We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location in Stockholm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
Ranked #93 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful location in Stockholm”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I only stayed for one day, but would have stayed longer if I could! Beautiful view of e.g. Stockholms city hall and Gamla Stan. Very helpfull staff. Fair price. Stayed in a 10-beds-room (bunk beds, the hostel part of the The Red Boat), the room was small but well arranged, so it did not feel like we were too many. When I arrived linen, a postcard, a brochure and a piece of candy was lying on my bed, I felt welcome. Slept well, maybe because of the seaway? Did not taste the breakfast, but I think it was priced SEK 75. OK shared bath facilities, OK toilet (was there only one? One more could be needed). When I left I stored my bag for some time in a deposit (on your own risk). Overall nice impression.

Room Tip: Be aware of what you are ordering - rooms in the hostel part are up to 10 persons. Everyone might no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank incognitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    96
    65
    27
    8
See reviews for
12
80
53
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is quite a charming place in terms of location. Sodermalm is a very cool location, near lots of eating places, shops etc. And The Red Boat is on the water with a view of the other islands and the city hall...at night it is especially lovely. It is tricky to get to, but if you do your homework first with some online research, and ask friendly Swedes along the way, you will discover the stairs or elevator down to the street along the water. My husband and I splurged on the best room ($214 a night) which had a view across the water and without that it would have been pretty dreary. Many hostels charge for linens but hotels usually do not and The Red Boast is both hotel and hostel so everything was included in our rate. The breakfast buffet was so-so and if you plan to eat a meal on the boat is is pretty basic youth food- spaghetti, chili, grilled cheese. The annoying thing was that there was no internet access in the room so you have to go to the lounges to get online. Granted, the lounges are charming and cozy, but if you need a quick bit of info it's a drag to schlep over to the lounge.

Room Tip: Depends on your budget, but if you feel like a splurge, definitely get a room with a view across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janny45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Actually I did not end up staying here - I really wanted to, it sounded so different and cosy. I am writing this review to inform others wanting to stay here. Likely you will be taking transit. If you are travelling at night - take a taxi from the train station to come here! Taking the metro is expensive and it is a long walk from there to the boat (I was told to get off at Slussen). I never made it as I could not find it in the dark. There is little signage and between the 6 lane expressway, and the construction, I thought this place did not really exist and went to another hotel. Sorry - so nothing against the hotel, just giving everyone advice that at night - take a taxi from wherever you land as opposed to trying to hoof it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank deliciao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

location is very good. almost everything nearby.
but the service is bad.didnt know that u have to pay for the towels extra. 20 Krones per towel.
the rooms look better than they actually are. for me it was too dark too narrow. well, I expected that but this was too much.
even if you stay longer than 2 nights no change of bedstuff. the thing is that it is expensive so I would like more for the money.

it was a nice experience to sleep in a boat on the water but too expensive for wht u got.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ouajdi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a couple of old boats which have been converted to bunk rooms. This sounded fun and unique which is why we decided to stay here.

Unfortunately these are old boats, not designed with modern safety concerns. On the front deck there are two large holes where the anchor chains went through, one containing a sharp piece of metal sticking into it. My first night I was walking on the deck in the dark and my leg fell into the hole. I now have a large scar on the front of my shin. The exacerbated response of the manager and frustration that this had happened again did not make me feel better. Neither did the first aid kit which had been raided on numerous occasions to take care of other travelers who had been hurt by the holes.

The response was to put an easily movable table on top of the holes.

For other issues, the beds are small and hard. The person on the top bunk will likely hit their head at least once and getting down when you can't sit up or turn around first is rather terrifying.

The room rents per person. If you are alone it's probably a good deal. If there are two of you there are many better cheaper safer options. If you have kids I would stay away. The holes could easily result in a broken leg for a child.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DirectFromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my girlfriend to explore Stockholm and really enjoyed it. Comfortable and clean room with a great location within easy reach of the Old Town. Breakfast (which was a little extra) was well worth it and friendly helpful staff. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

It has a red boat on the lake Malaren, near the old town (Gamla Stan). The boat is very pleasant, the rooms are very small, however. The shared bath (separate for men and women). Breakfast can be, but what we prefer a coffee shop in downtown. This may seem expensive for a cheap hotel, but compared to other cities within the local context. The staff is nice and the clarity is generally good, but the windows are very dirty. Very close to the old town, the town hall and excursion boats. Perfect place to start. Pleasant evenings sitting on the deck. First of all I recommend for young and adventurous.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Södermalm
Loginn Hotel
Loginn Hotel
#84 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Hotell Dialog
#115 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#88 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#8 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel

Property: The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
Address: 10 Soeder Maelarstrands Kajplatser, Stockholm 118 20, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Mariatorget , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Boat Hotel Stockholm
The Red Boat Hotel And Hostel
Den Roda Baten Red Boat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing