We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly good food!”
Review of Aifur Krog & Bar

Aifur Krog & Bar
Reserve with
Aifur Krog & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 3,046 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $172
Cuisines: Swedish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Description: Aifur Restaurant & Bar is named after the legendary Viking ship Aifur and the result of 15 years of accumulated knowledge and research about life, food and culture from the years 700-1100, merged with skilled and knowledgeable staff in a great location in ”Gamla stan”, the Old Town of Stockholm. Our kitchen is historical informed and for those who are just thirsty there is a seperate bar area.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good food!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I took our nephews there for dinner so they could experience a bit of 'viking' atmosphere. We didn't expect much from the restaurant, but the food turned out to be very good! What I didn't appreciate was the foul smell, but overall it's worth taking kids there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KidKoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    282
    66
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“time travel”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

You have to live it to believe it! Go there for the weekends to listen to Viking music (live!) while eating moose of reindeer steak!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bojana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarfalla, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wierd!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

I did not like the presentation-part, when inform to everyone that we have arrived to restaurang. It was impossible to eat with their silverwear. Food was good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Milda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I wouldn't count it as the best meal I had, but defentily the best dinner I had!
I came by myself, and it took about half a second to start conversations with people, and it is because of the restaurant, you'll see why when you get there and you have to try it!.
from the dishes to the decorations on the wall and the clothing of the workers, everything will feel Viking or medieval, and the workers are amazingly nice, they will make sure that you are having fun and enjoy the company that you're in.
Also the music will be very subtle but beautiful and at some point at least in the day that I was in, there is a live show, it feels like they are just playing as they want & having fun, so you don't feel rude about talking or making a bit of noise but still the music is wonderful.
and lastly the drinks, you can try a few nice beers with cool names, such as Merlin or Demon. but I suggest you'll try mead, which is a viking drink taste like honey wine, I love it, and was glad that they served it.

so have fun in this place, I loved it, really made my visit fantastic.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank altonormz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I live in Stockholm and have heard many people talk about this restaurant. So my dad decided to pay me a visit and thought this was the perfect opportunity to try this restaurant we had heard simp much about. From the moment we got there to the moment we left, the experience was amazing. From our welcome to the traditional cutlery, the whole thing was great. It felt like you had gone back in time. It was a little pricey but I say it was defiantly worth it for the atmosphere and experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aifur Krog & Bar also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Aifur Krog & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing