We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unbelieveable former Swedish prison”
Review of Langholmen Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Langholmen Hotell
Ranked #75 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in this unusual hotel for four nights, quite an experience. The location is fabulous, on the island of Langholmen, a short distance by a small bridge to the rest of Stockholm. We had a twin room, a rare facility, there appeared to be only two of these on each of the three floors. The whole place has been carefully re-fitted, very comfortable rooms, if slightly on the small size, but
then it was originally a prison until 1975! Good hot showers. We had a room on the ground floor, with the original guard house outside, including a model guard and well lit at night.
Our Swedish friends thought it was expensive for what we got. We found that Stockholm, by English standards, is a very expensive city to stay in, but we thought we had a really good place to stay for our money. The island is worth a walk around. A beach, wooded walks, and community gardens which we thought were rather like allotments. Breakfast was a diverse spread of meats, cheeses, yogurts, fruit, crispbreads, rye bread, and excellent coffee. Swedish tea is a weak teabag in a mug of hot water thing. Best avoided. Great place, would stay there again.

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floors less likely to get draughts from the reception doors being constantly opened and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 124Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 229 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

It's an old jail, retrofitted to todays levels of luxury you expect from a hotel, or hostel. You get to stay in cells, the city is walking distance, and you (usually) grt to park your car. Even the shower, and and mirrors are jail themed! Very nice work indeed. If I come back to Stockholm, I'm staying here.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

A friend recommended this hotel to me, as a Stockholm City Guide I took her advice and was I pleased I did! Easy to find off the E4 into the city, and on it's own island so very peaceful. The building is a very good conversion of the old prison, retaining it's character and the rooms are the actual cells, albeit rather more comfortable now.

If you book low season, you'll get the hotel for the hostel rates, which were very good.

The room (322) had a bunk bed, was compact as you'd expect of a prison cell, and the bathroom good. Everything was there and worked well. Very clean.

The staff throughout my stay were nothing short of excellent, friendly, helpful, knowledgeable. Service was quietly efficient and the food at breakfast was first class with a wide range to suit tastes. I'd originally only planned to stay two nights but extended to four and would've stayed longer if I could.

One of the few hotels I know where I wouldn't actually change a thing. I'll certainly stay there whenever I'm in Stockholm and recommend it. It's not luxury, but it's very comfortable, it's quirky, it's fun, it's novel, and I loved it.

Well done!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harleyBoy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Had quite low expectations but they were exceeded. Nice room with tiled bathroom, safe, lots of electrical outlets and a nice history touch with the celldoors and a schedule of a normal prison day. Stayed alone in the room and it would have gotten a little cramped with two people staying in the room. The second bed was like on a boat so it folded down from the wall...

Nice breakfast with most choices and a nice little bar with very reasonable prices for being in Stockholm. The food in the restaurant wasn't particularly good but the staff was friendly.

Quite location with about 10 minutes walk to the nearest subway station.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwedenDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Based on a lovely little semi rural island 4 t-banna stops from the centre of Stockholm, rooms are converted prison cells and very clean. You can stay Hostel style or in private rooms with en-suite. Friendly staff, good food and very reasonable (which in Stockholm makes it unique). This is the second time I've stayed here when on business in Stockholm and quite apart from the peace and quiet it means I always have finances left over to spend in the city.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francescadawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

No grumbles at all: Staff were ALL friendly, helpful and courteous. Room small as expected but full of character. We stayed in the museum area which was very interesting. Showers and toilets were very clean. We had breakfast once which was more than adequate with tremendous variety. Used the kitchens on other days which had everything required including personal fridge lockers. There were quite areas and TVs available and it was set in the most glorious surroundings - the Autumn colours were incredible.
Highly recommend and excellent value.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dav3R0b3rts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed just one night which was perfect for us. Sleeping in an ex-prison could be seen as a bit of a young backpackers delight, however we were just looking for a bed for the night that didn't cost a small fortune in Stockholm. Pretty much everything is adequate, with small rooms a given. I was surprised the wi-fi worked in such a heavy building but this is Sweden after all. Nothing if not hi-tech.
I'd recommend for youngsters and backpackers, less so for families and businessmen.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank rachel o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Story Hotel Signalfabriken
#33 of 155 in Stockholm
417 reviews
ApartHotel Telefonplan
#107 of 155 in Stockholm
17 reviews
Maude's Hotel Enskede
#70 of 155 in Stockholm
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasastan
Stallmastaregarden Hotel
Stallmastaregarden Hotel
#61 of 155 in Stockholm
465 reviews
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Kungsholmen
Connect Hotel City
Connect Hotel City
#66 of 155 in Stockholm
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langholmen Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langholmen Hotell

Address: 20 Laangholmsmuren | Box 9116, Stockholm 117 33, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Hornstull & Langholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $111 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Langholmen Hotell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Långholmen Hotell is housed in a 19th century prison building on Långholmen Island in Stockholm. It offers free parking and unique prison cell rooms with flat-screen cable TVs and free Wi-Fi access.The modern rooms at Hotell Långholmen retain many authentic features. All have parquet floors and are equipped with a laptop safe and a work desk.An attractive atrium gallery dating from 1866 is situated in the middle of the complex. Stockholm's most captivating prison museum is open daily, and guided tours are given at weekends. The hotel is located in a relaxing park environment with jogging tracks.Långholmen Wärdshus Restaurant offers contemporary Swedish cuisine. The old prison entrance hall now houses a 24 hour cafeteria. Drinks are available at Finkan Bar.Hornstull, with its bars, restaurants and metro station, is a 10-minute walk from the hotel. A beach is located 100 metres from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Langholmen Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell Langholmen Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing