We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of info on Stockholm history and nice for kids”

Stockholm City Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.64*
and up
Stockholm Super Saver: Stockholm City Walking Tour Including Vasa Museum plus...
More Info
$22.10*
and up
Bohemian Stockholm Walking Tour
Ranked #36 of 94 Tours in Stockholm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The City Museum is closed for renovation, to reopen during autumn 2017 with a new permanent exhibition focusing on stories of Stockholm. New exhibition spaces mean that many never-before-seen objects can be displayed. Stockholm's history is an adventure, and you will get to experience it in a brand new way! During the time for renovation we organize public city-walks every day. Most of them in Swedish. You are always welcome to book a private guided tour in English. Available tours in English includes the historic Stockholm and the Old town, the Millennium tours (the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo), ABBA City Walk, The World Heritage Woodland Cemetery and visits to The City Museums four historically restored apartments.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lots of info on Stockholm history and nice for kids”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Usually has great exhibits concerning Stockholm and it's history. They cater for the kids as well, both with information in the exhibits and a nice play area.
Note that it is no longer free as it used to be though. Entrance is 70 SEK (which gives you access for a calendar year).

They have information in English, but not for everything so it might be slightly less interesting for those who don't know Swedish.

They also have a very nice room with photos and other information on specific areas and streets in Stockholm (Faktarummet). Great if you are interested in a particular place in Stockholm. The opening hours for the room are restircted though so check them before you go.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank martinsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    28
    13
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Interesting Dragon Tattoo tour”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

This review is only for the Millennium Tour -

I attended this tour after only viewing the Original Swedish movies. I think this tour would be great for someone that read the books because the guide did a really great job of explaining not only scenes and situations from the book but how they related to actual events that occurred in Sweden.... Also taking the tour allowed me to explore parts of Stockholm that I would normally have never visited.....

But be warned after purchasing your ticket at the museum the actual starting point of the tour is a bit of a hike so allot about 15 mins to get there

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank shaste80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lot of history in a little space”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Walked all the way around it before we found the entrance - signs not good. Admission was free. It isn't huge but packs a lot of interesting exhibits into a small space. Would thoroughly endorse it for anyone who has Stockholm ancestors, like me. You will certainly learn how your ancestors lived. Fun little children's area and there's a cafe to have a light meal or snack.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank crivitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stopped in here because we passed it during one of our walks - and it is free. This was a very interesting museum. Some exhibits more than others. It was interesting to see some historical aspects of Stockholm as well as how city life is evolving. If you have the time, this museum is definitely worth a stop. The staff at the front desk are very helpful and answered our questions regarding something we read in the museum.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank abumbolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“For fans of Steig Larsson Millennium Trilogy”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We did the Wednesday evening English Tour and it was fantastic. I am now having to re-read the books as it has given me a greater understanding of what Steig was trying to convey. Even if you haven't read the books, the tour also shows where some of the scenes for the Swedish films were and some for the new American version. The guide explained a bit about Sweden, Stockholm and the area in general so if you are taking a long someone who knows nothing about Millennium, they will still get something out of it. The tour lasted a couple of hours and we walked a fair way in that time. That area is surprisingly hilly and has lots of cobbled streets so just be warned.

Highly recommend it!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank ED987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stockholm City Museum also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Stockholm City Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing