We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great hostel, lots of space, lots of room. Free pasta. Great location. Friendly staff. Free wireless internet. Computers with Internet access. TV. There is a private shower. Many people. Large kitchen and lounge.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshergiZer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,137)
There are newer reviews for City Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

714 - 720 of 1,137 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is one of the best hostel I have ever stayed in! Everything was just perfect. I was travelling on with a tour company and we stopped by at Stockholm staying for 2 nights here. I was placed in one of their 'apartment' equipped with a kitchen, shower and toilet with 5 other tour-mates of mine. As usual, you will get bunker beds but you also get individual reading light and socket which is just perfect for me because I have lots of electronic equipment to charge. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The hostel also runs various tours. I attended the meatball making class and it was superb.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2008_The_Dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBPmanager, Guest Relations Manager at City Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Hi there, thank you so much for the feedback! We try to travel a lot and stay at hostels worldwide to make sure we have the guests point of view - we've even made the whole staff stay at City Backpackers over night (but some of them didn't sleep much...) That's how you realize that small details like sockets and bed lights make a huge difference. It's nice that you noticed and appreciated it. And cool that you joined our cooking class and got to meet some of the other guests, not just the ones in your group! That's our favourite type of guests, social and eager to try new things! Kindly Lena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is one of the best hostels I ever stayed in. Its in a great location, Its clean and comfortable and it has lot's of space, including an excellent kitchen with free pasta all day long. Breakfast is basic but OK. But maybe the most important thing is that the hostel is a real backpackers haven and heaven. Its all about meeting travelers and having fun.
I highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odedk_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I like a lot this hostel. They do have loundry, computers, common room, sauna and even a small cafe where you can have your breakfast. The hostel is in walking distance from the train station (both, the one that goes to the airport and the regional/international train station), and so, is in walking distance from the comercial center. They do have activities within the week... great way to meet other travelers. The security is great, night-code to enter the hotel, other one to the rooms and finally another one to your room... inside the room a bring-your-padlock locker.

Great hostel, great city!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yo-no-fui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I loved the City Backpackers Hostel and it's definitely the best hostel I have stayed in. It's very easy to find and only 5-10 minute walk from the centre of Stockholm and central station. What impressed me most was the cleanliness of the hostel. Everything was kept very clean. I liked the idea of having private bathrooms so you had a shower, toilet and sink in the one room and there was hairdryers outside these bathrooms. There were about 6 of these private bathrooms and I never had to wait, there were also shared showers in some rooms or in the hall. Lots of computers with free internet so you didn't wait long for a free computer. Rooms were kept clean - I stayed in an 8 bed dorm and beds were comfortable. Rooms and the hostel itself had pin code access and good sized lockers so it was all very secure. Good vibe in the hostel and nicely decorated, the staff were also very lovely. You had to pay for linen which were of good quality, and also breakfast but this was quite good also with cereal, breadroll and coffee/tea. Highly recommended and would definitely stay here again. Loved City Backpackers!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brisbanetraveller91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The City Backpackers Hostel is awesome. I met new (good) friends and a lot of them! Facilities are very good, staff is very friendly! Awesome biking tours (where you have to wear a helmet though, grrr)... The only negative thing here is leaving!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thijs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My 2 friends and I (3 girls) booked a 8 pax dorm here and although we have other guys in our bunk, it was still a great stay and very safe. They have a pin code access that changes every noon into the hostel and a private pin code to your assigned bunk. It is near to the central station and within walking distance to all the major attractions. Free wifi throughout and free pasta in the big kitchen! They have individual shower room and toilet which is really great and private! Huge locker inside and outside the bunk too but you need your own pad lock. The staff are helpful but abit slow and have to wait. I would recommend this hostel to anyone who visit Stockholm!! Fantastic stay!! :)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjkidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
564 reviews
Norrmalm
At Six
At Six
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
331 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
1,307 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Backpackers Hostel

Address: 2a Upplandsgatan, Stockholm 111 23, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range: $25 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — City Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect downtown location, lots of common areas, staff guided tours and a cafe with an international vibe. City Backpackers gives you a lot more than a bed to sleep in - It's simply your base camp for travellers exploring Stockholm.Free high speed internet on Mac and PC computers and free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms 24 hours!Free pasta - cook as much as you can eat!Free evening sauna - the ultimate Swedish experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your City Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Backpackers Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing