We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting and unique place to stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
Ranked #90 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Interesting and unique place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a lovely stay here, although it was bunk beds which wasn't very romantic it was a unique stay! The breakfast was nice, continental with a good choice, and the views over the water where beautiful at night! HOWEVER on the first night we had a room on the land side which was the worst night sleep! The water lapping was ok - it added character, but there was a very drunk and annoying bloke out side shouting from 4am - 6am which was unbearable! Although this wasn't the hostels fault they staff where really helpful and let us move to the other side of the boat with views over the water.. this was the fantastic as the views where lovely, and made up for the night before!
If your looking for a interesting hostel, then I would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluegrasstravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    92
    64
    26
    6
See reviews for
12
79
50
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cadca, Slovakia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a pleasure to stay on the white boat "Ran" for two nights. For a reasonable price you get a chance to stay in a unique place with an amazing atmosphere reminiscent of old navy days.

The Red Boat (the main boat with a reception) is truly charming with richly decorated reception/common room where you can buy some food and drinks, surf the internet or just chill out. I noticed some reviewers complaining that the white boat isn't so lovely as the red one. Maybe it isn't so richly decorated but the rooms are nice and cozy. Yes, they are tiny but you can't expect anything else from the boat. We were lucky to get a room on the waterside with a wonderful view on the Old Town. Showers in the hall are very clean and there is always hot water. The boat has also an excellent location near the Old Town so you don't have to take the tube or bus.

The only thing that bothered me were extremely thin walls. You can practically hear the entire conversations from the next room. So it's not a place for light sleepers. Although it depends on the room you get and other people staying on the boat with you.

Other than that I highly recommend this place. Who doesn't want to live on a boat for a few days? :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramira13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed at the Ran for 5 nights in September. As other reviewers have mentioned there are two boats: the Red Boat Hotel and the Ran. The main reasons I chose it were the central location, good price as well as the unique experience of staying on a boat. I wasn't disappointed. It's very close to shops, restaurants, cafes etc. The room was tiny, but charming. The view was amazing. The staff was friendly, polite and helpful. Breakfast was optional and came at extra charge. I liked that, as I don't eat breakfast. It was a bit noisy a couple of nights, but overall the experience was great.

Room Tip: My room was located on the first floor and all the bathrooms are located one ground floor, so I had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed 4 nights in the Red Boat Hotel with my partner in July 2012 and would highly recommend staying here. The novelty of staying on a boat and the superb views we had over the city of Stockholm were the highlights. The rooms are clean and full of character. They are quite small, though this is all part of the "boat experience" so was not a problem. The staff are very friendly and happy to help. The continental buffet at breakfast was simple but good. Some friends of ours paid a similar price for staying in another hotel nearby, with better facilities and larger rooms, but the experience of staying on a boat with the views we had were more than worth it. We considered staying in the hostel rather than the hotel as it is a lot cheaper, but having seen both options were pleased with our decision - especially once we saw the view our room had! We would definitely recommend a stay on the Red Boat - it's the most interesting hotel we've ever stayed in!

Room Tip: Select a room with "sea view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndsaygillot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I was in the hostel for two times and one time on the red boat!
The stuff was always helpful, rooms and shared bathrooms always clean!
Good location, very close from T-bana station in Slussen and from Gamla stan (5 min walk)!!
I recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Massim0_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siechnice, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Cheap, comfortable and well situated - this is basically what one looks for when searching for accommodation. And when one finds it, there's hardly anything left to wish for. The Red Boat is exactly this kind of place. Situated in the heart of Stockholm, it offers really much for a very reasonable price. Cosy and clean premises, very helpful staff and all of this on board in the middle of a fiord. One tiny disadvantage could be the size of the rooms (we had a double room with a bunk bed), they are really tiny. But then again, all in all when you're sleeping on a boat, you cannot complain.
Definitely worth trying out, I suppose I'd pick it once again by my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Platzeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

I have a penchant for things that are a little 'different' and the Red Boat triggered all these senses. A little walk away from the Gamla Stan, this is a cozy and helpful establishment. The view from the deck was interesting - a glimpse of the lit up Townhall and Old city together. I really wish I had more time to just stay on, just a couple of days, to feel the Viking touch. Would definitely recommend this one.

Room Tip: Try the rooms that face the water body or those on the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank somi700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Mariatorget
Loginn Hotel
Loginn Hotel
#81 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Motel L
#6 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#85 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Hotell Dialog
#114 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel

Property: The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
Address: 10 Soeder Maelarstrands Kajplatser, Stockholm 118 20, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Mariatorget , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Boat Hotel Stockholm
The Red Boat Hotel And Hostel
Den Roda Baten Red Boat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing