We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a Visit”
Review of Nordic Museum

Nordic Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.89*
and up
Shore Excursion: Red Buses Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass
More Info
$47.85*
and up
Stockholm Red Bus 72h Hop-On Hop-Off Ticket
More Info
$25.29*
and up
Stockholm City Hop-On Hop-Off Boat Tour
Ranked #40 of 310 things to do in Stockholm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Nordiska museet. Discover exhibitions on Swedish trends and traditions in areas such as home interiors, fashion, jewellery, table settings, folk art, textiles, dolls houses and much more.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 6 Contributor
810 reviews
523 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 531 helpful votes
“worth a Visit”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

located on Djurgården, an island in central Stockholm, Djurgardsvagen 6-16 | Djurgarden, Stockholm 115 93, Sweden
this museum about history of Sweden, I Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours.
The staff friendly & helpful .
Before you start your trip in the museum you should take picture with the unique building .
Nordic museum bought or managed to get donations of objects furniture, clothes, toys etc. – from all over Sweden
The building is nice in inside & I like the items.
I like fabric, Swedish customs & altos of interesting items.
This museum contains all kinds of collections having to do with Nordic art and life, including food
I like the view from the museum balcony (Veranda) & enjoy in cold air.

I think this museum chance to about Sweden history recommended.
The fee cheap 100 krona.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TaherAlbaghliJulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    421
    202
    75
    33
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson Valley, NY
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The worst”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

With 3 ships in port the lines at the Vasa Museum were way to long for us to wait.
The beautiful architecture of the Nordic Museum which were steps away from the Vasa drew us in.
The interior was huge with little to see. It would make a great art museum similiar to Musee D'Orsey in Paris. The inside appeared empty and non inviting with only a few visitors except for some children from a summer program. The gift shop and food court were open. There were few exibits; living quarters of a Swedish family in the 1940's and a toy exhibit. Everything else seemed locked or empty.
Thankfully, we waisted only a little time and some Kroner's.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dist2ms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Nordiska Museet”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Nordiska Museum displays the traditions and trends of Sweden from 1500 to the present. It has the best recorded guide system I have used in any museum. It is a small, easy to use headset and recorder that you point at designated spots to hear a description. It is great. I especially liked the displays of table settings from different eras. I had lunch at the museum cafe, one of the most reasonably priced meals of my trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Captain_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“a bit dissapointing”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

It was a bit dissapointing. We went here because many other museums were closed. I found the content to be forgettable, the building however is amazing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Well worth a Visit, even on a Sunny Day”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We visited on a sunny day, the kind of day where you don't really want to be indoors at all, and it was still worth it. I would particularly recommend this museum to anyone on a short stay in Sweden who wants an overview of what the country is about in terms of design and culture.

My favourite displays were the table settings over time (more interesting then you would imagine), the Dalacarelian painted furniture and the textiles cabinet, which shows beautiful examples of weaving, embroidery etc. There are also excellent displays of furniture design. My husband enjoyed the museum as much as I did, in case I'm giving the impression that it's a girly type of place.

We also enjoyed our lunch in the servery on the ground floor - good quality food at reasonable (Swedish) prices.

Don't miss the downstairs reading room for a chance to sit down and read some English language (and other) magazines.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nordic Museum also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Nordic Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing