We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You are not welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Ranked #46 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You are not welcome”
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Reception cold and anonymous, (I am staying there every two weeks) ask your credit card and get in advance the entire amount of stay without even asking.
When asking for assistance (bath tub not working, no hankershieft in teh room...etc..etc...) , you are answered by people not watching your face or distract from what they are doing. The reception staff make it clear that you annoy them...

The onl;y good point is that the hotel is very well located !!!

By the way i am Gold member but this does not make any difference!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe_AKIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyChu, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Stockholm, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your views. We are of course very disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction. Regarding the credit card policy, the procedure of a pre-authorisation on check in is internationally standard and unless otherwise requested the actual finalised payment is settled on departure. However it is also very important that this is properly communicated.

Your experiences with our service seems very uncharacteristic of what we strive for and what we often receive praise for, and I would like to be in contact with you in order to discuss matters in hope that the experiences of your future stays with us will be positive ones.

Contrary to your current belief your repeat patronage is genuinely very much appreciated and important to us, at the same time it is of utmost importance to us that a guest of ours has a pleasant and satisfying experience regardless of how often they stay. I truly hope to have the pleasure of communicating with you soon.

Sincerely, Anthony Chu anthony.chu@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,005
    1,042
    398
    126
    51
See reviews for
323
852
169
814
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

This hotel has the perfect location if you are attending an event in the Globen area but still want to be close to the city center. It is very modern and fresh and has all the ammenities a business hotel has to offer. I had a sigle room on the 7th floor, it was very spacious with a large comfortable bed. Breakfast in the morning ver very abundant with plenty of choices. There are a lot of shopping possibilities next to the hotel - Åhlens is right next door. A major subway stop is located by the entrance, all bars, clubs and cafés in Söder are close by. A short walk will take you to the Old City, I didn't feel the need to take the subway at any point.

Would deffinitely stay here again next time I am in Stockholm.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyChu, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Stockholm, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Dear norajay, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and it's surrounding area of Södermalm and beyond - thanks for taking the time to share your review. You are more than welcome back to us at any time! Be well, regards Anthony Chu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

I stayed here in March 2011 with my boss on a 2-day business trip, it was my 2nd visit to Stockholm, the previous one was on a city break.
The hotel is very large and well designed and extremely clean. The staff were exceptionally friendly as you would expect for Sweden. They were happy to help with recommendations of where to go out in Stockholm on a Friday night.
The room I had was a twin room, and it was again very clean and comfortable and also very quiet.
As we were on a conference that was located also at the hotel, food was included and I found this to be very good quality, it had obviously been freshly cooked, there was a good selection including vegetarian options provided.
The breakfast is also massive with an almost limitless choice of food to have, the coffee especially is very nice.
The location of the hotel is good as there a number of restaurants and bars/clubs within 10-15 minute walk. It is also on the metro line for a quick link right in to the centre or to Arlanda airport. The main road outside means it is never hard to get a taxi.
The only negative thing I would have to say is that when I was there there was only a very small gym, with just 2 treadmills and a step machine, but they are in the process of building a new one apparently. The gym room is also very very hot.
All in all a very good hotel for business, although I preferred the one I stayed at on my previous trip (Skeppsholmen) for pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GorillaFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyChu, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Stockholm, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences! It is very gratifying to read of your satisfaction with us and your time in Stockholm. I thought you may like to know that our new gym has since opened and I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us.

Best Regards, Anthony Chu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

As far as hotels in Stockholm go this was fantastic. Value for money, comfortable and close to underground and buses. Plus, if you want to stay in Sodermalm it's really the only hotel I would consider

Stayed 3 nights at the Clarion hotel in mid December in a single room. The room was tiny but very functional and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Even though the hotel was packed with teenagers that weekend (concert and swim meet) I didn't find that it was too noisy. I loved the breakfast buffet which was very extensive and could have happily stayed there for hours sampling the different foods. Front desk weren't overly friendly but then again the hotel was jam packed and very busy all weekend, they lightened up on Monday when everyone had left :)

.

Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Eddwina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Askim, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

The freeway is going straith under the hotell. It was a lot of noise . We asked to change the room , and got a standard room , when we already had paid for a delux room. Ind the morning they started construction work at seven ind the morning !!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konefar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyChu, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Stockholm, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Dear Konefar, we're very sorry to learn of your experience.

We feel that our rooms overlooking the Ericsson Globe and the panoramic view surrounding it are well isolated, but if one is used to an environment of total silence then we understand that the contrast of faint urban activity in the background may be sensitive for some, and we are always happy to help with alternatives that suit our guests.

That you state that you received a lesser room category while still paying for the higher one is surprising - that is not how we handle a change to accommodate guest preferences and I would like to look into this further.

Finally, while we are currently in the process of building Elements Spa at our hotel, the timing of work is well-planned with the avoidance of guest disturbance always as a top priority. 7 AM is a forbidden time period for any work of that nature and we are sorry that you did not have a comfortable sleep.

I would like to help follow up on your points - please contact me so that I can investigate your experiences and take care of you appropriately.

Best Regards, Anthony Chu : anthony.chu@choice.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We had an amazing stay at Clarion - Great rooms with a modern touch.

Breakfast was also delicious, having pretty much everything.

A slight drawback for me was that it was a bit far away from the city centre on foot but it was not a big deal since I like walking and hence -even after clubbing in the night- you could easily walk safely back to the hotel.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank alexandrosg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2011

the beds are very comfortable! rooms are spacious, good closet space...and THE BEST breakfast around!!!

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank veraoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Clarion Hotel Sign
Clarion Hotel Sign
#37 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,307 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#47 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#35 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,335 reviews
Kungsholmen
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
#63 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Scandic Malmen
Scandic Malmen
#80 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Stockholm

Property: Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Address: 98 Ringvaegen | Box 20025, Stockholm 118 60, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#11 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#24 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#28 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#34 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Stockholm 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Clarion Hotel Stockholm guests can enjoy a modern hotel with art and music and design as part of its integral character. Be inspired and enjoy the hotel's unique pulse and surroundings with our restaurant Eatery Social and our heavenly Ayurveda-inspired Elements Spa. It is not however just about fantastic food, spectacular art displays, great music or mingling. Our passion and focus is on providing you with a wonderful night's sleep and increasing your quality of life. Choose from our 532 rooms and luxurious suites that best suit your needs. We look forward to welcoming you and giving you a stay to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Clarion Hotel Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Stockholm
Stockholm Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing