegetarian omelette with cheese, and every day she handed me an omelette full of ham. She did this to a nice Indian woman as well who had more time to tell her off than I did.

The bar was always fun, but you had to go up to the counter and order your own drinks instead of someone coming around. My biggest complaint about the hotel though would be the wifi: needed a new pass code every day and it constantly kicked us off so we had to re-log in every 30 minutes or so: ANNOYING for a business hotel and while being on a WebEx.

Travelled here as a single girl and felt completely and 100% safe my entire trip here and would definitely stay here again...please do something about your shoddy wifi though please!

Room Tip: Away from the lifts is always a good idea and none of the rooms are too far of a walk which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJintheCouv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,027
    1,068
    408
    130
    53
See reviews for
332
874
174
832
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
181 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I have stayed at the Clarion a few times, and its an excellent experience each time. The rooms are nice and spacious. The only thing missing is an electric kettle. The breakfast is good and sumptuous, love the swedish meat balls! Their loyalty program is great, you get a voucher for the bar for every night. The location is fantastic, near Sodermalm, and lots of great restaurants. There's a train station right below the hotel and a bus stop right across, making travel very convenient. Of course, cabs are also easily available, but its better to ask the reception to call in a cab with preferred rate.

Its a true business hotel, with great wifi, speed and coverage is excellent. Cleanliness of the bathroom was an issue once, the water was clogged due to jammed drain. A person came promptly to fix the problem. I strongly recommend this hotel for couples as well as business. .

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Globe hotel, the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiaRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We booked a "Moderate" room at The Clarion Stockholm for three nights in the summer high season. I appreciated being so close to Södermalm, where we spent much of our time, and within a solid walk's distance from most other central Stockholm locations. The complementary breakfast was generous and delicious, and the staff was helpful when asked for directions or advice.

Cons:
- Wifi password system is annoying; you have to keep requesting codes from the reception desk
- Room windows do not open

Room Tip: The small size of the room came as a surprise, even having been warned beforehand. If you're a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amoebaamoeba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyChu, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Stockholm, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hi amoebamoeba, it's nice to know that you enjoyed your time here and reflected on your summer stay with months later here on Tripadvisor (I can relate - it's cold here now too just as it must be in New York!) Thanks so much.

Regarding the WiFi codes, we use the system of codes ini accordance with our hotel chain's directives but appreciate the feedback. Some recent developments for our complimentary wifi is that we have now a separate server for our public areas and codes are not required for it. Also, another option is available: by becoming a member of our Nordic Choice Club loyalty program (quick and free of charge) guests are now able to use their membership numbers as a login code that covers an entire stay instead of having to change a code every 24 hours. (the membership number at this point in time however does not cover multiple devices). Besides that there are other benefits too such as food and beverage rebates and redeemable points generated for future overnight stays.

Great room tips too - if anyone is ever curious we would be more than happy to show a selection on site in order to suit preferences and needs!

Thanks once again - I hope we have the pleasure of having you as our guests again, be it in the summer or winter! All the very best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

i spend a lot of time traveling and clock up so many miles.
always when i return to stockholm i go to my new favourite hotel.
a hotel thats welcomes you with a smile and a hug. the food is just fantastic and room to forget your problems.
clarion hotel stockholm is doing what other hotels have failed to do in the market.
they treat you like a family guest and not a customer.
keep up the great work.
i will be back again and again.

Room Tip: just ask. they are so helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyChu, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Stockholm, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Alan k, we are very flattered - thank you so much! Despite the fact that we have a large property we really strive to treat our guests in a personal manner that makes them feel at home at any given opportunity, and your comments have been shared to encourage all here to keep it up. Thanks once again for the feedback and welcome back to us at any time. Warm regards, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

I was there on business and for me this hotel ticked the boxes. The room was a decent size, clean and reasonably stylish. The bathroom didn't have a bath (unsure if some do) which is no issue for me but maybe for others. It was clean and usable. I have read about gaps in the misting causing the occupier to be visible. Yes there are small gaps at the edges but I if you are on show because of these your greater issue is why your partner has their face to the door looking. The main restaurant serves Asian food and the bar/restaurant other. Breakfast was of a standard I would expect and I had no problems with staff service. The subway is a 20m walk to get downtown although there are plenty of shops and restaurants within an easy walk. For those loving to exercise the gym has free weights and techno gym machines. Around the corner is a really good swimming pool and running trails along the waters edge.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Skytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyChu, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Stockholm, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your detailed and well-rounded review Skytourist! We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here. Incidentally to answer your question we do have many rooms with the option of shower or bath, and even some with both. Only our base-category Moderate rooms offer showers with no variations that feature a bathtub.

Take good care, we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us and looking after you again! All the very best, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights, in moderate (basic) double. I liked the room and bathroom. Both modern and 'simple' stylish. Nice comfortable bed. Own Air con control, (but not in every room) so could reduce the temp in winter as heating permenantly on. No opening window. The lighting in the room and bathroom was mood lighting. Without the option of a big main light, so was quite dim, and definately no good lighting near any of the 3 mirrors to see to do make up etc.

The hotel public areas are very nice and modern, plus roomy. Including the landings and hallways. There are 3 bars/restaurants in the hotel, although on a Thursday night, we only found one to be open.

The breakfast is a very nice and comprehensive buffet, plus the omelette lady will make whatever omelette you wish! Amazing fresh breads, but no toaster, you would need to ask a member of staff to take it into kitchen to get toasted.

We did encounter a couple of issues with our 2 rooms, but on both occassions they were satisfactorily resolved (one quicker and easier than the other)

Swimming pool small - not really a 'swimming' pool, more a plunge/get wet and refresh after sauna pool. Plus not free to hotel guests, in fact they wanted an exorbitant £19 per day to use it.

Location good, although on the fringe on the city. Its surrounded by shops and restaurants and life. The tube link is excellent, and nothing key in the central city is more the 4 or 5 stops away.

Stockholm amazing, hotel good. All in all, a very good visit.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindlou6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyChu, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Stockholm, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hi Lindlou6! We're thrilled that you have a positive experience here and equally appreciative that you took the time to write about it here on TripAdvisor. I'm also happy to hear that we were able to resolve some issues you had with the rooms - thanks for letting us know, it's really important to us.

I'm unsure if you ended up using the pool or if you went by to have a look, but if not it is a part of our Elements Spa and the entrance intended for an all-round spa experience and includes access to the pool, saunas, usage of ayurvedic body products and hair products, ayurvedic tea and fruit, and scheduled yoga classes. If we did not properly inform you of the specific details then we'd like to apologise for that, otherwise we respect and acknowledge your opinion. Thank you once again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again!

Warm regards, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

the areas that were disappointing were:

- temperature and dry air in the rooms, it was very hot, despite the termostat being turned on the low temperatures (in January), in addition no possibility to open the window.

- very unstable wifi connectivity

- loud air-conditioning which makes it rather unpleasant during sleep

- there were some signs of wear & tear on the curtains and carpets

The good aspects are the location and breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riga_ef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyChu, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Stockholm, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hello riga_ef,

We're sincerely sorry to hear that your expectations were not met. Indeed, the points regarding the temperature, noise from the ventialtion and the unstable Internet areare not usual and it is unfortunate that your stay was affected by them. However as we naturally want all of our guests to be satisfied we are more than willing to be of assistance to make things right to the best of our ability.

We hope that you informed us of these details and that we were able to provide some action or alternatives. If not then we encourage everyone to not hesitate to let us know if there is something that is not quite right - either as a matter of taste of if there is a feature of the room that is not functioning as it should be. It's of the utmost importance to us that our guests are happy!

Also, although the design of the hotel is such that the majority of rooms do not have windows that open. There are however some rooms (albeit very few) that are an exception due to the architecture. We also try our best to keep the hotel updated, and attempt to rectify signs of wear individually as often as we can, and throughout the year we schedule work that involves more extensive planning and replacement.

If we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us in the future please do not hesitate to let us know of your preferences as well as the issues that you experienced this stay. You are also welcome to ask to be put in contact with myself directly - it would be my pleasure to help ensure that you have a great stay. Warm regards, Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Clarion Hotel Sign
Clarion Hotel Sign
#38 of 154 in Stockholm
3,363 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#36 of 154 in Stockholm
2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#49 of 154 in Stockholm
2,744 reviews
Kungsholmen
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
#63 of 154 in Stockholm
1,958 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#50 of 154 in Stockholm
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Stockholm

Property: Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Address: 98 Ringvaegen | Box 20025, Stockholm 118 60, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#11 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#24 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#28 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#30 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Stockholm 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Clarion Hotel Stockholm guests can enjoy a modern hotel with art and music and design as part of its integral character. Be inspired and enjoy the hotel's unique pulse and surroundings with our restaurant Eatery Social and our heavenly Ayurveda-inspired Elements Spa. It is not however just about fantastic food, spectacular art displays, great music or mingling. Our passion and focus is on providing you with a wonderful night's sleep and increasing your quality of life. Choose from our 532 rooms and luxurious suites that best suit your needs. We look forward to welcoming you and giving you a stay to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Clarion Hotel Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Stockholm
Stockholm Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing