We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but exotic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rygerfjord Hotel and Hostel
Ranked #3 of 35 Stockholm B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We spent one night there, and the charm of the place got us through that. The room was tiny, the toilet made for midgets, there is absolutely no sound isolation, and it was freezing as well. But it's cheap, the location is perfect, and it's a beautiful little ship. Have a sense of adventure and try it! (For one night)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Helinela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for Rygerfjord Hotel and Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 369 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

I gave 4 point on rating for good experience to stay at boat hostel/hotel, location at Lake Mälaren and awesome scenic old town. Pro : Unique experience and good view Con : fair linen, amenities in the room and tiny bathroom. Staffs is very nice and allow us to check in earlier if the room is available and 2nd floor have big living room and TV set

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My girlfriend and I booked a room on the Rygerfjord for two nights in Stockholm. We found it good value as it kept us close to the old town and some of the best tourist sites for not a lot of money.

The staff is helpful and fantastic explaining things out to us and the common room was very comfortable with old leather chairs and a relaxing atmosphere.

As this is a boat everything was very small. Our room had a bunk bed and not much else in the way of space (think 7' by 7') and the shower stall was also very small.

That being said, you booked yourself onto a boat for a reason. Enjoy it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamiltonTraveller18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

You could live here. The staff are great and no matter what weather there is outside you are safe and warm.
The cabins are cool as and you feel like you have have joined the team aboard ship.
This is great value for money for a beautiful view of Stockholm across the water looking straight at the City Hall. Easy walk to the old part of Stockholm Gamla Stan and easy walk to Södermalm. In Södermalm Heaps of shops, food and cafes away from the touristy Gamla Stan. Having said that. Gamla Stan is amazing. Little laneways and cobblestones it is very enchanting. There are heaps souvenir shops and you can walk right by the palace. It's amazing. Go and Visit the Vasa Museum and the The medievil Museum is also very good or Skansen ( make a day of that!!) it's all good.
Don't pay any more that 120-150 SEK in a cab if you are coming from the Central railway. Make sure you fix a price. It is not very far. If you don't have a lot of baggage get the train to Slussen and walk down to Södermälarstrand you will see the boats. Also if you are coming from Arlanda Airport you can get a fixed price to Rygerfjord. Don't pay more than 470 SEK. Pay less but not more:) Get a fixed price before you put your bags in. Check what is says for the price displayed on the taxi window. Rygerfjord site has some recommendations in "Find Us" Section. Read it.
I have stayed at Rygerfjord three times now and it is always a wonderful experience. The breakfast is very good and if you are tired and you need a days rest stay on the boat and get lunch or dinner. You can buy a meal on board all day after breakfast is finished and you still have the amazing view of the city. Email or call them if you unsure of which room to book. The Hotel Mates cabins are more like the size of a hotel room with ensuite bathroom. The Hotel Cabins are smaller also ensuite, with portholes for windows and don't have much space for large luggage, but they are still really cool. If you want to stay on a boat live like you are on a boat! I say. Enjoy.
Also Good value for hostel rates and safe code in at night. Reception is always manned.

Room Tip: Have look at travellers photos ( and Rygerfjord site) and give the staff a call or and email. They w...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

If you want to try something different, try to stay on a boat =). It's a unique experience and my first boat experience in Europe. I choose Rygeford for my 1 night stay in Stockholm based on the price and reviews. The location is a little bit tricky, but easy to find, it’s firmly anchored at the center of Stockholm, it’s not too far from Slussen train station but also not that close. If you plan to travel light this is the place, if not, be ready to have extra massages for your arms (you’ll meet cobblestones path and stairs).

The room that I choose is a basic cabin on boat with shared bathroom, it’s a small basic room with bunk bed and it’s as my expectation. My travel companion and I are quite small in size, so we don’t really bother and we are the kind who can sleep everywhere. The bathroom and toilet are also small, but they are clean =). The toilet size is almost the same size as a lavatory on the plane, and remember Rygerford is a boat =). From this experience, now I know roughly how it feels to stay in a 2nd class cabin on Titanic with free wi-fi =D

I didn’t get the cabin with a window, but amazing view of Stockholm just in front of my door =). The boat has lounge as well with big TV, vintage chairs and sofa.

Check-in is very fast and the staff is very kind and helpful.

I saw a lot of tour packages on the entrance board (there’s a free 1 as well if I’m not mistaken).

We didn’t try the restaurant & bar, since we committed to spend on the most expensive 3 hours of our life at magnificent Fratzen.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

If you want to stay in the centre of Stockholm and at the same time have an unusual hotel experience, without having to pay too much, then this is definitely something you could try. Rygerfjord consists of three boats and we stayed at number one, which also have the reception and the "restaurant". The feeling of living on a boat is very real and something that I can recommend for the experience, at least for a night (or maybe two).

Room Tip: They seem to differ a lot.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed here for three nights with my boyfriend in early October. We were travelling together with two other couples, however our room (107) was way smaller than everyone else's even though we all paid the same price.

I mean there was literally no space for even luggage or a bag to be on the floor. We had to have everything under the bed. It was like a coffin! The bathroom was so tiny the shower literally ran over the toilet. Everything was soaking wet and the door did not close properly, meaning that what little floor space we had in the room got wet! Plus the sink was blocked so the shower water filled it up, then we had to wait ages for it to empty.

There were only teeny tiny hooks for coats and bags in the room. Not a comfortable stay for three nights.

For 2750 kroner (900 NOk a night) I think there are much better places for your money. Besides the room being small, it was stuffy, the mattress was very thin and the pillows were pancake thin. Also the places is quite noisy and you can hear people in the neighbouring rooms showering, watching movies etc.

Overall, I would go somewhere else. Or definitely check to make sure you have the room in the photos before you pay for it in advance.

Pros: location was good, staff were friendly, the place was clean and it was nice to hang out in the bar. The neighbouring rooms looked much better - they had a small desk and some floor space so you could have your suitcase out.

Room Tip: Don't get room 107! It's smaller than others.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hools007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#98 of 154 in Stockholm
266 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
#9 of 154 in Stockholm
2,121 reviews
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,675 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
NOFO Loft
NOFO Loft
#2 of 35 in Stockholm
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rygerfjord Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rygerfjord Hotel and Hostel

Address: Sodermalarstrand, Kajplats 12-14, Stockholm 118 25, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Mariatorget , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Stockholm
Price Range: $64 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rygerfjord Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rygerfjord is a beautiful Hostel & Hotel ship, anchored at Södermälarstrand at the center of Stockholm.Have a nice shopping round (Visit Stockholm). In a few minutes walk from the center of Stockholm, Gamla stan and Söder or take a scenic walk on Långholmen.Visit Skansen – Sweden’s oldest open-air museum and Stockholm’s only zoo or the fun and amusement park Gröna Lund opposite across the street.At walking distance from us to the Slussen, go Djurgårdsfärjan periodically to these attractions.The bus and train station are within walking distance.Directly adjacent to the ship’s entrance is a municipal car park.The ships are located at Södermälarstrand in the centre of Stockholm. FREE INTERNET ACCESS with desk-top computers and WLAN in all cabins.The Restaurant is open from 8.00 to 23.00 with Breakfast Buffet served until 10.00.The genuine ambiance and the friendly crew will give you a memorable stay in Stockholm.The ambition is to give you good value for the money.You can choose either Hotel- or Hostel standard.Our hotel prices includes everything exept breakfast.Our hostel prices do not include breakfast or towel.Breakfast is not included in any of our hotel or hostel prices!PLEASE OBSERVE Due to that the hotel and Hostel is on a ship we may not offer a guest kitchen or any possability to cook for guest because of hasard of fire. It is not allowed to bring own food or bevarage to public areas on board. Sleeping bags are not allowed!For further information please contact us directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rygerfjord Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rygerfjord Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing