We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, lovely, clean hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I've travelled and stayed in a lot of hostels and this is one of my favourites to date. It has great style, is clean, very friendly and sociable (not too loud, not too quiet). Only issue was the size of the 2bed privates which were small and not up to the same quality as the dorms (which we also stayed in briefly).
Its easy to travel to the sites and some of the more urban areas in sodermalm. Overall and excellent stay

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigershungry5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

830 - 836 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2010

Where do I start. Firstly the rooms are like dungeons in the basement. Don't try sitting up if you have the top bunk, else you'll find your head will be getting a good view of the upstairs floorspace. General cleanliness was very poor, bathroom and toilet facilites were particularly bad. Being in the basement, everything smelt damp. Internet and kitchen facilities were the only plus, but for almost 25GBP per night, it's a rip off. Also the shoes off policy is ridiculous and as for the 7am, rule, don't expect it to be adeared to. We were woken at 6am. Give this hostel a miss, if you'd like a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncarring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBPmanager, Informationsansvarig at City Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2010

Hi Nick, it's always a pleasure hearing from you! As I wrote you in my e-mail, you must have misunderstood, there is no 7am rule. Of course if people have an early flight to catch, they have to be able to leave the dorms in the morning. I'm sorry you had such a hard time sleeping, but that is hard to avoid if you stay in a dorm. My best advice is to always travel with earplugs, or book a private room if you are easily disturbed. The prices at City Backpackers are not higher than other hostels in Stockholm, and if you had stayed for more than one night you might have enjoyed some of the things that we include for free, such as afternoon sauna, two hour bike hire and of course all the pasta you can eat!
Take care now, kindly Lena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

15 minute walk to rail station, 25 minute walk to the old town. The kitchen was big, free internet, and cool atmosphere overall. The bathrooms were okay, but the rooms were stuffy and couldnt open the windows. No free breakfast and everything is very expensive in Stockholm so beware!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldadventurer813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

The guided Bike Trip was superb...
Our Room was a typically Hostel Room...
The location is perfect in the inner city

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karli9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

The staff is very friendly. Location is great. Facilities such as internet and tv and kitchen are great. i loved the café and courtyard. Bike Tour is great. And not to forget the sauna and Bikes. I loved it here. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fad500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

This is one of the cleanest hostels I've stayed in. The rooms are cleaned on a daily basis. The communal areas are great - an outdoor courtyard perfect for smokers and coffee drinkers and a cosy but spacious lounge with computers, so it's easy to meet people / relax. Given that Stockholm is an expensive city, the free pasta and big, well-equipped kitchen are a real bonus. You're really close to Arlanda Express / Train Stations so no need to lug your bag around tubes / buses. There is a good range of services - printing facilities, WiFi everywhere, ability to leave bag and use kitchen / shower after checking out. I found it a real great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eurolinguaphiliac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Best hostel in Stockholm and one of the best I've ever stayed in. Very friendly, fun place, great atmosphere and the rooms were good. Security also strong. Only gripe is that the showers could do with a modernisation, but they're fine. Facilities are excellent for food and internet.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivermankowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
#8 of 154 in Stockholm
2,307 reviews
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Norrmalm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
#6 of 68 in Stockholm
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kungsholmen
City Hostel
City Hostel
#2 of 68 in Stockholm
417 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Skanstulls Hostel
Skanstulls Hostel
#8 of 68 in Stockholm
458 reviews
Vasastan
Hostel Dalagatan
Hostel Dalagatan
#12 of 68 in Stockholm
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Backpackers Hostel

Address: 2a Upplandsgatan, Stockholm 111 23, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range: $23 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — City Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect downtown location, lots of common areas, staff guided tours and a cafe with an international vibe. City Backpackers gives you a lot more than a bed to sleep in - It's simply your base camp for travellers exploring Stockholm.Free high speed internet on Mac and PC computers and free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms 24 hours!Free pasta - cook as much as you can eat!Free evening sauna - the ultimate Swedish experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your City Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Backpackers Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing