We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Star
Ranked #93 of 157 Hotels in Stockholm
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just fine”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This hotel's reason for being seems to be its proximity to International Fairs conference centre, and so there is a kind of 'take it or leave it' attitude among staff. Although I had booked a double room with my partner they gave us a room with a cot in it ("You don't have to pay extra for it" "But there's no room for luggage or to move in the room!"), and eventually found us another. Hours of opening (for meals, etc.) advertised in the room guides did not match what actually happened. Bed mattresses were very soft! The proximity to the excellent Stockholm transportation network is a real plus, but during the construction on the Alvsjö station the signage to the hotel is not very clear-- so we wandered around quite a bit with luggage in tow looking for the hotel. The advantage for this hotel is not what it is but what it is near. That said, the breakfast smorgasbord was lavish, the wifi was free and consistent, and I loved the in-room pants press!

Room Tip: Be sure to check that your room is what you requested before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    63
    31
    12
    3
See reviews for
39
25
9
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We used this hotel as a base for a few sightseeing days in Stockholm and booked via destination Stockholm so we got our Stockholm alacarte cards included. It was so close to Alvsjö train station and only a 10 min trip to central station - the trains came so frequently you never needed to check the timetables.
The alacarte cards made it so easy with all public transport included and included entry to most destinations we were keen on and the cards were valid the moment we got there and included the whole of check out day.
The hotel itself wasn't super flash but for us it was just a sleeping place anyway - the breakfast was great!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Agr8family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed here twice this year, February and May, both pleasant trips. Rooms are lovely and have all the amenities you need when travelling. Lovely breakfast selection to set you up for the day too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SneekyPeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Pole, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Just 10 minute commuter train ride from T-Centralen, also close to Alvsjo bus station.

Probably too pricey, but this is Sweden after all - nothing here is cheap :)
Free wifi (ask for the access code at the reception) / gym / sauna.

Oh, and the breakfast is included.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I would give this hotel 2 and a half stars at best. DO NOT stay here in the warmer months as there is no air conditioning. I was originally on the first floor and didn't feel safe having the door to the balcony open at night as I was travelling alone. I got moved to a higher floor where I left the balcony door open for air but it was incredibly noisy since the highway is right next to it.
The internet is painfully slow. The decor is straight from the 80s. The only plus side was the comfy bed and the bathroom was newer. If you can avoid this hotel, please do!

Room Tip: I was given a room on the first floor and it was so disgusting and dated. I asked to be moved and go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Please AVOID this hotel at all costs.

The room was faultless; very clean and comfortable. This is the only good comment that I can post.

The front of house staff and restaurant staff were pleasant; when they could be found.

I arrived at 10am on the Saturday morning after spending a week working in Estonia. I needed to have my laundry done. I spoke to the lady on the front desk and she told me that she could only send it away the following morning (before 9am), she failed to tell me that the also did an evening collection at 6pm. She then told me that their would be a "Slight" premium for having it done on a Sunday. I had no other means of doing it, so agreed. The items that Ihad done were:

4 Tee Shirts
2 Pairs of Trousers
1 Face towel
3 Jumpers
4 pairs of Socks
7 pairs of boxershorts

I was charged a total of 2782 SEK; roughly £260! When I argued about it, I was told "I should have bought replacement ones instead of laundering them.

Again; AVOID this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Several features made this hotel clearly not 4 star (e.g., the bar and restaurant only open from 18:00 to 22:00 daily, staff refusing to re-stock reception fridge from the store room as "not their job", stuffy rooms due to no air con). On the plus side, it is clean, mostly smart, and the rooms are exceptionally quiet. However, it is in a VERY isolated location - quite easy to get to the centre with very regular 10 minute trains from the station next door, but nothing but highway for miles around. The one exception is the conference centre which is only a couple of minutes walk. This hotel would be worth considering if you get a good deal and your going to a conference, otherwise have a look for something better in the centre. Apart from anything else, if your not at a conference you'll find it impossible to eat during lunch time (withougt taking a train) given the highly restricted opening hours of the bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1492trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockholm
BEST WESTERN Capital Hotel
#106 of 157 in Stockholm
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Alvsjo
#3 of 3 in Alvsjo
108 reviews
Ostermalm
Best Western Hotel Karlaplan
Best Western Hotel Karlaplan
#105 of 157 in Stockholm
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Star

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal Star
Address: Massvagen, Alvsjo, Stockholm 125 30, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Star 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Royal Star in Alvsjo is located a 10 minutes drive by car or train from Stockholm City Center. The bright and airy hotel have 103 spacious and tastefully decorated rooms, well suited for both conference guests as well as families with children. Our conference facilities are modern and can accommodate up to 90 participants in the biggest room. We also offer sauna, solarium and one of the biggest hotel fitness center in Stockholm. We offer free parking outside the hotel for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Royal Star
First Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing