We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place but...”
Review of Langholmen Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langholmen Hotell
Ranked #74 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting place but...”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The converted prison makes for a very interesting stay. The beds are comfortable and its nice and quiet. The staff however are a little on the stiff side and could value from some customer service training. Not all visitors from other countries are as stand offish as some Swedes. Other than that a great stay and i would recommend this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank amidstt
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    105
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
38
51
23
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed in Långholmen, in the hotel section, at the end of May. It is definitelty the most interesting hotel I've stayed in. We had a lovely double room (which in Sweden means 2 single beds pushed together) which was overlooking the former inmates exercise yard with a simple but clean bathroom.

The wifi signal was excellent and the water in the shower was lovely and warm and the water pressure very good.

The hotel is a little bit outside the very centre of Stockholm but it is easy to get to the underground station and there is free parking at the hotel which is very useful if you're renting a car (or bringing your own) as parking in Stockholm tends to be quite expensive.

The staff at the reception desk were very friendly and were very helpful in suggesting nearby restaurants and telling us how to get to various places.

My favorite part of my stay was definitely the buffet breakfast, sitting outside in the sunshine.

I would definitely recommend Långholmen and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

As an experience, this has to be one of the best places I have ever stayed. The idea of staying in a converted prison is what brought me to this place and it paid off really well.
The beds were really comfortable and I slept great. The rooms were spotless and the bathroom was awesome (overhead shower head! You just don't see them anymore.)

My down points aren't bad as such but I would like them to be considered. Linen should be free, the locker wasn't big enough and your staff, though many were friendly, let themselves down in their tone late in the evening.

It's a little far from the centre but you can fix that with a 7 minute subway ride. If you want something different, this is definitely worth your time. I would likely stay again if I had the opportunity.
Also, side note. You HAVE to visit the Vasa museum. 100% the greatest attraction I have ever seen with my own two eyes in the real.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you like to try things that are different, try langholmen. A prison stay is a unique experience. The rooms are converted cell blocks, very clean and modern. Beds are comfortable. Staff is helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEThouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

While this hotel is wonderfully themed as a former prison, the service is good and its amenities are all covered, its one and only setback is location.

Indeed, Långholmen Hotell offers a very nice time while you're checked in. Breakfast is very varied and tasty, they have a nice terrace where you can eat it. Rooms are small, tiny, even, but don't let that worry you, even in a double room with bunk beds it is perfectly comfortable (I for once had fun sleeping on the top bunk). Wi-Fi is very good.

Now, regarding location, this hotel is as far from Gamla Stan, Norrmalm, Östermalm and Djurgården as it gets for any hotel hoping to cater to tourists. Far, however is not a bad thing in Stockholm. The Hornstull metro station is indeed a 10 min walk away, and getting to Gamla Stan or Norrmalm is quite easy. Depending on your visit, you might want to get a Stockholm card for unlimited public transport and many museum entrances.

And then there's Långholmen itself, the island is a beautiful city park with its own tiny beach and walking paths. The setting doesn't get any better.

One slight detail are the windows and the black-outs. They are cumbersome at times and don't entirely do what they're meant for. If you *really* need absolute darkness to sleep, keep this in mind.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThinkingCamilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

As others have mentioned, this is a converted prison on Langholmen island in Stockholm. I stayed in the hotel section rather than the hostel. As you'd expect for an ex-cell, the room was very small - for two people it might be awkward, but on my own it was fine. It still looks a lot like a prison and they use that as a feature rather than a drawback. I found the staff quite helpful and there was a nice complimentary apple on the table when I arrived.

I spent 4 nights here and found the hotel handy and pleasant. Comfortable bed, nice clean bathroom, good shower, working wifi etc.

It isn't exactly central, but the nearest t-bana station, Hornstull, is only about 10 minutes walk and the t-bana seemed extremely efficient - I never had to wait more than 5 minutes for a train, and it's only a few stops to the central station and Gamla Stan. Tip - get a Stockholm Card or some other public transport card and make the most of it. Also, try to do the walk to or from Gamla Stan at least once, as there's a path that takes you up high on the Sodermalm side and gives great views of the city.

Langholmen Island had a very holiday feel to it - lots of kids partying on the tiny beaches, people jogging along the leafy tracks. If you like to kayak, there's a hire place just near the bridge.

The only drawback is something which seems to be standard in Sweden - there's no way to cool the room or get fresh air without opening the window, but if you open the window you can't use the blackout shutters so the light makes it hard to sleep.

That's only a minor quibble. Overall this was a unique hotel, near the city, but with a real holiday feel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISRAEL
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Imagine spending a night or two in jail for a crime you never committed. I think the novelty effect made the stay all the more interesting but the tiny room was clean and comfortable.
The hotel is on a small island about a 15 minute walk from the nearest metro station and about 4km from the center of town.
Breakfast was excellent with a large choice of breads, cereals, jams, cheeses, eggs and even caviar!
Two minor problems- the light came in early and the hot water was not very hot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATALIAIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Maude's Hotel Enskede
#66 of 154 in Stockholm
191 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#89 of 154 in Stockholm
223 reviews
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#96 of 154 in Stockholm
258 reviews
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotel Hellstens Malmgard
Hotel Hellstens Malmgard
#18 of 154 in Stockholm
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langholmen Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langholmen Hotell

Property: Langholmen Hotell
Address: 20 Laangholmsmuren | Box 9116, Stockholm 117 33, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Hornstull & Langholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Langholmen Hotell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Långholmen Hotell is housed in a 19th century prison building on Långholmen Island in Stockholm. It offers free parking and unique prison cell rooms with flat-screen cable TVs and free Wi-Fi access.The modern rooms at Hotell Långholmen retain many authentic features. All have parquet floors and are equipped with a laptop safe and a work desk.An attractive atrium gallery dating from 1866 is situated in the middle of the complex. Stockholm's most captivating prison museum is open daily, and guided tours are given at weekends. The hotel is located in a relaxing park environment with jogging tracks.Långholmen Wärdshus Restaurant offers contemporary Swedish cuisine. The old prison entrance hall now houses a 24 hour cafeteria. Drinks are available at Finkan Bar.Hornstull, with its bars, restaurants and metro station, is a 10-minute walk from the hotel. A beach is located 100 metres from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Langholmen Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell Langholmen Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing