We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensible Hotel, Convenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Royal Star
Ranked #92 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was an exceptional deal and could not be more delighted. I stayed 2 nights with my husband. The Stockholm card and breakfast was included each day. The hotel is close to the transportation (3 stops from the central station). The breakfast selection was large (not just cereal) and the room was adequate for our needs. I would stay here again. Although there isn't much option for late night dining or room service I was ok with the proximity to the downtown area and preferred to go anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MA1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 159 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stockholm was our last stop along the long road trip with three kids, before taking ferry back to Finland. The star was friendly, hotel clean. The best part was when we entered the room. Even if I had two boys, the whole family was nothing less then WOW. The room given to us was Hello Kitty themed. Clean, neat, comfy and best part of all perfectly adjusted air con. Reasonably priced. Provided early breakfast due to early departure. A definite recommendation, specially if travelling by car.

Room Tip: Request a properly themed room if travelling with young kids. We got a Hello Kitty room although we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wajjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

If you are attending the Stockholmsmassan for a conference or expo, this hotel is well located, being a short walk from the Stockholmsmassan. There are no sights nearby and the hotel is the only option for a meal in the evening, so if you are not attending a conference, a hotel closer to the city centre would be preferable. The city however is only a short train ride away, and there is a station with frequent trains into the city a short walk away. The room was comfortable and clean, the breakfast plentiful and with good variety, there is a gym with plenty of exercise options available, and free wifi a bonus. My only criticism is the ineffectiveness of the curtains to completely black out the room, which is an issue during the summer months when the sun rises around 0300.....make sure you take eye shades.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I was here recently to follow an Expo in the near Stockholmsmassan.
I found this Hotel positive for 3 reasons:
- Breakfast
- Proximity to the fair location
- Free wiifi
For the rest nothing good:
- Bathroom quite big but a real "lake" after taking a shower
- No room service
- Closet realy old and dirty
- No bar open during evening/night
- No restaurant
- Far from downtown (15/20 min by Cab)
- No facilities in the proximity
So I think this is the last time...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Hotels in Stockholm are expensive to begin with so this seemed like a good choice because the rooms looked nice and it was close to the train station. If you book the basic room, you will be placed in a musty, extremely outdated room. As we walked in, all I could say is, "This has got to be a joke." We ended up paying extra to be upgraded to the same size room, with paint, Ikea furniture, and hard wood floors (much better than the gross blue carpet.) I would have cancelled our reservation completely, however, the entire reservation was non refundable.

The train station is not far but your total trip into central Stockholm can range anywhere from 10-30 minutes. This is not a fun situation in the colder months.

The breakfast here is great! Free breakfast seems hard to find anywhere in Europe so this was definitely nice to have before a long day of walking.

Overall, if you are in town for business in Alsvjo, this may be a good option. If you are in town to sight see or do anything in the city, spend the extra money on a nice hotel in central Stockholm.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I was very surprised when I came into my room!!! It was completely clean and very beautiful. I didn't expect to have such a great room for so low price!!! Girl on the reception was very nice and helpful. Also free breakfast was very good and tasty! I'm very satisfied amd I'll recommend this hotel to everyone.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Tommy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Royal Start Hotel Stockholm is situated a couple of kilometers outside Stockholm center, while very close to Stockholmsmässan. It's quite easy to get there with public transportation as it's only nine minutes with any of the southbound commuter trains (Stockholm C -> Älvsjö station) and then a short walk (a few hundred meters). Take to the left outside the station and then the first road to the right.

The hotel doesn't look that fancy from the outside but don't make that fool you - inside you'll find a welcoming hotel.
The room I got this time was not that large, it had two really wide beds and a nice bathroom with a luxury feeling. A really good room for a good sleep, a morning shower and then off again to the next stop on my trip.

But before leaving the hotel this time – breakfast. It was great. Well presented, contained what to expect at a buffet breakfast in Sweden and then some. The breakfast restaurant was calm and silent and designed in a German style, white walls, and dark brown wooden beams in the ceiling which gave the restaurant a homely feeling.

If you are you visiting or exhibiting at the Stockholmsmässan and prefer a homely hotel, I recommend the Royal Star Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlFredrikK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Best Western Capital Hotel
#105 of 154 in Stockholm
247 reviews
ApartHotel Telefonplan
#107 of 154 in Stockholm
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Hotell Dialog
#127 of 154 in Stockholm
166 reviews
2Home Stockholm South
#139 of 154 in Stockholm
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Star

Address: Massvagen, Alvsjo, Stockholm 125 30, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $94 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Royal Star 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Royal Star in Alvsjo is located a 10 minutes drive by car or train from Stockholm City Center. The bright and airy hotel have 103 spacious and tastefully decorated rooms, well suited for both conference guests as well as families with children. Our conference facilities are modern and can accommodate up to 90 participants in the biggest room. We also offer sauna, solarium and one of the biggest hotel fitness center in Stockholm. We offer free parking outside the hotel for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Royal Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Royal Star
First Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing